Maxi-Jet® Multi-Use Water Pump

Product No. ML90509

Product No. ML90510

Product No. ML90511

Product No. ML90512

Maxi-Jet® Multi-Use Water Pump is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 41.
  • y_2019, m_2, d_18, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_41
  • loc_en_US, sid_ML90509, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Maxi-Jet® Multi-Use Water Pumps are three pumps in one: power head, utility pump, and now featuring a circulation pump option. Still the best power head for powering undergravel filters and running wave maker timers, as well as for running small fountains, calcium reactors and skimmers.

The Maxi-Jet also contains an in-box conversion kit, which can turn the power head into a prop style circulation pump for ultimate water movement inside the aquarium--using the least amount of energy! The Maxi-Jet is the most fully adaptable pump available.
ML90509 - Maxi-Jet 400 - 110-500 GPH
ML90510 - Maxi-Jet 600 - 160-750 GPH
ML90511 - Maxi-Jet 900 - 230-1000 GPH
ML90512 - Maxi-Jet 1200 - 295-1300 GPH
Rated 4 out of 5 by from moves a good amount of water in my 75 gallon just installed it and didn't even need instructions for assembly only reason I didn't give 5 stars is I wish it came with a foam sleeve as I have small fish
Date published: 2017-08-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broken Impeller after One Month Got the MJ400 to pump water in my small tank. One month of use and every single impeller blade is broken off at the base. So I have 6 little orange squares that I have to find in the tank now. Not satisfied with the quality of this product. I'm not running a crazy setup either. The pump is set about mid-way in the tank pumping water 2 feet higher. These should be MUCH more durable.
Date published: 2017-07-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It runs in reverse (Marineland Maxi Jets 1200) I bought this a year ago at PetSmart. I am using this for water circulation using part 6 and 7. The Properler runs sometimes in reverse. I clean it several times and still runs in reverse.
Date published: 2017-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Little to no air coming out I bought this maxijet 400 about 4 months ago and it worked fine with the air coming out. Now the only time I get air is when I have the pump basically right at the top of the water. Any help would be much appreciated thanks.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Work Good But.... I love this product, I have it working on my 55 gallon Marineland start up i purchased on December 2015,I purchased the 600 model about 8 months ago, It was working as the wave maker set up but about two months ago when i switch to the power head with the air tube connection it work good for a while but now it make a grinding sound, if i switch back to the propeller stile it works fine no noise at all. Really don't know what to do to fix it if you guys could I would appreciate a help.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Maxi-Jets purchased a Maxi-Jet 400 about 10 months ago for 30 gallon tank. still performing like new. these are the best line of powerheads out there for the money. I will be purchasing additional ones in the near future.
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pump for $ Great little pump for the money, very versatile. Also big thank you to Mainland. Had an issue with one of the new pumps, called customer service, they tried to troubleshoot - sent out new pump; very kind, helpful and courteous!
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from maxi jet 1200 I have this in a powerhead set up with my undergravel filter. Works amazing
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cheap price, cheap product, lower quality..... i bought the 400 series power head and it wasnt long before i had the impeller break inside because it was cheap plastic and inferior casting. I bought 3...1 down in 3 months, stay tuned....
Date published: 2015-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Powerfull but breaks impeller when used with wavemaker I love this pump and recently purchased 4 of them for my 125 salt tank, I also wanted to use it with my wavemaker and so plugged all 4 into it and started them up. They were working just fantastic and kept the water in the whole tank moving and the tank was crystal clear, after about 3 weeks of use I started seeing algae growing on the rocks and glass so checked the filter media, that was clean. So I put my hand in front of the first pump and realized that it was running but pushing NO water, so checked the other 3, those where the same. No water movement from them. So took out the first one to see what was up, well, all of the wings on the impeller where broken off at the base, as where the other 3 pumps. Even though they advertise that they can be used with a wavemaker, I found that they can not. It has reached over the 60 day mark to have the impellers replaced so now have 4 not working and need to buy new impellers for all 4 before they can be used. And NOT with the wavemaker, which is what I wanted them used with. Wish they would put a warning on the information section that they will break if used with wavemakers, and stop advertising that they can be used with them.
Date published: 2015-04-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from need magnet this design is in desperate need of a magnetic attachment solution. something akin to Tunze or Vortech
Date published: 2015-04-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good for circulation, poor impellers I had the 1200 set up as a circulation unit and it worked well enough, then when I added fish to my tank I set it up as powerhead for circulation only.. the impeller only lasted 3 hours! I went to a basketball game afer I set it up and when I got back there were purple impeller blades laying on my tank floor, and no circulation... cheap!
Date published: 2015-02-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Needs Improvement It has great flow when it works. I got it because of its multiple uses though its been in impeller mode for 6+ months now. I have it always on, it chatters on start up, and though thoroughly cleaned I keep finding it off at random times. The suction cups don't work worth squat. I tried using it as a circulation pump in the display but it would fall off almost daily and end up blasting my coral or flinging sand in the water collumn. I regret this purchase.
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Air intake does not stay attached Poor design for the attachment of air intake. Needs to be a tighter fit or seallant must be used to attach the air intake. A small design change could eaisily fix this.
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Never stays up Pump works good but I hate it because it never stays up, the suction cups keep it up for maybe a few days then I find it on the bottom churning my tank up. If they could design one like this that doesn't use suction cups I would totally buy it
Date published: 2014-11-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Flimsy impellers Bought 2 - 1200 pumps several months ago and both impellers are already broken.Now trying to buy replacements and their out of stock.
Date published: 2014-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very noisy The power attachment is ok, but with the laminar attachment it vibrates,and is TERRIBLY noisy!!!
Date published: 2014-08-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from junk mp1200 is junk bought 2 last 6months never again spend the xtra $ on better products
Date published: 2014-07-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works well when working Maxi-Jet 1200. When I first bought it to create a current in my tank - I thought - wow this thing works great and water circulation has improved a ton and its actually quiet. After about 6 months into it I noticed some noise. Took her out to clean and noticed some uneven wear in the cavity holding the magnet in the impeller - (really soft plastic). Now after 1 year the impeller literally fell apart with wear on the plastic parts. I bought a new impeller, but the motor now heats up and shuts off in auto protect mode after running for less than 10 seconds and then powers on after about 30 second rest for another 10 seconds. Not sure what is causing so much heat to be generated in the pump. its not shorting since the GFCI plug has been tested and is not being tripped. They need to make the pump out of better materials. The excessive wear on the impeller and housing, is not acceptable. I've used other power heads for much longer periods without issues. Love the ability to use this pump as a utility pump, powerhead or current maker, but its longevity leaves a lot to be desired.
Date published: 2014-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Customer Service This is a followup from my review on June 1, 2014 on the 1200 Maxi-Jet pump. I was contacted by Barbara Link, with their customer service group shortly after my review and she was highly concerned with the comments I had made. We sent several emails back and forth in a short amount of time and worked through the issues. I received a new pump from her and this one works like a charm. I want to applaud Marineland for their quick response to a customer problem, and even quicker solution. I have purchased Marineland products for over 30 years and will continue to do so for these reasons.
Date published: 2014-06-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Product becomes loud overtime My Maxijet 1200 barley works after a little over a year, I've cleaned the impeller multiple times as well as replaced it and it still manages to get clogged & literally just stops working. I've wasted money on lights, filters, & powerbeads with marineland & wouldn't recommend this product. Invest more money and get a Hydor powerhead or a Tunze.
Date published: 2014-05-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I've bought two in two years I have a 180 marine tank. I bought my second 1200 Maxi Jet to run a reactor in my sump about 6 months ago. It worked fine in the beginning, now it runs, but does not pump strong enough to push water through the tubing into the reactor. I've tried everything now and can't get it to pump strong enough. It spins, I even tried priming the tubing etc as someone on here suggested but with no luck. I've spent 3 hours tonight trying to get it to work with no avail. Anyone have any suggestions on what to do?
Date published: 2013-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For its small size, it makes a great wave maker for a small tank I purchased this for its wave making function. It does a good job with shallow, but long tanks.
Date published: 2013-08-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Air Bubbles From UGF Causes Cavitation I have a 125G Salt water Tank with under-gravel-filter. I chose the Maxi Jet Pro Power Head upon recommendation from the LFS. Once the Nitrogen process is established it by nature creates air bubbles. The power head pulls the air up the lift tube causing the impeller to create a large volume of micro-bubbles. This causes cavitation within the impeller housing and the power head loses suction. The fins on the impeller are in a vertical formation on the shaft, as a retired navy man I can assure you there is a good reason that propellers are angled and not vertically fixed on a shaft. Vertical fins are not efficient at water displacement or lift. That is simple fluid dynamics, especially when air is introduced to the lift tube. Please consider a design modification for your impeller with angled fins.
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 2 major issues 1. they just don't stay stuck on the glass and 2. after few months(happened 3 times) they circulate in reverse and water blows out the side and of course can't return to pet store I bought them at too long from purchase.
Date published: 2013-05-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Noisy Pumps I just replaced a failed Maxi-Jet 1200 and I'm not happy with the new design, for one the previous unit had a 3 prong plug (ground) the new one doesn't which isn't a big deal in itself, but makes me worried that they went cheaper on the new unit... secondly, this is a noisy pump. I don't mind them going with slightly cheaper parts to save on the build, but I can't deal with the noise of the pump... I'll have to look for a new one... sorry guys!
Date published: 2013-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great powerhead for the money Using as a powerhead for my 55 gallon fowlr tank and it performs exactly as it should. dont understand the negative reviews on here...I love it, fish love it.
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Buyers Beware Not good at all. i bought 2 of the maxi-jet 1200 pumps and i first set them up as circulation pumps but they are so loud. i switched it to the smaller impeller and the fins broke off of them within 1 day and i know i put these together right, i have put together lots of powerheads. very bad construction. i would for sure not recommend this product at all. i just got back into aquarium stuff and marineland products used to be good. i can't speak for everything but this one is bad!!!! i hope that marine land does the right thing and contact me about this issue.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as good as the old ones. I've used Maxi-Jets for years in a pair of semi-custom 60g tanks as a partially submerged power head. They were quiet and efficient and, best of all, worked equally well when the water level dropped and they were out of the water. But they didn't last forever, so I bought two of the new models as replacements. I was very disappointed to find that, while they still perform well enough in my application, they are no longer quiet. I tried to live with them, but after a few months, the continuous loud hum from the new ones proved too much for my nerves, so I reluctantly replaced them with something else. They may be fine submerged, but no longer are for my use.
Date published: 2012-11-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Design & Construction I bought several of the Maxi-Jet 1200's for my 300 gallon live rock grow out system because they were cheap......now I know why. First off, these units are huge for the little water flow they produce. The openings in the impeller screen are far too big and chew up anything that gets near them. I can't tell you how many fish and inverts I've lost to these pumps. I've used nearly every powerhead currently on the market and these are the only one's with that problem. They are very noisy and the impellers tend to get stuck as well. I will definitely never purchase these again. I've stopped using the one's I have as I'm tired of finding my livestock dead.
Date published: 2012-02-15
  • y_2019, m_2, d_18, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_41
  • loc_en_US, sid_ML90509, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 20ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT