Penguin® Power Filters

Product No. PF0100B
Find a Store In Stock

All Penguin® BIO-Wheel® Power Filters deliver easy, three-stage mechanical, chemical and biological aquarium filtration.

Convenient Penguin Rite-SizeTM Filter Cartridges come ready to use with each filter...ready to mechanically and chemically remove waste, discoloration and odors. Each contains new faster-acting Black Diamond® Premium Activated Carbon for maximum efficiency. Biological filtration is provided by the revolutionary and patented BIO-Wheel - proven best at removing toxic ammonia and nitrite.

All BIO-Wheel filters feature Noise-Reducing Two-Piece Vented Covers, and Adjustable Mid-Level Intake Strainers.

The Penguin® 75 BIO-Wheel® Power Filter brings Penguin's 3-stage filtration technology to aquariums up to 10 gallons. The 75 is ideal for new aquariums as well as establish tanks in need of an upgrade.

Penguin® Power Filters is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 178.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Loud I have a penguin 350 that I bought from a friend for my 38g. It was making a lot of noise that sounded like it was coming from the impeller so I replaced the impeller, impeller housing and the intake tube hoping all that would help and it did. The filter was almost completely silent for about 5 hours, then it started making the noise again. I don't know if it's just the filter going bad or if I got a bad part but the filter isn't very old. Maybe 6 months. Disappointing
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wheel not working I have had my system for two months and the wheel won't spin. A lot of money spent for a short life.
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Penguin 200 I watched many utube videos about hob filters. Though the penguin models were not the most highly recommended I liked the bio wheel. Very happy with my 200 and I don't care what anyone says. That spinning bio wheel is just cool. The penguin works very well paired with my 220 canister filter also from marineland on my 55. Keep up the good work
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great customer service I have always used these filters and never had an issue. Bought a penquin 250 two months ago, and it was a little noisier then all the other filters. Took it all part for its monthly cleaning and realized the propeller blade was cracked and hanging loose. Called the c.s. line asking if I could purchase just the part, and they offered to ship me one, no charge. That's great customer service, not only does that make me want to continue using their products, it shows they would prefer to keep the customer happy and support their product....great job guys and thank you
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great filter I bought the Marineland Penquin 150 Power Filter about a month ago. Loved it from the start! Nice and quiet motor, if the water level gets low enough the water flow can be somewhat loud but it doesn't bother me. Sounds like a tiny waterfall which fine. The only complaint I have with this product, is the lack of directions. I have had a few questions regarding the filter and the directions are very limited.
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Penguin 350 AMAZING I made the mistake of going with Aqueon filters on my 5 tanks . I had been struggling with Clarity n poor water conditions. Even running large filters on small tanks. Finally I bought 350 and in ONE DAY cleared my tank . Shocking how clear water was. There is absolutely NO competition for Marineland in power filters!!. I am saving up and can't wait for the day I have a house full of Marineland products!!
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keep it clean I have had my penquin 100 for over 3 years. Occasionally have to take it apart and clean it with vinegar!
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great filters! I have a bio wheel 330 that has been running 24/7 for 15 years! I also currently have two 350's running and love them. Excellent bio, chemical and mechanical filtration. The only hang on filters that I would buy! You should too!
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Motor does not work I have had my filter for about 1year and the motor went out. I have the penguin 350.i tried everything suggested to fix it but still no luck.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of reasons to use this filter! I have had a penguin 200 in my 30 gallon tank for about 3 weeks. The filter has good water flow, and very little noise. I purchased the Penguin after comparing to other HOB filters for several reasons:1) The bio wheel allows replacement of filter media without risk of crashing the nitrogen cycle.2) The filter accommodates 2 filter cartridges, allowing customization of filter media of various types.3) Marineland offers a re-fillable filter cartridge which can be opened and filled with bulk activated carbon, or my choice of chemical filtration media.https://www.amazon.com/Marineland-Cartridge-Refill-Penguin-Filter/dp/B0009YHSE8/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1487770023&sr=8-2&keywords=rite+size+c+refill4) I am able to cut mechanical filter media (such as 50 micron felt) and place between the two cartridges to produce great water polishing.5) The bio wheel seems to me to provide a media for biological filtration on par with drip or wet/dry filters.It is worth noting that my filter did not pump water when I received it from Amazon. Marineland cooperated by sending a new impeller, which I received promptly, and which corrected the problem. While it is not pleasant to purchase a product which does not work, I am willing to accept the fact that problems occasionally occur even by the most careful manufacturers, and I have no reason to think that Marineland was especially negligent. To the contrary, customer service was fast, efficient, and courteous regarding my problem.Finally, it would appear that many of the negative reviews posted here and elsewhere regarding these filters seem to be posted by users who neglect to read the product's instructions, or follow recommended maintenance. I am puzzled by reviews claiming that the filter makes excessive noise; mine is quite silent.This is the first Penguin I have purchased, and would recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful!!! 0 stars I have a penguin 350 for almost 2 years now. I paid around $45 for it. I've had to replace the impeller assembly 14 times already. These impellers cost around $20 a piece with shipping! It should cost about $2 as often as it needs to be replaced. What a terrible design by Marineland! These filters are absolute garbage! I will never buy another filter from them.
Date published: 2017-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great filter! I have had a 200 for about 6 months now and could not be happier. The fact that it has 2 slots for filters is great for when it's time to change the filter. Simply rinse an install the new filter in front of the old filter and a week later the new filter has built up enough bacteria to remove the old filter without lose of cycle. Get idea and the bio-wheel is always keeping your bacteria active. I only wish my intake tube was a little longer. It sits about 5" above my sand substrate and I wish it was adjustable so I could get it closer to my sand. Other than that great product and very affordable!!!
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works good I got the filter 3 months ago works great and for a good price
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from bio wheel doesn't work The bio Wheel stopped moving a month after using it.
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Real good but room for Improvements. First let me say I think the bio wheel concept is the best idea out there and I have over 55 years experience in aquariums. However, the best way to mount these filters is to hang the suction pipe inside the stand pipe of an under gravel filter. The benefits are too many to list here. However, filters above a size 200 the suction pipe wont fit into the vertical stand pipes. Also, older filters had round suction pipes making it easier to fit them into the vertical stand pipes. The rectangular suctions for size 200 and down can be manipulated.
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not great for 38 gallon bow front I'm sure fir a smaller tank the bio wheel 200 would be a good fit, but after using it fir a mobth in my 38 gallon bow front kit, I could not get the tank to cycle or really filter, just seems to much tank or height for the 200. Aftwr much research and lots of money on filters I opted for the internal canister. Decided to keep the 200 firbio media only, and withjn 12 hours the tank was prestine. If your loominv for a filter with better media options the bio wheels are not it.
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from penguin 200 I have had 3 of these and the bio wheel has never worked in any of them
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable Filter. No Mishaps =] I have had every freshwater filtration device on the market. The bio wheel penguin series is by far the most competent filter. Also to clear this out immediately, since I'm raving about this product, I can say that I have no monetary ties with any marineland or any other aquarium product, and never have. but this company- Marineland -simply created the best filters on the planet. Had a 20 gallon reg and a 20 long for 8 years....always had problems with cloudiness and disease until switching to the bio wheel penguin series (and a ton of water changes naturally). After my 20 gallons were long gone when I went to college and I fell out of the hobby, I got my first paycheck after graduating and bought a basic 10 gallon starter kit just to get myself back into the great hobby. Everything in the kit was great but I had to add the penguin 100 series filter to the tank and I have yet to have any problems with the tank. Pair any Penguin Series Marineland filter with keeping up on your tank cleanings: and you'll always have serene water quality within your aquarium. Thanks again guys ! (and again no one paid me to write this review as you can see I have the grammar of a 6 year old donkey.) lol Happy New Year!!
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great HOB Filter Never had a problem with either my Penguin 100, or 350! Had my 100 for my 20Gal for almost three years and it still works like a charm. It is very quite and does great in removing waste and debris from the water. Every month I take it apart and clean it in a bucket of water from the tank. Just started a 55Gal goldfish tank a few weeks ago with the 350 and it works awesome. It is also very quiet. The only sound is all the water being pushed out from both sides of the filter. Will stick with Marineland filters!
Date published: 2017-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Penguin 330- Longevity! Love this filter. I have been running this double bio-wheel filter for over 7 years without fail. We are surly not aquarium experts and use in a 55 gallon hobby tank that has had its share of algae blooms, poor water and filter change intervals, etc. this filter keeps on going and most of our common tropicals live over 5 years (we currently have a 7 yo Mollie !). Filter changes clear any cloudy water right up. I feel for the people who have trouble out of the box but for us this filter has been like a tank. (We have replaced the impeller once )
Date published: 2016-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 350 Filter Best cust. service ever!! Called up to order replacement impellers for my 350 filters and a bearing for and old 150 filter that has been a great filter and still running quiet for many years!!
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best filter after trying tetra and fluval owner of advanced tanks since i was 10. For 55 gal. tanks tetra filter doesnt seem to last for more than a couple years. fluval didnt handle biowaste load like it should have. Have had marineland penguin C for 9 years now. Even with an overloaded tank (temporary foster situation) it worked fine. If maintained and filters changed it's the best filter.
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Really poor design. I recently bought the Penguin 200 filter to pump my turtle tank because my old one broke. Almost immediately after installing the filter a jarring blender like sound was emitted by the pump. I thought something was wrong with the impeller, so I removed it. Upon removing it I found that nothing was wrong with the impeller but in fact the mid-level intake strainer does not create a tight enough seal to allow the filter to even pump the water. The only solution is to seal the holes on the filter or to by a separate extension adapter for the tube. Why the filter doesn't already come with one of these extension tubes to remove the need for the the broken mid-level piece is beyond me, and the whole product seems like a trick to get you to spend extra money to get it to work.
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Never even worked. I recently bought this filter (200) for my new 45 gallon tank. I began setting it up. It took me a while to figure out which direction to put the filter cartridge, as there are no actual instructions or anything mentioning, in detail, on how to assemble the product. Once I figured this out, I added water to the back, and plugged it in. It immediately began making a very loud noise, which I figured was the impeller. I figured that the noise might happen, as most of the filters I have purchased make a loud grinding noise for a short time before any water comes out, but 5 minutes later, there was still no water flow. I unplugged the filter, and dissembled the impeller housing. I tried again, to no avail. I tried for another half an hour before deciding to go onto the internet and see if anyone else had the same problem, or to see if there was a solution not mentioned in the "Instructions." I still don't have a solution. I would like to give a higher overall rating, but this is all I can do for now.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broken right out of the box Just got this filter and the impeller makes a rattling noise right out of the box. Inspected it and tried a little Vaseline to quiet the noise but no luck. Having the shaft go up and down is causing the noise. Terrible design and I'll be returning it.
Date published: 2016-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Would recommend this product to friends and family. Great product!
Date published: 2016-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Year's of dependable service! This filter was introduced year's ago, I've only bought two. The Bio-wheel technology is awesome. Changing cartridges is a snap. Do yourself a favor, GET ONE!
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very quiet after new impeller Shortly after I bought my filter system, the bio wheel stopped spinning. It would work on and off so I figured I just wasn't cleaning it as frequently as I should or didn't have the water level high enough. But then there was a horrible grinding noise that only got worse after a thorough cleaning. I called the company and the gentleman was happy to help; after a couple questions he decided to send me a new impeller. I received it in just a few days and now the filter is quiet a mouse. I am not only happy with the product but the customer service as well. As a side note, I very much wish that customers would troubleshoot and call the company to get help before leaving such negative reviews. It skews prospective customers' decision making when shopping for a filter system.
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from BioWheel Stop Working! I bought the penguin filter for my 30 gallon aquarium a month ago, and my biowheel justo stopped working. This is a very poor filter I am very dissapinted, I had high expectation. I will never recomend this product.
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Super quiet. It doesn't work! I bought this filter a couple months ago. It's dead. The power head just died.I wish I had my receipt! Who would think you would need it? Anna
Date published: 2016-09-06
  • y_2018, m_9, d_20, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_178
  • loc_en_US, sid_PF0100B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland

Do these filters have an adjustable flow rate?

Asked by: Tom0429
Thanks for asking! No, these filters do not have an adjustable flow rate. For more help call Marineland at 1-800-322-1266. We are happy to help!
Answered by: Customer Service
Date published: 2018-06-18

I am looking for the bar/piece that holds the actual Bio Wheel for a Penguin 125. Got any ideas? Thanks, Scott

Asked by: Lactic
That would be the bracket, and it is not available, unfortunately, since that filter has been out of production for over 15 years. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-06-14

I have a 10 gal tank and the intake tube is to long, do we need to have the mid level intake installed or can we just use the end piece. The tank is being set for an axolotl.

Asked by: Jay611
You would use just the bottom strainer and intake tube, no middle pieces, as those are in case someone has a 20 gallon tank. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-06-17

I have two Penguin Biowheel 150's in my 36-gallon bowfront tank. Is that too much? Right now, I have a small fancy goldfish and he seems to get "caught" in the current alot.

Asked by: LakeSuperior
No, that should be fine, especially when he gets bigger. Put some tall plants in front of the filter intake tube to break up the flow for him. Also, test the water and make sure it's okay and he isn't stressed. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-06-11

I purchased the bio-wheel 150 filtration system 5/21/18. I still can not get the bio-wheel to spin. i have soaked it water overnight and used petroleum jelly to lubricate the brackets. I think something is wrong with the wheel it self. It will not spin.

Asked by: tawny
Make sure the water level is to the top of the tank. If it is, then call 1-800-322-1266 to talk to our Care Team about a replacement bio wheel. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-06-11

My biowheel won't turn. I returned one filter to Petsmart because the biowheel wouldn't turn, and the one on this new one wont' turn either. I have taken it out an checked for damage, I have gone online and done all the suggestions that were blogged.

Asked by: GrammyKimB
Where is the water level in the tank? Check the bio wheel bearings. If they are in place correctly, put a thin smear of petroleum jelly on them. Call 1-800-322-1266 if you need more help. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-29

Do I need the mid level intake strainer because with everything attach strainer will be digging into the gravel which make the filter fit improper I have 10 g with the penguin 100 filter

Asked by: Tyy420
Nope, you sure don't! In fact, it is included in case someone has a 20 high. You just use the intake tube with the bottom strainer for a 10 gallon tank, with no middle pieces at all. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-06-06

My Marineland 350 Penguin Power Filter just suddenly stopped workin. The day I added in PH-raising substrate, so now my tank is extremely dusty. The filter came with the marineland 55 gallon kit, is there any way some sort of warranty covers this?

Asked by: RanusH
Have you tried cleaning it out? In most cases, it just needs to have the impeller, impeller housing, and intake tube removed and cleaned. You also need to clean out the motor. I would guess that the pH powder clogged the impeller and caused it to stop turning. Warranty is 3 years on manufacturing defects, you would need to call 1-800-322-1266 for the address, and other information. Receipt would be necessary as well. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-06-01

I am considering buying a Marineland penguin 350 C for a live well I am building.  It will require a longer intake tube to work.  Can you tell me the parts I need to do that?  Also, if I extend it twice, will the pump handle it?

Asked by: Mike7631
You would need a mid-level strainer and an extension to lengthen it. It will be fine with one additional one of each of these, but may not be powerful enough for two additional extensions. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-05-31

New to keeping fish and can't figure how I'm suppose to adjust the water adjuster on the intake tube. i.e if I want to filter the water on the bottom of the tank do I close the upper part of it?

Asked by: c1jackie
You can leave it open or close it, depending on your needs. It helps to increase circulation of the water through the tank, and closing it will definitely pull more water from the bottom of the tank. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-05-29

I recently added eco-complete and ended up clogging the impeller. I removed the filter, cleaned the impeller and the well where it sits, making sure is all clear, now neither bio wheel will spin. Any suggestions?

Asked by: bookjunkie
Make sure you have cleaned out the intake tube as well. Also, wipe between each of the folds of the bio wheels in case some of the Eco Complete has clogged it. Easiest way is with a q tip. And last, make sure to wipe off the purple bearings at each end of the bio wheels. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-05-22

I bought this unit from Petco less than a year ago. It was stopping a lot so I thought it was defective petco swappes it out. The new one did the same thing. I emailed you guys and you sent me a new impeller. I installed it and it’s still doing the same. 

Asked by: Anthony M
Marineland is sorry the impeller did not fix the issue, Anthony. We are emailing you now to help. You can also call us at 1-800-322-1266.
Answered by: Customer Service
Date published: 2018-05-17

I'll likely be getting a 55 gallon tank, would you recommend the Penguin 200, 350 or the emperor 400? It seems I can get the emperor 400 for cheap too.

Asked by: WC100
Thanks for asking! The Penguin 200 would be a great option for your tank if it is stocked appropriately. If you are overstocked or have high waste producing fish you may want to use one of the bigger filters. For more personalized advice please call Marineland at 1-800-322-1266. We are happy to help!
Answered by: Customer Service
Date published: 2018-05-15

We have a Penguin 350 that we've had less than a month. One biowheel now doesn't turn most of the time. Both turned at first. It is only one and it doesn't matter which side it's on. The other works on either side. What could be the problem?

Asked by: stonewolf
The first thing to check is to make sure something isn't clogged. Take out the intake tube, impeller housing, and impeller and clean them. Also, check down in the motor. Make sure the water level is to the top of the tank where it should be. If the bio wheel still won't turn after all this, check the purple tabs it rests in and make sure both are properly in place and smooth. If it still won't turn, call 1-800-322-1266, it may have become damaged/warped somehow. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-05-11

At first, it worked efficiently. However, noise started developing and the biowheel stopped spinning. Smudge forms on the filter cartridge within a day. It's also noisy, because I keep the water a few inches low, to protect my nerite snails. Suggestions?

Asked by: ioinva
Several. One is to raise the water level where it should be, below the rim of the tank. You can drop it a bit, maybe an inch, but any hang on the back filter will make loud water noises if the water has to drop several inches, so you will need to adapt if you want to continue with it low. Low levels also affect the flow rate of such filters, reducing them, and making it harder for bio wheels to turn. The noise issue along with the bio wheel stopping are probably due to something caught in the impeller. You need to take the intake tube, impeller housing and impeller out and inspect/clean them. You may also need to clean out the motor in case of gravel, sand, grit, plant matter, etc. The recommendation for cleaning any filter is once every 1-2 months, depending on the tank size, inhabitants, and so forth. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-05-10

My penguin bio wheel 200 filter is less than 3weeks old . It continues to go into over flow with 2 days of putting a new cartridge I'm on my 4th cartridge in less than 3weeks . What is the problem with these filters oh an I already returned 1 penguin bio

Asked by: electricman
If it is overflowing, then your tank may simply be dirty, and the cartridge is clogging rapidly, trying to remove the detritus from your tank. In that event, you should vacuum your gravel well, and change out 25% of the water to help balance the tank. If the tank is not that dirty, then you may have pulled some type of debris into the intake tube or the impeller, impeller housing or motor. We would recommend in this case to take the filter apart to find the offending debris/detritus. Cartridges have an average lasting time of at least 2-4 weeks in properly stocked and maintained tanks. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-05-09

On the tube going into the tank that sucks the water up, what is the adjustment for

Asked by: un13lucky
The mid-level strainer allows you to adjust the flow rate of the filter. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-05-29

I just installed a 29 gal. marineland aquarium with the biowheel and it is pushing water out with lots of power and splash....is that normal? It's like turbo power!! Kind of noisy too but hopefully it'll calm down over time is what I read.

Asked by: hbheel
That's normal, and yes, it does calm down. To speed the process up, float the bio wheel for a day or two. It will absorb water more quickly, which weights it down, and reduces that noise and splashing. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-05-07

After a power surge, or a brief power interruption, by pump hums but does not restart filtering. Also the bio wheels never turn and have not since we got the system about 2 years ago. We have moved to a new location with the same problems.

Asked by: Mary53
Have you taken the system apart and cleaned everything? We would recommend soaking the impeller in distilled white vinegar, and swabbing out the motor with vinegar as well. All of the problems you describe are usually caused by a clogged filter system or low water level in the tank. The water level must be to the top of the tank. Last, but not least, check for the purple bearings at either end of the biowheels. If these are missing, the bio wheels cannot turn. They will also need cleaning. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-05-07

I moved my tank into a new apartment and not my filter is plugged in but not working AT all please help

Asked by: Schmidt
Sorry to hear that Schmidt! Have you removed the intake tube, impeller housing and impeller, cleaned all of these parts and the bottom of the filter box really well? If not, you may have build up or debris that is causing the issue. You can use white vinegar to clean all of them if you see white buildup anywhere on the filter, as this is a sign of hard water. Vinegar will remove it. Soak the impeller itself for about 10 min in the vinegar and clean out the motor well with vinegar as well. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-05-03

My Penguin 200 is cycling water, but the wheel doesn't spin? and there is hardly any visible dirt on the cartridges when I remove them. But the tank is still dirty? It's only a year old and cycling a 36 gallon tank with live plants and large fish.

Asked by: jess713
If the tank is cycling, there may not be a lot for it to mechanically pull out, but you need biological filtration. Make sure your water level is to the top of the tank as the bio wheels are directly affected by the flow of the water. Also, pull out the intake tube, impeller and impeller housing and make sure there isn't some plant matter or other debris clogging any of them or the motor. Also, if you have large fish, and there are several of them, you may need additional filtration or a larger tank. Cycling a new tank will also look dirty as you can have a bacterial bloom. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-05-01

1 Fish in my 55 gal tank is sick. Checked water- high nitrite,6.0 acidity. Did 50% water change. (Tap water is 8.0ph , Can t seem to elevate ph above 6.6. Nitrite is at 20ppm. Changed filters out. Added more oxygenation. Should I replace bio wheel?

Asked by: Eqk9
No to replacing the bio wheel. I believe you are referring to nitrate, NO3, not nitrite, NO2. 20 ppm would have killed anything and everything in the tank by now, if it were nitrite. 20 ppm nitrate is okay, no worries. The acidity could be due to your tap water having low alkalinity, so test for this to see if that is the case or not. If the alkalinity of the tap water is low, then your pH can fluctuate a lot. You would want to add some buffers either regularly or naturally, to prevent the acidity from occurring again. Natural slate, tufa or lava work as do aquarium salt (don't use regularly though) or baking soda. If the alkalinity is good, then you need to really think about what is in your tank and driving down the pH. Since nitrates are at 20 ppm presumably, it shouldn't be these. You can add an ion exchange resin to help such as Purigen. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-04-25

I have an old Penguin Mini PF99 that seems to be in good working order but can’t find the bio wheel for it.  Did this model even have a bio wheel?

Asked by: Patd
Yes, it does, and the bio wheel is still available. http://www.marineland.com/Products/aquarium-parts/Filtration-Products-and-Skimmers/Penguin-Parts/BIO-Wheel-Parts-for-Penguins/BIO-Wheel-Assembly-for-Penguin-PF99B-Eclipse-Systems-2-3-Hex-5-Corner-5.aspx. You would also need the bracket it fit in and the bearings as well. Here are the bearings: http://www.marineland.com/Products/aquarium-parts/Filtration-Products-and-Skimmers/Penguin-Parts/BIO-Wheel-Parts-for-Penguins/BIO-Wheel-Bearings-for-Penguin-PF99B-PF125B-PF170B-PF330B.aspx. Unfortunately, the bracket is not available separately. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-04-24

Is there filter tube extensions for the penguin 200 square tubing?

Asked by: Anthony08
Yes, there are indeed! http://www.marineland.com/Products/aquarium-parts/Filtration-Products-and-Skimmers/Penguin-Parts/Intake-Tubes-and-Strainers/Intake-Extension-Tube-Penguins-100B-150B-200B.aspx and http://www.marineland.com/Products/aquarium-parts/Filtration-Products-and-Skimmers/Penguin-Parts/Intake-Tubes-and-Strainers/Mid-Level-Strainer-Penguin-100B-150B-200B.aspx. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-04-24

Am I supposed to clean the bio wheel?

Asked by: Channy
Thanks for asking, Channy! No, you should not clean the bio wheel. It is a place for good bacteria to grow which helps keep your water clean and clear. For more help call Marineland at 1-800-526-0650.
Answered by: Customer Service
Date published: 2018-04-17

My Emperor 400 filters used to get really dirty, but not anymore. 120 gallon tall tank, running 2 Emperor 400's and a Fluval 405. Same set up was on my last 75 gallon tank and filters needed cleaned every 2 weeks, and changed once a month.

Asked by: Chuck 88
Comparing the two tanks is like comparing apples to oranges. One is obviously a third larger than the other, and therefore, less likely to get dirty. However, how fast tanks or filters become dirty, depends on types and quantities of fish, your frequency of partial water changes, feeding regimen and more. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-04-12

My filter got really noisy and I had to unplug it.  Can I float the bio wheel in the tank for a day until I get a new filter or will the good bacteria die? I have another filter that’s running still but don’t want to lose this established bio wheel

Asked by: BrandenBar
the magnet impeller at the bottom of the riser needs replacing if you hear a knockin noise online 20 bucks
Answered by: SaltwaterLifer
Date published: 2018-04-11

Does the PF0075B - Penguin 75 - 10 gal/75 GPH have a flow control? I want it for my 10 betta tank but they can't handle the full open flow. I have 2 males and a female in the tank separated by dividers.

Asked by: Dianad
The only flow control is the mid level strainer. My betta can handle 150 gph, so they should be able to handle 75 gph pretty easily unless they are stressed or ill for some reason. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-04-09

Does the water rotator have to be changed like the filters

Asked by: Cliff Bregstone
If you mean the bio wheel, no. You only change it if it becomes damaged or warped, etc. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-04-09

What are the difference in the penguin and emperor power filters

Asked by: Simba
The Penguin is slightly smaller, slightly less flow rate at 350 gph, whereas the Emperor has 400 gph. The Penguin relies on the water flow through the filter to hit the bio wheels and turn them, so a dirty system will affect this drastically. The Emperor has spray bars that continuously spray water on the bio wheels, constantly turning them. It also has media containers for extra media, unlike the Penguin. It also has a flow manifold housing vs the impeller housing of the Penguin. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-04-22
  • y_2018, m_9, d_20, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_684
  • loc_en_US, sid_PF0100B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland
PF0075B - Penguin 75 - 10 gal/75 GPH
PF0100B - Penguin 100 - 20 gal/100 GPH
PF0150B - Penguin 150 - 30 gal/150 GPH
PF0200B - Penguin 200 - 50 gal/200 GPH
PF0350B - Penguin 350 - 75 gal/350 GPH

Penguin Power Filter Manual 75B

Penguin Power Filter Manual Models 100B, 150B, 200B and 350B  

Penguin Quick Set Up Guide Models 100B, 150B, 200B and 350B 

 

 

Product

Certified Flow Rate

Aquarium Size

Rite Size Media

Penguin 75B

75 GPH

up to 10 gallons

A

Penguin 100B

100 GPH

up to 20 gallons

A

Penguin 150B

150 GPH

up to 30 gallons

B

Penguin 200B

200 GPH

up to 50 gallons

C

Penguin 350B

350 GPH

up to 75 gallons

C

Penguin & Emperor Cartridge Dimensions

Replacement Parts