Penguin® Power Filters

Product No. PF0100B
Find a Store In Stock

All Penguin® BIO-Wheel® Power Filters deliver easy, three-stage mechanical, chemical and biological aquarium filtration.

Convenient Penguin Rite-SizeTM Filter Cartridges come ready to use with each filter...ready to mechanically and chemically remove waste, discoloration and odors. Each contains new faster-acting Black Diamond® Premium Activated Carbon for maximum efficiency. Biological filtration is provided by the revolutionary and patented BIO-Wheel - proven best at removing toxic ammonia and nitrite.

All BIO-Wheel filters feature Noise-Reducing Two-Piece Vented Covers, and Adjustable Mid-Level Intake Strainers.

The Penguin® 75 BIO-Wheel® Power Filter brings Penguin's 3-stage filtration technology to aquariums up to 10 gallons. The 75 is ideal for new aquariums as well as establish tanks in need of an upgrade.

Penguin® Power Filters is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 163.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not great for 38 gallon bow front I'm sure fir a smaller tank the bio wheel 200 would be a good fit, but after using it fir a mobth in my 38 gallon bow front kit, I could not get the tank to cycle or really filter, just seems to much tank or height for the 200. Aftwr much research and lots of money on filters I opted for the internal canister. Decided to keep the 200 firbio media only, and withjn 12 hours the tank was prestine. If your loominv for a filter with better media options the bio wheels are not it.
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from penguin 200 I have had 3 of these and the bio wheel has never worked in any of them
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable Filter. No Mishaps =] I have had every freshwater filtration device on the market. The bio wheel penguin series is by far the most competent filter. Also to clear this out immediately, since I'm raving about this product, I can say that I have no monetary ties with any marineland or any other aquarium product, and never have. but this company- Marineland -simply created the best filters on the planet. Had a 20 gallon reg and a 20 long for 8 years....always had problems with cloudiness and disease until switching to the bio wheel penguin series (and a ton of water changes naturally). After my 20 gallons were long gone when I went to college and I fell out of the hobby, I got my first paycheck after graduating and bought a basic 10 gallon starter kit just to get myself back into the great hobby. Everything in the kit was great but I had to add the penguin 100 series filter to the tank and I have yet to have any problems with the tank. Pair any Penguin Series Marineland filter with keeping up on your tank cleanings: and you'll always have serene water quality within your aquarium. Thanks again guys ! (and again no one paid me to write this review as you can see I have the grammar of a 6 year old donkey.) lol Happy New Year!!
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great HOB Filter Never had a problem with either my Penguin 100, or 350! Had my 100 for my 20Gal for almost three years and it still works like a charm. It is very quite and does great in removing waste and debris from the water. Every month I take it apart and clean it in a bucket of water from the tank. Just started a 55Gal goldfish tank a few weeks ago with the 350 and it works awesome. It is also very quiet. The only sound is all the water being pushed out from both sides of the filter. Will stick with Marineland filters!
Date published: 2017-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Penguin 330- Longevity! Love this filter. I have been running this double bio-wheel filter for over 7 years without fail. We are surly not aquarium experts and use in a 55 gallon hobby tank that has had its share of algae blooms, poor water and filter change intervals, etc. this filter keeps on going and most of our common tropicals live over 5 years (we currently have a 7 yo Mollie !). Filter changes clear any cloudy water right up. I feel for the people who have trouble out of the box but for us this filter has been like a tank. (We have replaced the impeller once )
Date published: 2016-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 350 Filter Best cust. service ever!! Called up to order replacement impellers for my 350 filters and a bearing for and old 150 filter that has been a great filter and still running quiet for many years!!
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best filter after trying tetra and fluval owner of advanced tanks since i was 10. For 55 gal. tanks tetra filter doesnt seem to last for more than a couple years. fluval didnt handle biowaste load like it should have. Have had marineland penguin C for 9 years now. Even with an overloaded tank (temporary foster situation) it worked fine. If maintained and filters changed it's the best filter.
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Really poor design. I recently bought the Penguin 200 filter to pump my turtle tank because my old one broke. Almost immediately after installing the filter a jarring blender like sound was emitted by the pump. I thought something was wrong with the impeller, so I removed it. Upon removing it I found that nothing was wrong with the impeller but in fact the mid-level intake strainer does not create a tight enough seal to allow the filter to even pump the water. The only solution is to seal the holes on the filter or to by a separate extension adapter for the tube. Why the filter doesn't already come with one of these extension tubes to remove the need for the the broken mid-level piece is beyond me, and the whole product seems like a trick to get you to spend extra money to get it to work.
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Never even worked. I recently bought this filter (200) for my new 45 gallon tank. I began setting it up. It took me a while to figure out which direction to put the filter cartridge, as there are no actual instructions or anything mentioning, in detail, on how to assemble the product. Once I figured this out, I added water to the back, and plugged it in. It immediately began making a very loud noise, which I figured was the impeller. I figured that the noise might happen, as most of the filters I have purchased make a loud grinding noise for a short time before any water comes out, but 5 minutes later, there was still no water flow. I unplugged the filter, and dissembled the impeller housing. I tried again, to no avail. I tried for another half an hour before deciding to go onto the internet and see if anyone else had the same problem, or to see if there was a solution not mentioned in the "Instructions." I still don't have a solution. I would like to give a higher overall rating, but this is all I can do for now.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broken right out of the box Just got this filter and the impeller makes a rattling noise right out of the box. Inspected it and tried a little Vaseline to quiet the noise but no luck. Having the shaft go up and down is causing the noise. Terrible design and I'll be returning it.
Date published: 2016-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Would recommend this product to friends and family. Great product!
Date published: 2016-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Year's of dependable service! This filter was introduced year's ago, I've only bought two. The Bio-wheel technology is awesome. Changing cartridges is a snap. Do yourself a favor, GET ONE!
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very quiet after new impeller Shortly after I bought my filter system, the bio wheel stopped spinning. It would work on and off so I figured I just wasn't cleaning it as frequently as I should or didn't have the water level high enough. But then there was a horrible grinding noise that only got worse after a thorough cleaning. I called the company and the gentleman was happy to help; after a couple questions he decided to send me a new impeller. I received it in just a few days and now the filter is quiet a mouse. I am not only happy with the product but the customer service as well. As a side note, I very much wish that customers would troubleshoot and call the company to get help before leaving such negative reviews. It skews prospective customers' decision making when shopping for a filter system.
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from BioWheel Stop Working! I bought the penguin filter for my 30 gallon aquarium a month ago, and my biowheel justo stopped working. This is a very poor filter I am very dissapinted, I had high expectation. I will never recomend this product.
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Super quiet. It doesn't work! I bought this filter a couple months ago. It's dead. The power head just died.I wish I had my receipt! Who would think you would need it? Anna
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Noisy 350 B Right out of the box impeller noise, and water noise from bio wheel. I have a pretty old emperor 400 and it is still quiet as a mouse. The baffling sytem for the bio wheels and the impeller are in desparate need of an upgrade. Very dissapointed
Date published: 2016-08-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Old ones were great... But these new ones are horrible. Mine bent the impeller shaft after about a month. Looked like the shaft was to long. Was still running, while screaming, until I unplugged it, then it was seized up. I've seen many complaints similar to my experience on different forums. Went and replaced it with an API unit. Couldn't be happier. Step it up marineland.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 10 Gal Kit - says 100 Filter but actuallly got 75 I purchased this in 2015 and set it up. There is a small BIO Wheel bit it doesn't turn when the lid is on the filter. I have tried to re-position the lid and the wheel, but the only way it does work is when I put something under the lid to hold it up so that the wheel can turn freely. Has anyone else run into this problem? And why does the box say 100 when it is actually a 75? I have had other Bio Wheel Filters (5 Gal) and found they worked fine. I do like the Bio Wheels better than other Bio System Filters, but am wondering whether the 75 was actually tested, or assembled with the correct parts.
Date published: 2016-07-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from bio wheel and bearing and filter. This filter runs quiet. Filter has to be changed weekly and wheel rarely turns. Stkre were bought doesnt carry wheels for sale as manufacturer told them they are good for life. Store told me to call 800 322 1266 so I did several times and recording justsays I have reached there after hours number.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Constant cleaning I bought a Penguin 150 due Marineland's great reputation.Unfortunately I am CONSTANTLY cleaning/replacing filters because they get dirty rather quickly (about 1 filter every 2 days). So dirty that the bio wheel stops spinning, and the water exits out the overflow into my tank. Funny thing is the instructions say to replace the filter every 2-4 weeks. It would be nice if the filters lasted that long. Another issue I have is my small fish are getting stuck on the intake of my pump. It would have been a great idea if Marineland made the intake bigger (like for the Penguin 350). Just a thought.
Date published: 2016-06-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible I am extreamly angery I've had 2 of these filters in the last year and they have both broken!
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unhappy I have been through two of the Penguins 350 filters in one and a half years they both make loud squealing sound
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible products I bought my marineland penguin 200 a year ago, and one day we were woken up by a loud humming/rubbing noise when we found where the noise came from it was the pump and filter! I shut it off thinking some gunk probably broke lose( not sure how as I cleaned the stupid thing once a month) but the next day I took the thing apart to clean and remove what might be stuck and it was very clean and nothing was stuck!! What it sounds lie is the magnet on the fund is beating against the plastic insides where it sits I paid good money for this thing thinking I had bought a good product nope!!! I have bought Walmart one a few years ago and had to switch back to it and it is still working very quietly these marine land penguin series are terrible products!!
Date published: 2016-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeping fish healthy for years! I've had many aquariums in many sizes and have trusted my filtering to Penguin and the magic Bio Wheel for years and had to return big fishes to the store or get a bigger aquarium because since water condition is good they just keep growing !Now I moved and have a dmall mini penguin filter operating I cleat it with tap water and a ols tooh brush one or twice a year same time I change 50% of aquiarium water and it just keeps my fish happy.I do not find them noisy at all. Sometimes when water level goes down I hear a water cascade sound that actually helps me relax.
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Waaaaaay Too Loud At first the Bio Wheel was the item making the most noise, a scraping sound similar to when a fountain is low on water. I know it was the Bio Wheel because when I removed the wheel most of the noise stopped. The remaining noise was from the impeller that pumps the water. Over the past few days, the Bio Wheel is making a little less noise but the impeller has gotten louder. I've tried reseating the impeller and making sure the assembly was snug in its seat but it didn't help. The 'splash guard' over the Bio Wheel simply amplifies the noises. My old Penguin didn't make as much noise but somewhere down the line, the engineers or accountants lost sight of the customer's needs. The system does keep the tank clear but the noise can be heard (barely but heard) in the next room.
Date published: 2016-04-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor power filtering I live in an area where brownouts are common. I am now on my fourth filter in just over a year. It appears not a surge issue since the brand new surge protectors did not trip when the brownout occurred. This would most likely mean there is little to no protection filtering on the power input to the motor, of the pump, allowing for switching transients to damage the electronics. While I have otherwise been pleased with the performance of the filters, please resolve this issue so that I do not have to replace it 2-4 times a year, or look for more durable filter.
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Instantly broken I got the Penguin 350 a month or so ago and it now makes this insanely loud noise when its on and after a few minutes of doing that it just shuts off. I bought this filter because it was affordable for my price range and the reviews were good. I had it running for about 2 days then it started with its loud noise. I think it is the Impeller rubbing but not entirely sure. If there is anything I am doing wrong can you tell me because I set it up like the instructions given with the product and just plugged it in.
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great filter for the price. I purchased this filter because I found it on amazon for cheap and it had pretty decent reviews. I have to say I'm not disappointed. I originally had it on my 30 gallon tank to over filter due to the amount of stock I had. I ended up upgrading tanks to a 65 gallon still using the same filter. I'm impressed. even though at this point this is putting this close to it's max tank load it is preforming very well. Crystal clear water.My only complaint it that is a little noisier that some hob filters I've used.Great product and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone.
Date published: 2016-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bio Wheels I bought my penguin 350 about 5 years ago best filter ever I just recently bought a emperor 400 to replace it and to be honest thinking about going back to my penguin 350 I'm having a lot a problems with the 400s intake tube
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Was quiet at first... gradually getting louder 350B - was quiet at first... gradually getting louder, but I don't think it's worth the money to replace the impeller for this filter because it doesn't do any better of a job reducing NH3 NO3/NO2 than the much quieter canister filter I have on another tank. It was packed up for about a year and I can't find the bio wheels, which I also think are a bit too expensive considering I don't think they do much. Cartridges are easy to replace but expensive. Flow rate continues to be good. I will continue to use it until I run out of the filter cartridges then maybe sell it for $10. I would consider buying another Marineland filter because many people have had good luck with them, if it is on sale for a deep discount.
Date published: 2016-02-24
  • y_2018, m_3, d_19, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_163
  • loc_en_US, sid_PF0100B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland

I have a BIO wheel 200 and it works but it very noisy. When it pumps. I have taken the impeller out and ck every thing nothing in the housing. I have to pry out the housing a little to quite it down but now that doesn't work. And less then a year old

Asked by: Driving me crazy
If the noise is a buzzing, make sure you plug it into a power strip with surge protection. Right now, heat sources are running like crazy because of the bitter cold, and this is putting a drain on voltage which can cause buzzing. If it is grinding, and you have sand, the sand has probably damaged it and you need a new impeller. If it is rattling, the impeller may be loose in the impeller housing. Did you also clean out the area at the bottom of the filter box where the impeller sits? Use a swab or twist a paper towel so you can pack it in there tightly and twist it to clean it out. Also, soak the impeller in distilled white vinegar in case you have hard water deposits. Please call 1-800-322-1266 so we can help troubleshoot it and see what you need. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-01-05

Penguin 350 making grinding noise. Cleaned impeller and tried vasonline still making noise. Going to buy new impeller. How do I keep bacteria on bio wheels alive since I am not running filter because of noise

Asked by: Dfeldbauer0427
The bio wheels have to stay wet, so float them in the tank. Do you have sand? If so, that's why the filter is noisy. Sand grains get caught in the bottom of the motor or up under the magnet, and wear grooves in the shaft or in the sides of the motor. You have to place filter floss in the bottom strainer or buy a sponge accessory to cover it. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-01-27

I have a H.O.T. Magnum Canister Filter and I'm going to add the Bio-Wheel to it. (Did not come together, although the instructions say WITH Bio-Pro System ) Anyway, I read something about not needing other bubble stones and the under gravel filter system

Asked by: betty246
Under gravel filters went out of popularity around 2000. Air stones are necessary in heavily stocked tanks or tall tanks. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-22

I have two penguin 300's from 1994. Yes, Yes, not 350's, the old school 300's with the media baskets behind the cartridge slot. My question after some googling is when did you stop making the 300's with those media baskets and replace them with 350's

Asked by: atmu5fear
Early 2000's. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-20

How much is it?

Asked by: Ace455
That depends on the size you need as well as the market in which you shop, but this line runs from $15-$50 typically. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-18

My bio wheels on my filter are starting to move but stop then move again and I got the filter about 1 week ago is this normal

Asked by: Dustin757
A little soon for this to happen, but yes. Make sure the tank is filled to the top and check for any debris clogging the intake tube, filter box or impeller. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-18

My filter no longer is pumping any water nor is it making any sounds when plugged in. I have taken the intake tube out, the filter out, made sure there's no obstruction in the impeller, cleaned everything, and filled the filter box with water.

Asked by: TheScienceTeacher
Make sure you have the impeller in the filter box, by itself, no water, when you plug it in. If it still makes no sound, the motor is dead. If it does make sound, try soaking the impeller in vinegar and cleaning out the well of the motor with vinegar as well. If you are unable to resolve this, call 1-800-322-1266 as we would be happy to help. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-13

My power went out now my 350 will not propel water over the edge it makes a rattling noise. It does that when its about to go over normally but now it stops pushing the water thru

Asked by: Billium
This is a sign it needs to be taken apart and cleaned. Pay close attention to the impeller and the bottom of the motor, where the impeller resides. If you are unable to get it operating, call 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-11

my biowheel 200(13 weeks) on my saltwater tank (37 gallons), has stopped completely and wont work , theres no water damage ive done only filter change and tube cleaning ,, I need this filter to work , I set up temp diy one with your maxijet 900 and a 2l

Asked by: joshbridges
As it is a marine tank, you need to remove your impeller and impeller housing every month and soak the impeller in distilled white vinegar to keep it free of salt crud. Also, clean out the well of the motor by soaking a paper towel and packing it into the motor for a few moments, then twisting it around, and pulling it out. Rinse everything very well with hot water. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-08

How wide is a 200 filter

Asked by: KevinM
The dimensions are 9.5 X 6 X 7.5 BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-09

I took my 350 filter apart and cleaned. Since I have reinstalled one of the bio wheels is flying fast and the other is normal. Water speed is much faster on this side. I have adjusted intake. Please advise.

Asked by: twelcker
That's not an issue, but apparently you either have something partially blogging the filter on the slower side or the bio wheel is damaged or clogged. To clean a bio wheel, take it out, and use a plain q tip with out any chemicals or detergents, and swab between the folds. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-04

We just got a penguin 150 to use for a turtle tank but we can't have the tank that full of water will this work for us or not

Asked by: Lee t
The tank should be 3/4 of the way full for an aquatic turtle, and this will not be high enough for this filter, so no, it would not work for you. We would recommend the Magniflow 160 instead. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-30

What is the mid-level intake on the filter tube for? In what position should the lever be in? Does it make any difference?

Asked by: thecaptain
It increases and decrease the flow rate. Open increases it, closed decreases it. I leave it open all the time in my tanks, but it depends on your tank, and its needs. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-17

Which way is the lever on the filter tube supposed to be? Up, down or in the middle for ultimate suction? Lost the instructions.

Asked by: BobT
That is personal preference. It increases the flow rate when open, and decreases it when closed. I simply remove mine so it is fully open all the time, some people close it when feeding. Every tank and tank owner has different needs, there is no right or wrong. Instructions are available on the product page on our site. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-29

I have 2 Fish Tanks. 1 is a 5 Gallon and the other a 10 Gallon. The smaller 5 Gallon tanks filter cartridge was a rusty red color. What is that and is it dangerous ? Even after rinsing it under sink water it's still kinda red.

Asked by: Jay1973
Could mean you have iron in the water, but I would expect both tank filters to appear red. So it may be that you are over feeding the 5 gallon tank. Feed one piece of food per inch of fish, twice a day. Another possibility, but not likely is cyanobacteria. That usually grows throughout the tank though. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-21

I was just given a 30 gal tank with a penguin 200 that's been sitting in a garage for 2 years. Do I need to replace the bio wheel? Other than rinsing out the filter, is there anything else I should take apart to clean?

Asked by: Faithsa
We would recommend taking the entire filter apart and cleaning it with hot water and a bit of white vinegar. The bio wheels should be fine, as long as they will spin once you have it installed. If not, then you will need new ones, or are missing the bearings. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-20

I have a penguin 150. Why are there slots for 2 filter cartridges and when would I need two?

Asked by: Karen M
So you can customize your filter to meet your needs. All of our filters have this option. It allows you to replace one cartridge at a time, leaving more beneficial bacteria in the filter and also, if you are having water clarity issues, you have space to add another cartridge or some other form of media to help out temporarily. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-15

What is the water level supposed to be ?

Asked by: Happy
It should be to the bottom of the top frame of the tank, or at the very least an inch or so above the mid-level strainer. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-13

I have a brand new 38gallon Marineland tank and the filter stopped working..I went and got a replacement and same thing, stopped working. What could be the problem?

Asked by: Mosheree
Have you checked either impeller to see if something got caught in it? This is the #1 cause of a filter stopping. Pull our your intake tube, impeller housing and impeller, inspect the parts and clean out the well of the motor at the bottom of the filter box too. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-24

led fish lights and my bio wheels, good or bad?

Asked by: cheezhead96
Doesn't matter at all. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-13

Are my LED fish lights shining on my exposed bio wheel good or bad?

Asked by: cheezhead96
Neither, they won't affect the bio wheel. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-13

If I extend the lift tube on my 350, will it still pull the water up?

Asked by: Chiplite
Yes just make sure that you have it above your substrate
Answered by: Treeman
Date published: 2017-11-11

I have the 100 series, I just unplugged it to change the filter, and clean the tube, now it won't work absolutely nothing. What could be wrong?

Asked by: Taylornadine05
Your filter box, the motor and/or the impeller are all dirty/clogged. Take it completely apart to clean it. Call 1-800-322-1266 if you need additional help. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-07

Can this be used with my Marineland 6 gallon pillar tank? Thank you

Asked by: Cinrod28
It will not wire into the tank, but the filter that comes with the Pillar is this one, modified, so it will sit on the back of the tank, yes. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-01

Why are there no instructions for the Penguin 75 inside the box or on this website?

Asked by: Hyoung
If you actually read the manual, there are no "instructions" just Trouble Shooting Guidelines and Safety Instructions. I bought one box with the "manual" but no instructions and returned it, bought another one with the "manual" but no instructions. Finally figured out by your online video the blue side faces away from the pump. And you have to prime the pump with water.
Answered by: Hyoung
Date published: 2017-10-30

Will thus pump work for a 30 gallon saltwater tank

Asked by: Bill300zx
No, it is rated for a 10 gallon only, you would need the Penguin 200 along with a protein skimmer. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-30

I just set up 10 gallon tank and the bio-wheel penguin 75 is making a noise, not spashing water & is very annoying- is this normal?  My last pump made no noise at all.

Asked by: Dg1252
No, it should be quiet. Have you removed the intake tube, impeller housing and impeller then re-seated them? I would do this, and inspect the parts to make sure they are not damaged. The impeller may be pushed too far up into the housing so pull it out, and re-insert it too. Call 1-800-322-1266 if you need more help. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-26

Bio Wheel not spinning fast like initially. Water seems to be flowing good. In fact it almost seems the water is backing up. Replaced filter even though it looked clean. Last replaced 6 days ago. Just replaced again and still not spinning.

Asked by: Rickyk
You need to take the filter apart and clean the parts of it. You probably have a dirty impeller or debris in the motor. Or the intake tube has debris in it. The filter is backing up because of this so the flow is not powerful enough to move the bio wheel. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-25

I have a 5 gallon tank, and the filter that came with it wasn't so great. So I upgraded to the 100 ( it was the smaller in the store) I didnt realize there was a 75. Will the 100 be ok or to powerful?

Asked by: Chey80leigh
Depends on the types of fish, but probably too powerful since it can handle a 20 gallon tank. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-20

will this filter add enough oxygen to the water to eliminate the use of an air stone

Asked by: scottmo24
Yes, unless you are overstocked or do not do water changes regularly. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-18
  • y_2018, m_3, d_19, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_603
  • loc_en_US, sid_PF0100B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland
PF0075B - Penguin 75 - 10 gal/75 GPH
PF0100B - Penguin 100 - 20 gal/100 GPH
PF0150B - Penguin 150 - 30 gal/150 GPH
PF0200B - Penguin 200 - 50 gal/200 GPH
PF0350B - Penguin 350 - 75 gal/350 GPH

Penguin Power Filter Manual 75B

Penguin Power Filter Manual Models 100B, 150B, 200B and 350B  

Penguin Quick Set Up Guide Models 100B, 150B, 200B and 350B 




Certified Flow Rate

Aquarium Size

Rite Size Media

Penguin 75B

75 GPH

up to 10 gallons


Penguin 100B

100 GPH

up to 20 gallons


Penguin 150B

150 GPH

up to 30 gallons


Penguin 200B

200 GPH

up to 50 gallons


Penguin 350B

350 GPH

up to 75 gallons


Penguin & Emperor Cartridge Dimensions

Replacement Parts