Penguin® Power Filters

Product No. PF0100B
Find a Store In Stock

All Penguin® BIO-Wheel® Power Filters deliver easy, three-stage mechanical, chemical and biological aquarium filtration.

Convenient Penguin Rite-SizeTM Filter Cartridges come ready to use with each filter...ready to mechanically and chemically remove waste, discoloration and odors. Each contains new faster-acting Black Diamond® Premium Activated Carbon for maximum efficiency. Biological filtration is provided by the revolutionary and patented BIO-Wheel - proven best at removing toxic ammonia and nitrite.

All BIO-Wheel filters feature Noise-Reducing Two-Piece Vented Covers, and Adjustable Mid-Level Intake Strainers.

The Penguin® 75 BIO-Wheel® Power Filter brings Penguin's 3-stage filtration technology to aquariums up to 10 gallons. The 75 is ideal for new aquariums as well as establish tanks in need of an upgrade.

Penguin® Power Filters is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 188.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stopped after a month or so I bough the pengu 200 for 50 from petco and it stopped after not even 2 months it stat humming really loud overheated and never turned back on I lost my beloved spotted puffer will never buy from this brand again seeing its a common issue
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOISE I bought the penguin 350 exactly 1 month ago and while I was sitting down minding my business it started making an INCREDIBLY loud sound. It is coming from where the impeller sits so even though I just cleaned it 3 days ago I cleaned it again and the sound still persists after an hour of me trying to fix it. I went with marineland because I heard the products were better.... I have filters of numerous previous brands on my others tanks that I have never had a single problem with and I have had them for much longer. My other filters are SILENT compared to this one. Not a happy customer. Hoping to get a response so this can be resolved. One month later is not a good time for it to break considering how much they go for.
Date published: 2017-11-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bio Wheel spinning really slow. Bought about 1month ago. Worked fine. Now the bio wheel spinning slow. Replaced filter about 1 week ago. Just replaced again. Seems to be pumping water. Almost seems the water is backing up. Seems to slow when the bio wheel is soaked with water. when I turn unit off and restart, it flows better for a minute, then it slows again almost to the point of stopping
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bio week not spinning I just purchased this filtration on amazon because my old filtration was too large for the opening in the marineland hood that I also just purchased. I set it up like the instructions said, and I can not get the bio wheel to rotate, and no, I do not use sand in my tank.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very reliable I have had my 350 for about 4 years. In the last few days it has began "chirping". sounds like a baby bird! intermittent every few seconds around the clock.What could be causing this?one wheel stopped rotating a few months ago. Tried cleaning the bearing and it started to rotate again for just a few days.
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Noisy, Stopped Working Have had a few months. A month in we started having problems with it. We had to take it apart and wash it and adjust it on a weekly basis. Now it's making a horrible noise. I'm up to fixing it daily. Why have a product that has to be adjusted on a daily basis?
Date published: 2017-09-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Noisey Bought this about 2 mos ago and it has been noisey all the time - I've tried to buy another filter ( canister ) but the fish guy says I've got the best , sometimes I can move the propeller housing up and down and get it to stop but most of the time it's very noisey and my oscar absolutely hates it and gets annoyed by the constant noise
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like a charm! Ive had a 200 for three years and it came used at that! The other day our electric went out for 10 seconds and then NOTHING! Tried what "I" knew and to no avail. I wrote in to you guys and didnt know how to get to the impeller. ORDERED a new one online and my husband with a hair knotted impeller. So thanks for your great help and in such a timely manner. Everything is working again perfectly. I just didnt know how to get to that impeller. Thanks so much again. I have never had a problem with this filter and it is quiet and does the job. I just didnt do my part.
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have Multiples I currently am running a Penguin 100 and two Penguin 350's on two different tanks, and I must say I absolutely love them. They do a great job at keeping my water sparkling clean, and clear. Very low maintenance, very sleek looking, and very quiet. I recommend these filters to everyone.
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SECOND CHANCE Well I've only had my penguin 200 for a little under two months and the pump burned out. Talked to the warranty department and they took care off me without any problems and said they will swap the old one out as long as I send the bad one back. filter works great when it works and very pleased how my situation was handled
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Loud I have a penguin 350 that I bought from a friend for my 38g. It was making a lot of noise that sounded like it was coming from the impeller so I replaced the impeller, impeller housing and the intake tube hoping all that would help and it did. The filter was almost completely silent for about 5 hours, then it started making the noise again. I don't know if it's just the filter going bad or if I got a bad part but the filter isn't very old. Maybe 6 months. Disappointing
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wheel not working I have had my system for two months and the wheel won't spin. A lot of money spent for a short life.
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Penguin 200 I watched many utube videos about hob filters. Though the penguin models were not the most highly recommended I liked the bio wheel. Very happy with my 200 and I don't care what anyone says. That spinning bio wheel is just cool. The penguin works very well paired with my 220 canister filter also from marineland on my 55. Keep up the good work
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great customer service I have always used these filters and never had an issue. Bought a penquin 250 two months ago, and it was a little noisier then all the other filters. Took it all part for its monthly cleaning and realized the propeller blade was cracked and hanging loose. Called the c.s. line asking if I could purchase just the part, and they offered to ship me one, no charge. That's great customer service, not only does that make me want to continue using their products, it shows they would prefer to keep the customer happy and support their product....great job guys and thank you
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great filter I bought the Marineland Penquin 150 Power Filter about a month ago. Loved it from the start! Nice and quiet motor, if the water level gets low enough the water flow can be somewhat loud but it doesn't bother me. Sounds like a tiny waterfall which fine. The only complaint I have with this product, is the lack of directions. I have had a few questions regarding the filter and the directions are very limited.
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Penguin 350 AMAZING I made the mistake of going with Aqueon filters on my 5 tanks . I had been struggling with Clarity n poor water conditions. Even running large filters on small tanks. Finally I bought 350 and in ONE DAY cleared my tank . Shocking how clear water was. There is absolutely NO competition for Marineland in power filters!!. I am saving up and can't wait for the day I have a house full of Marineland products!!
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keep it clean I have had my penquin 100 for over 3 years. Occasionally have to take it apart and clean it with vinegar!
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great filters! I have a bio wheel 330 that has been running 24/7 for 15 years! I also currently have two 350's running and love them. Excellent bio, chemical and mechanical filtration. The only hang on filters that I would buy! You should too!
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Motor does not work I have had my filter for about 1year and the motor went out. I have the penguin 350.i tried everything suggested to fix it but still no luck.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of reasons to use this filter! I have had a penguin 200 in my 30 gallon tank for about 3 weeks. The filter has good water flow, and very little noise. I purchased the Penguin after comparing to other HOB filters for several reasons:1) The bio wheel allows replacement of filter media without risk of crashing the nitrogen cycle.2) The filter accommodates 2 filter cartridges, allowing customization of filter media of various types.3) Marineland offers a re-fillable filter cartridge which can be opened and filled with bulk activated carbon, or my choice of chemical filtration media.https://www.amazon.com/Marineland-Cartridge-Refill-Penguin-Filter/dp/B0009YHSE8/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1487770023&sr=8-2&keywords=rite+size+c+refill4) I am able to cut mechanical filter media (such as 50 micron felt) and place between the two cartridges to produce great water polishing.5) The bio wheel seems to me to provide a media for biological filtration on par with drip or wet/dry filters.It is worth noting that my filter did not pump water when I received it from Amazon. Marineland cooperated by sending a new impeller, which I received promptly, and which corrected the problem. While it is not pleasant to purchase a product which does not work, I am willing to accept the fact that problems occasionally occur even by the most careful manufacturers, and I have no reason to think that Marineland was especially negligent. To the contrary, customer service was fast, efficient, and courteous regarding my problem.Finally, it would appear that many of the negative reviews posted here and elsewhere regarding these filters seem to be posted by users who neglect to read the product's instructions, or follow recommended maintenance. I am puzzled by reviews claiming that the filter makes excessive noise; mine is quite silent.This is the first Penguin I have purchased, and would recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful!!! 0 stars I have a penguin 350 for almost 2 years now. I paid around $45 for it. I've had to replace the impeller assembly 14 times already. These impellers cost around $20 a piece with shipping! It should cost about $2 as often as it needs to be replaced. What a terrible design by Marineland! These filters are absolute garbage! I will never buy another filter from them.
Date published: 2017-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great filter! I have had a 200 for about 6 months now and could not be happier. The fact that it has 2 slots for filters is great for when it's time to change the filter. Simply rinse an install the new filter in front of the old filter and a week later the new filter has built up enough bacteria to remove the old filter without lose of cycle. Get idea and the bio-wheel is always keeping your bacteria active. I only wish my intake tube was a little longer. It sits about 5" above my sand substrate and I wish it was adjustable so I could get it closer to my sand. Other than that great product and very affordable!!!
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works good I got the filter 3 months ago works great and for a good price
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from bio wheel doesn't work The bio Wheel stopped moving a month after using it.
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Real good but room for Improvements. First let me say I think the bio wheel concept is the best idea out there and I have over 55 years experience in aquariums. However, the best way to mount these filters is to hang the suction pipe inside the stand pipe of an under gravel filter. The benefits are too many to list here. However, filters above a size 200 the suction pipe wont fit into the vertical stand pipes. Also, older filters had round suction pipes making it easier to fit them into the vertical stand pipes. The rectangular suctions for size 200 and down can be manipulated.
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not great for 38 gallon bow front I'm sure fir a smaller tank the bio wheel 200 would be a good fit, but after using it fir a mobth in my 38 gallon bow front kit, I could not get the tank to cycle or really filter, just seems to much tank or height for the 200. Aftwr much research and lots of money on filters I opted for the internal canister. Decided to keep the 200 firbio media only, and withjn 12 hours the tank was prestine. If your loominv for a filter with better media options the bio wheels are not it.
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from penguin 200 I have had 3 of these and the bio wheel has never worked in any of them
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable Filter. No Mishaps =] I have had every freshwater filtration device on the market. The bio wheel penguin series is by far the most competent filter. Also to clear this out immediately, since I'm raving about this product, I can say that I have no monetary ties with any marineland or any other aquarium product, and never have. but this company- Marineland -simply created the best filters on the planet. Had a 20 gallon reg and a 20 long for 8 years....always had problems with cloudiness and disease until switching to the bio wheel penguin series (and a ton of water changes naturally). After my 20 gallons were long gone when I went to college and I fell out of the hobby, I got my first paycheck after graduating and bought a basic 10 gallon starter kit just to get myself back into the great hobby. Everything in the kit was great but I had to add the penguin 100 series filter to the tank and I have yet to have any problems with the tank. Pair any Penguin Series Marineland filter with keeping up on your tank cleanings: and you'll always have serene water quality within your aquarium. Thanks again guys ! (and again no one paid me to write this review as you can see I have the grammar of a 6 year old donkey.) lol Happy New Year!!
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great HOB Filter Never had a problem with either my Penguin 100, or 350! Had my 100 for my 20Gal for almost three years and it still works like a charm. It is very quite and does great in removing waste and debris from the water. Every month I take it apart and clean it in a bucket of water from the tank. Just started a 55Gal goldfish tank a few weeks ago with the 350 and it works awesome. It is also very quiet. The only sound is all the water being pushed out from both sides of the filter. Will stick with Marineland filters!
Date published: 2017-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Penguin 330- Longevity! Love this filter. I have been running this double bio-wheel filter for over 7 years without fail. We are surly not aquarium experts and use in a 55 gallon hobby tank that has had its share of algae blooms, poor water and filter change intervals, etc. this filter keeps on going and most of our common tropicals live over 5 years (we currently have a 7 yo Mollie !). Filter changes clear any cloudy water right up. I feel for the people who have trouble out of the box but for us this filter has been like a tank. (We have replaced the impeller once )
Date published: 2016-12-26
  • y_2018, m_12, d_10, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_188
  • loc_en_US, sid_PF0100B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland

Is there a way to purchase the rubber washers at the ends of the rod that holds the impeller? Mine have started to wear down over the last few years and don't fit properly in their receivers.

Asked by: Ivey
Thank you for your question! No, the rubber grommets are not available separately. You would need to purchase a new impeller. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-09-25

What size filter cartridge is supposed to fit in the additional media slot for the penguin 200? It seems the rite size C cartridge is slightly too big for that slot.

Asked by: Aquamanshane
You can use the Rite Size C, or buy a media container and customize it to suit the tank's needs. The C cartridge fits it, but sometimes may have extra floss on the sides you need to trim off. http://www.marineland.com/Products/aquarium-filtration-filter-media/aquarium-carbon-ammonia-neutralizing-crystals/aquarium-filter-cartridge-frame.aspx BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-09-18

Hello I have the emperor 400. I don’t know if it did it before since I just added my fish from my old tank until today but the rear lid keeps popping up and when you lift it up the filters float up. Is there something I might be missing to stop this?

Asked by: Ericw6311
Well, that's odd, indeed. We have never had anyone report that issue, that I am aware of. Make sure the cartridges are in the slot in back, and the blue is facing the front of the tank. You can place the media containers in front of the cartridges, filled with carbon or bio beads, etc. If you happen to have an air stone near the filter, shut it off for a while, and see if the cartridges still pop up. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-09-18

While medicating a tank with chemicals that harm neither plants nor snails, do I remove the bio wheel, or just the carbon?

Asked by: ArmyWife
Thank you for contacting us, ArmyWife, and for your and your husband's service to this country! You would only need to take out the carbon, not the bio wheel. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-09-18

Hi... I have a penguin with the two bio wheels. I cleaned out and emptied the tank to sell.. but after a few months decided to keep the tank. Should I buy new biowheels or am I ok to continue with the ones I have even though they have been dry for a bit?

Asked by: Brittneyadams
You can definitely use the old ones as long as they are not damaged or warped. They will build a bio load again after a few week, as if they were brand new. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-09-14

How wide does the tank cover opening need to be for the 100 or the 150?

Asked by: DrewM
The 100 needs 5.5" in length and at least 2" in width. The 150 needs 8" in length, and close to 3" for the width. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-09-12

I just picked up a Marineland Bio-Wheel Penguin Power Filter, Size 200 and I was wondering if there was a way to adjust the water flow? I want to slow the flow down

Asked by: Steve519
You can close off the mid-level strainer, and this will effect the flow somewhat, but not a lot. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-09-12

My Bio-Wheel is not turning and I followed every step and instructions you mentioned.

Asked by: ABUELA
Then at that point, you call in to talk to a technician to make sure you've done everything possible and done it correctly. If so, you may have warranty if you have your receipt as these filters have a 3 year warranty. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-09-12

a put athank you new bio-wheel 200 in and the motor is noisy. ill it quiet?

Asked by: jay s
Hello, jay s! We're sorry to hear the motor is noisy. That indicates an issue with the impeller. We suggest turning the filter off, removing the intake tube then cleaning the impeller and impeller well. For troubleshooting help please call Marineland at 1-800-322-1266.
Answered by: Customer Service
Date published: 2018-09-06

I bought a new bio wheel penguin 200 power filter today to replace a loud top fin filter, it worked for a little then I unplugged it as I was putting sand in my tank. Then I plugged it back in it made a sound and will not work. Please help 

Asked by: Raepets
We're sorry your filter isn't working, Raepets! We suggest turning off the filter, removing the intake tube and inspecting the impeller well. It is likely that sand got into the filter clogging it up. For help call Marineland at 1-800-322-1266. We are happy to help!
Answered by: Customer Service
Date published: 2018-09-06

I have a 40 gallon turtle tank, that opens half way so that the filter is resting halfway also. Would any of your filters fit a tank that opens halfway? About 9 inches of water.

Asked by: julieb63
Thanks for asking, julieb63. The hang on back filters are meant to be used with a completely filled tank. For a turtle tank set-up like you described you may wanted to consider a Magniflow Canister filter. For personalized product suggestions please call Marineland at 1-800-322-1266.
Answered by: Customer Service
Date published: 2018-09-06

What is the replacement filter for what was included with the 5 gallon escape kit? Thanks!

Asked by: Unhappy fish
That tank takes Rite Size Z replacement cartridge. The filter system is not sold separately, you would simply remove the intake tube and impeller housing to open the pump. This allows you to take out the impeller and clean it and the pump to keep it running. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-30

I have a new Marineland 60-gal aquarium setup for goldfish ... I have a Bio-Wheel 350 on one side and a 200 on the other. The issue is that the 350 runs amazing, but the 200 needs a new cartridge every 2 weeks or water spills markedly out the overflow.

Asked by: Sir Lucky
Which side do you feed the fish on? If you are feeding on the same end as the 200, this could be a contributing factor. However, the 200 is rated for tanks up to 50 gallons so you are over-maxing it a bit, which could also be a factor. And finally, have you checked the impeller and the motor region for debris? It could be partially clogged, which will also cause the issue. You can certainly rinse the cartridge and replace it just once a month, rather than switch it out so soon. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-29

Our goldfish has outgrown it's 20gal, moving it to a 75gal. Filter space is only 15". What model would fit there and keep up? We're going to add more fish down the road, and he's pretty messy.

Asked by: smendell
Great question! If he is a comet or shubunkin, he will grow to 14", and you will have room for only one more goldfish. Because they are so messy, and your space is limited, we would recommend the Magniflow 360 Canister. http://www.marineland.com/Products/aquarium-filters-and-protein-skimmers/Magniflow-Canister-Filters.aspx. If you had glass canopies on the 75, it would have a backstrip you could cut, and then we would recommend the Emperor 400, possibly one at each end, for even filtration and plenty of space for additional media. http://www.marineland.com/Products/aquarium-filters-and-protein-skimmers/emperor-saltwater-filter-freshwater-filter.aspx. Good luck with your new tank! BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-28

I recently purchased my Penguin 350 filter and just installed it.  I rinsed off my filters, install filter tube and turn on. Nothing. No power. Come to find out my impeller is also missing. What should I do? I no longer have the receipt. 

Asked by: Joeyk911
Sorry to hear this happened! We would recommend contacting the store for a receipt reprint or if you bought it online, of course you can go to your account and reprint it from there (Amazon, Petsmart, Chewy, etc.). If you purchased it through a Petsmart or Petco store, you can get reprints via your online account. Once you have your receipt, please call 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-28

Got Bio-Wheel Penguin 100 for my 10 gal. I set the tank up then put the filter in but found that the intake goes into the gravel, set it to the mid-level. Poured water into it, inserted bio-wheel and filter, plugged it in and...nothing. Return it or...?

Asked by: Bethany
When using the Penguin 100 on a 10 gallon tank, you do not use the mid level strainer nor the extension. Connect the bottom strainer to the intake tube. Pull the impeller and impeller housing out of the box and re-seat them, then re-insert the intake tube. Call 1-800-322-1266 if it still will not operate. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-24

How does tank water level affect bio-wheel filter flow since the intake sits much deeper inside the tank?

Asked by: Bennette
The impeller in the bottom of the filter box, directly under the intake tube, is what is responsible for the flow, not the intake tube. It drives water upwards, which has to hit the middle of the back of the bio wheel for it to turn properly. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-21

Are impellers covered by the warranty?? I had had my penguin 200 for about 6 months and the impeller is already weared and its making alo of noise? i been cleaning it monthly like the manual says.

Asked by: Mario1992
Yes, they are covered for manufacturer's defects. If they are worn due to sand or something along those lines, that would not be a defect. Sand requires a foam accessory to be placed over the intake tube of any filter to prevent wearing of the impeller. Call 1-800-322-1266 to find out what your options may be. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-21

Is it okay for some water to spillover to the side of the bio wheel?

Asked by: Rivercat333
I assume you mean you have water coming down around the intake tube. This is called the overflow channel, and typically, water will only come through here when the filter cartridge is clogged or the filter system itself has enough sludge, algae, or other debris interfering with the impeller. Basically, unplug it, remove it from the tank, and take it apart to clean the entire system. Once you put it back together, it should stop overflowing. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-20

I have a 7.5" opening in my the lid of my tank for the filter would the 200B fit in that space?

Asked by: ccbart450r
No, as it is 9.5". The 150 is 8". Only the 100, at 7.5", would fit it. If possible, we would recommend expanding the opening or buying a glass canopy. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-16

I have a Marineland bio wheel part number cbw-1 and it’s for a commercial 100 gal tank set up and I’m trying to buy a replacement wheel for my tank and I am unable to buy the right part what would be the new part number or a correct size to buy. 

Asked by: Liz86
Please contact our Commercial Division. For sales and service: Call 800.576.6277 between the hours of 8am-5pm M-F PST. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-13

If you let your bio wheels completely dry out (For instance replacement of the tank) will they work again once they get wet in the new tank? Or do you need to buy new ones?

Asked by: Sms1982
Once they have once again absorbed water, they will begin filtering for you, once more. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-26

I bought a power filter system with a bio wheel for a 40 gallon tank and the bio wheel stops moving we have cleaned the filter, and the impeller and the intake tube no matter what we do it spins for a little bit and then stops we don't want to burn it up

Asked by: Redd
The bio wheel should stop on its own and start back up, every few seconds, once it has built bio load up. If it won't start up, then the flow of the filter is slow because of a clogged impeller (sounds like you ruled that out) or some other part, the bio wheel has become warped or the bearings are damaged or dirty. So besides the impeller and intake tube, make sure you clean out the motor housing as well, where the impeller resides in the bottom right side of the filter. If you tend to have hard water, use white vinegar to clean out this area and to soak the impeller too. Soak for up to 15 minutes (the impeller). Next, check the purple bearings the bio wheel rests in. Clean them with a q tip and some vinegar and make sure they are not damaged and are inserted all the way. Smear a tiny bit of silicone lubricant onto them as well. If none of these tips work, please call 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-13

I'm curious about the effect on the bacteria on my bio wheel during water changes. The pump is off 45-60 minutes. Will this cause a significant loss of bacteria on the bio wheel? Should I simply let it float in the extracted water until done?

Asked by: Brewster
No, not really, unless the bio wheel dries out during that amount of time. It shouldn't, but if it does, then that would definitely affect your bacteria, killing them off. As long as it is moist, you're good. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-13

What are watts used for 200 or 350?

Asked by: KoiLiz
They each use 20.4 watts. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-13

Hi, the previous filter which i have is 500l/h. So for now which is the suitable filter from all of this?

Asked by: Nyana
We would recommend the Penguin 150, however, we do not ship/sale our products to Malaysia. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-13

My biowheel 350 won’t stop rattling! It is so loud I am having trouble sleeping. I have tried putting stress coat on the impeller and have cleaned it out several times but can’t get it to stop. How do I fix it? 

Asked by: Raelynn
If you happen to have an air stone in the tank or bubble wall, move it away from the filter. If you have sand in the tank, clean it out of the motor and impeller, and place some filter floss in the strainer to keep it from happening again. If it is neither of these issues, call 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-19

How many amps does a 340 draw

Asked by: Ray123
A 350 draws .17 amps. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-13

My bio wheel (200) has build up of minerals on it (from the hard water?) It spins sporadically rather than constantly. I've changed the filter multiple times and tried both the first filter slot and the second but it doesn't solve the problem.

Asked by: wanadj
If the actual bio wheel has hard water deposits on it, buy a new one and float it for a week or so, in the tank, then swap them out. If the filter system itself has hard water deposits, take it apart and clean everything with white vinegar. This will greatly improve the flow. Also, as long as the bio wheel starts and stops, it does NOT matter if it is sporadic or constant. Sporadic is actually better, really, as it provides wet/dry trickle filtration, which means the bacteria get a lot more oxygen so they work even harder for you. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-13

Why is my penguin filter so noisy? Vibration noise everywhere, it is not against wall but it seem comming from the suction tube connection to the machine. The noise stops when i lift the suction tube a bit up but it decreases the suction power.

Asked by: Josh1987
That is probably some type of impeller issue, so the first thing to do is take out the tube and impeller housing so you can inspect the impeller. Check it for any type of damage or debris, then check the bottom of the filter box as well, where the impeller sits. There may be some gravel, grit or other debris down in the motor causing it to not sit correctly. If it continues to vibrate after you have inspected/cleaned these areas/parts, please call 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-13
  • y_2018, m_12, d_10, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_724
  • loc_en_US, sid_PF0100B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland
PF0075B - Penguin 75 - 10 gal/75 GPH
PF0100B - Penguin 100 - 20 gal/100 GPH
PF0150B - Penguin 150 - 30 gal/150 GPH
PF0200B - Penguin 200 - 50 gal/200 GPH
PF0350B - Penguin 350 - 75 gal/350 GPH

Penguin Power Filter Manual 75B

Penguin Power Filter Manual Models 100B, 150B, 200B and 350B  

Penguin Quick Set Up Guide Models 100B, 150B, 200B and 350B 

 

 

Product

Certified Flow Rate

Aquarium Size

Rite Size Media

Penguin 75B

75 GPH

up to 10 gallons

A

Penguin 100B

100 GPH

up to 20 gallons

A

Penguin 150B

150 GPH

up to 30 gallons

B

Penguin 200B

200 GPH

up to 50 gallons

C

Penguin 350B

350 GPH

up to 75 gallons

C

Penguin & Emperor Cartridge Dimensions