Penguin® Power Filters

Product No. PF0100B
Find a Store In Stock

All Penguin® BIO-Wheel® Power Filters deliver easy, three-stage mechanical, chemical and biological aquarium filtration.

Convenient Penguin Rite-SizeTM Filter Cartridges come ready to use with each filter...ready to mechanically and chemically remove waste, discoloration and odors. Each contains new faster-acting Black Diamond® Premium Activated Carbon for maximum efficiency. Biological filtration is provided by the revolutionary and patented BIO-Wheel - proven best at removing toxic ammonia and nitrite.

All BIO-Wheel filters feature Noise-Reducing Two-Piece Vented Covers, and Adjustable Mid-Level Intake Strainers.

The Penguin® 75 BIO-Wheel® Power Filter brings Penguin's 3-stage filtration technology to aquariums up to 10 gallons. The 75 is ideal for new aquariums as well as establish tanks in need of an upgrade.

Penguin® Power Filters is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 156.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Really poor design. I recently bought the Penguin 200 filter to pump my turtle tank because my old one broke. Almost immediately after installing the filter a jarring blender like sound was emitted by the pump. I thought something was wrong with the impeller, so I removed it. Upon removing it I found that nothing was wrong with the impeller but in fact the mid-level intake strainer does not create a tight enough seal to allow the filter to even pump the water. The only solution is to seal the holes on the filter or to by a separate extension adapter for the tube. Why the filter doesn't already come with one of these extension tubes to remove the need for the the broken mid-level piece is beyond me, and the whole product seems like a trick to get you to spend extra money to get it to work.
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Never even worked. I recently bought this filter (200) for my new 45 gallon tank. I began setting it up. It took me a while to figure out which direction to put the filter cartridge, as there are no actual instructions or anything mentioning, in detail, on how to assemble the product. Once I figured this out, I added water to the back, and plugged it in. It immediately began making a very loud noise, which I figured was the impeller. I figured that the noise might happen, as most of the filters I have purchased make a loud grinding noise for a short time before any water comes out, but 5 minutes later, there was still no water flow. I unplugged the filter, and dissembled the impeller housing. I tried again, to no avail. I tried for another half an hour before deciding to go onto the internet and see if anyone else had the same problem, or to see if there was a solution not mentioned in the "Instructions." I still don't have a solution. I would like to give a higher overall rating, but this is all I can do for now.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broken right out of the box Just got this filter and the impeller makes a rattling noise right out of the box. Inspected it and tried a little Vaseline to quiet the noise but no luck. Having the shaft go up and down is causing the noise. Terrible design and I'll be returning it.
Date published: 2016-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Would recommend this product to friends and family. Great product!
Date published: 2016-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Year's of dependable service! This filter was introduced year's ago, I've only bought two. The Bio-wheel technology is awesome. Changing cartridges is a snap. Do yourself a favor, GET ONE!
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very quiet after new impeller Shortly after I bought my filter system, the bio wheel stopped spinning. It would work on and off so I figured I just wasn't cleaning it as frequently as I should or didn't have the water level high enough. But then there was a horrible grinding noise that only got worse after a thorough cleaning. I called the company and the gentleman was happy to help; after a couple questions he decided to send me a new impeller. I received it in just a few days and now the filter is quiet a mouse. I am not only happy with the product but the customer service as well. As a side note, I very much wish that customers would troubleshoot and call the company to get help before leaving such negative reviews. It skews prospective customers' decision making when shopping for a filter system.
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from BioWheel Stop Working! I bought the penguin filter for my 30 gallon aquarium a month ago, and my biowheel justo stopped working. This is a very poor filter I am very dissapinted, I had high expectation. I will never recomend this product.
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Super quiet. It doesn't work! I bought this filter a couple months ago. It's dead. The power head just died.I wish I had my receipt! Who would think you would need it? Anna
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Noisy 350 B Right out of the box impeller noise, and water noise from bio wheel. I have a pretty old emperor 400 and it is still quiet as a mouse. The baffling sytem for the bio wheels and the impeller are in desparate need of an upgrade. Very dissapointed
Date published: 2016-08-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Old ones were great... But these new ones are horrible. Mine bent the impeller shaft after about a month. Looked like the shaft was to long. Was still running, while screaming, until I unplugged it, then it was seized up. I've seen many complaints similar to my experience on different forums. Went and replaced it with an API unit. Couldn't be happier. Step it up marineland.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 10 Gal Kit - says 100 Filter but actuallly got 75 I purchased this in 2015 and set it up. There is a small BIO Wheel bit it doesn't turn when the lid is on the filter. I have tried to re-position the lid and the wheel, but the only way it does work is when I put something under the lid to hold it up so that the wheel can turn freely. Has anyone else run into this problem? And why does the box say 100 when it is actually a 75? I have had other Bio Wheel Filters (5 Gal) and found they worked fine. I do like the Bio Wheels better than other Bio System Filters, but am wondering whether the 75 was actually tested, or assembled with the correct parts.
Date published: 2016-07-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from bio wheel and bearing and filter. This filter runs quiet. Filter has to be changed weekly and wheel rarely turns. Stkre were bought doesnt carry wheels for sale as manufacturer told them they are good for life. Store told me to call 800 322 1266 so I did several times and recording justsays I have reached there after hours number.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Constant cleaning I bought a Penguin 150 due Marineland's great reputation.Unfortunately I am CONSTANTLY cleaning/replacing filters because they get dirty rather quickly (about 1 filter every 2 days). So dirty that the bio wheel stops spinning, and the water exits out the overflow into my tank. Funny thing is the instructions say to replace the filter every 2-4 weeks. It would be nice if the filters lasted that long. Another issue I have is my small fish are getting stuck on the intake of my pump. It would have been a great idea if Marineland made the intake bigger (like for the Penguin 350). Just a thought.
Date published: 2016-06-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible I am extreamly angery I've had 2 of these filters in the last year and they have both broken!
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unhappy I have been through two of the Penguins 350 filters in one and a half years they both make loud squealing sound
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible products I bought my marineland penguin 200 a year ago, and one day we were woken up by a loud humming/rubbing noise when we found where the noise came from it was the pump and filter! I shut it off thinking some gunk probably broke lose( not sure how as I cleaned the stupid thing once a month) but the next day I took the thing apart to clean and remove what might be stuck and it was very clean and nothing was stuck!! What it sounds lie is the magnet on the fund is beating against the plastic insides where it sits I paid good money for this thing thinking I had bought a good product nope!!! I have bought Walmart one a few years ago and had to switch back to it and it is still working very quietly these marine land penguin series are terrible products!!
Date published: 2016-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeping fish healthy for years! I've had many aquariums in many sizes and have trusted my filtering to Penguin and the magic Bio Wheel for years and had to return big fishes to the store or get a bigger aquarium because since water condition is good they just keep growing !Now I moved and have a dmall mini penguin filter operating I cleat it with tap water and a ols tooh brush one or twice a year same time I change 50% of aquiarium water and it just keeps my fish happy.I do not find them noisy at all. Sometimes when water level goes down I hear a water cascade sound that actually helps me relax.
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Waaaaaay Too Loud At first the Bio Wheel was the item making the most noise, a scraping sound similar to when a fountain is low on water. I know it was the Bio Wheel because when I removed the wheel most of the noise stopped. The remaining noise was from the impeller that pumps the water. Over the past few days, the Bio Wheel is making a little less noise but the impeller has gotten louder. I've tried reseating the impeller and making sure the assembly was snug in its seat but it didn't help. The 'splash guard' over the Bio Wheel simply amplifies the noises. My old Penguin didn't make as much noise but somewhere down the line, the engineers or accountants lost sight of the customer's needs. The system does keep the tank clear but the noise can be heard (barely but heard) in the next room.
Date published: 2016-04-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor power filtering I live in an area where brownouts are common. I am now on my fourth filter in just over a year. It appears not a surge issue since the brand new surge protectors did not trip when the brownout occurred. This would most likely mean there is little to no protection filtering on the power input to the motor, of the pump, allowing for switching transients to damage the electronics. While I have otherwise been pleased with the performance of the filters, please resolve this issue so that I do not have to replace it 2-4 times a year, or look for more durable filter.
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Instantly broken I got the Penguin 350 a month or so ago and it now makes this insanely loud noise when its on and after a few minutes of doing that it just shuts off. I bought this filter because it was affordable for my price range and the reviews were good. I had it running for about 2 days then it started with its loud noise. I think it is the Impeller rubbing but not entirely sure. If there is anything I am doing wrong can you tell me because I set it up like the instructions given with the product and just plugged it in.
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great filter for the price. I purchased this filter because I found it on amazon for cheap and it had pretty decent reviews. I have to say I'm not disappointed. I originally had it on my 30 gallon tank to over filter due to the amount of stock I had. I ended up upgrading tanks to a 65 gallon still using the same filter. I'm impressed. even though at this point this is putting this close to it's max tank load it is preforming very well. Crystal clear water.My only complaint it that is a little noisier that some hob filters I've used.Great product and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone.
Date published: 2016-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bio Wheels I bought my penguin 350 about 5 years ago best filter ever I just recently bought a emperor 400 to replace it and to be honest thinking about going back to my penguin 350 I'm having a lot a problems with the 400s intake tube
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Was quiet at first... gradually getting louder 350B - was quiet at first... gradually getting louder, but I don't think it's worth the money to replace the impeller for this filter because it doesn't do any better of a job reducing NH3 NO3/NO2 than the much quieter canister filter I have on another tank. It was packed up for about a year and I can't find the bio wheels, which I also think are a bit too expensive considering I don't think they do much. Cartridges are easy to replace but expensive. Flow rate continues to be good. I will continue to use it until I run out of the filter cartridges then maybe sell it for $10. I would consider buying another Marineland filter because many people have had good luck with them, if it is on sale for a deep discount.
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Satisfied I own a small penguin 75 for my 10gal,it did am amazing job. So I bought the 200 penguin here recently and it's doing a beautiful job. Keeps my tanks clean and cycled.
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Penguin Power Filter 350 I decided on this filter because all of the noise complaints on the 400, but guess what, I set it up, and the impeller is so loud I can hear it 3 rooms away! I'm not happy with this, it is actually so loud I can barely hear the water trickle that I really do like about this line of filters!
Date published: 2016-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Penguin Bio Wheel 350 I don't normally write reviews, but I felt it necessary to do one on this awesome Product. I purchased one and installed it on my slightly over stocked 20 gal fresh water tank. I did some modifications on the filter. I placed the two 'C' filters on one side of the filter, and in the other side, I put in a foam filter from a different company. On top of the foam, I added a bag of charcoal, and some filter glass wool. The gravel was dirty, so I stirred it up. The combination I used cleared to tank with in 45 minutes. I added some Spira Bio to start the biological filtration since it was a new filter. I checked the Ammonia, Nitrates, and Nitrites after two days. The count for all three were '0'. I am extremely happy with this filter and would recommend it to everyone!! PS..NO NOISE from the filter.
Date published: 2016-02-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Penguin 350 Great filter. Easy to maintain BUT, once the impeller begins to rattle, the cost to replace it , including shipping, was $10 less than buying a whole new filter. That did not impress me! Good but disposable I guess. I will compare other brands next time.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great filter I got my filter and it was very easy to set up and install. It was pretty loud at first but I took the impeller out and rinsed it off and put it back in and now I can barely hear it running. My water is very clean and clear and it seems to be doing a great job. Overall a very good filter
Date published: 2016-01-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from penguin 350 It does the job of filtering ok for an HOB however I had to heavily modify this thing to make it quiet. This is the most noisy HOB I have ever used in terms of water noise. The design is deeply flawed. There are water chanel s on either side of the intake tube that make excessively loud water trickling sounds. I can hear it over my tv and it keeps me up at night. After I finaly figured out what was making all the water noise I had to stuff filter pad over the chanel and finally all I can hear is a light hum of the pump. So ad often as I have to do water and filter changes I will have to redo the filter mufflers and will be sure to tire of it quickly just to keep this thing quiet, I'll be sure to get sick of it and either go with a Fluval canister or Fluval HOB. I will never reccomend this filter or ever buy another one again.
Date published: 2015-12-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Never lasted longer than a month Tried the Penguin 100 on my 20L tank. First one never worked, second lasted about a month and then proceeded to just stop working and my third try gave out on me in about two weeks. While the filtration when working was excellent, I have never had so much of an issue with my filter's lifespan. I spoke with others on a facebook group I am in and the majority had experienced the same issue.
Date published: 2015-12-01
  • y_2018, m_1, d_17, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_156
  • loc_en_US, sid_PF0100B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland

How much power do these use? I have a 200 and a 350. Not sure why it is not listed on the box...

Asked by: Eric C
It is actually listed on the motors of the filters.... They both use 20.4 watts, 120 v, .17 a. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

When u purchase the bio wheel 200 new dies it come with the bio wheel?

Asked by: KaydenBS
Yes, it comes with the bio wheel and your first cartridge. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

Got a new 350 filter and with in 3 months, it started making noise and doesn't pump water continuously. It stops pumping in between so frequently. Any idea ?

Asked by: Bharath
It most likely has some debris caught somewhere. Remove it from the tank, take out the intake tube, impeller housing, and impeller, and clean each part. Also clean out the well of the motor in the bottom of the filter box. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

Have my Marineland filter for about 10 years now, when do we need to replace it? Or do I ever need to replace it?

Asked by: Angel M
If it is working well, there is never a need to replace it. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

My filtration system lessens pretty rapidly due to slimy algae buildup in the tube and impeller. I have to clean it out about once a month. The bio wheel stops turning and develops a white crust. Probably minerals. Is this detrimental to the bio wheel?

Asked by: Tdavis4
Sounds like you need some help with the tank in general. Yes, if it is not spinning, it can be a problem for the bio wheel as a lot of the bacteria could die off, if left out in the air to just dry up. Are you doing monthly water changes? The white crust sounds like hard water or it could be a water mold. We would recommend either switching to bottled natural spring water if the tank is small, or if larger, then you might want to invest in a purifier for the faucet or a RO unit. If so, have a supplement to add minerals/trace elements back into the water when you do water changes. Another option would be adding peat to the filter or a water softener pillow. We could be more specific in our help if we had more info on the tank. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

I would like to construct a lift tube extension for my Penguin 100 filter (This is the round lift tube, like the old 75, not the rectangular style). What tubing dimensions will I need to slip-over the OEM lift tube?

Asked by: DJ Saberniak Jr
We have not made a round intake tube in 20+ years and do not have specs for such. The Penguin 100 has always had a square tube, but our old Mini and 99 had rounded ones. We recommend taking the intake tube with you to a DIY hardware store and matching up the tubing with it. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

 I found two buckets of fish and an aquarium in the parking lot. The penguin water thingy doesn't make any noise when plugged in.  Where's the fuse? It's big, has two filters that rotate. 

Asked by: one666mom
Wow, poor fish! Pull the intake tube up and out of the filter body, then reach in and pull up the piece the tube came out of, the impeller housing. You may need to clean out the entire filter system. If you see hard water deposits, use white vinegar. Instructions for the Penguin 350, which you have, are on our site: http://www.marineland.com/Products/aquarium-filters-and-protein-skimmers/penguin-bio-wheel-filter-saltwater-filter-freshwater-filter.aspx BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

After my power went out during Hurricane Harvey, I cleaned my filter and tube And re -plugged in the pump.  The impeller noise is horrific-  It is so loud! I have had this pump for several years and it has never been this loud.  Any ideas ?

Asked by: Lake girl
Make sure you primed it with water. Also, take a q tip or corner of a paper towel with some vinegar and clean out the motor region. Soak the impeller in white vinegar. You may have some deposits that are causing the impeller to rub something. Another possibility could be that it received damage from the power coming back on. We do sell replacement impellers, so you may need to replace it. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

How often to change the actual filter cartrage on filter once a month?

Asked by: Shownuff
Typically, once a month, but it will depend on your stocking level, how much you feed, and so forth. Sometimes it may be 2-3 weeks. In some cases, you can go longer than 4 weeks, but 4 is a good average. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

I have a Penguin 200 Biowheel Power Filter. I have a Saltwater tank. What do you suggest using to help keep sand out of the impeller?

Asked by: TiffanyW1
There are foam or sponge-like accessories sold separately for this purpose or you can use loose filter floss to stuff the bottom strainer. Some people use the toe of a nylon stocking tied over the strainer. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

I have a 38Gal Marineland bow front tank kit that came with the Penguin 200. I would like to increase filtration. What filter would you recommend or add, and is it necessary or good idea?

Asked by: JTInc
The more filtration, the better in most cases, but it is not exactly necessary, per se. That particular tank has a center brace, which means any filter you decide to use cannot be longer than 14". We do not have a larger power filter that will fit that space. You could go with a canister filter such as the Magniflow 220. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-09-19

Hi! I have a 10 gallon tank that is currently dealing with a power outage. The filter and biowheel stopped and dried out for 3 days now. Should I get a new biowheel once the power starts up again? I'm worried about starting from scratch.

Asked by: arianaa94
No, just do small partial water changes of the tank each day, like around a gallon or two. This will keep providing fresh oxygen to the tank and keep the biological filter alive until you have power again. Feed the fish very, very little, once a day. Float the bio wheel if you want to, but it will re-develop bacteria once it is going again. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-09-13

What is this maximum edge thickness the 200gph filter will hang off of. We are planning to use a plastic tub and the edges are thick so would it be able to fit and hang off of it?

Asked by: just1question
The area under the spillway of the filter is approximately 2.5" wide. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-09-25

I recently bought a used aquarium with a CBW-1 system. it has been used with fresh and salt water previously. should I consider replacing the bio-wheel before I start it?

Asked by: JScott
Hi JScott. We're not familiar with that system. If the bio-wheels are intact and there is no history of disease in the tanks it was used in there is no reason to replace it though.
Answered by: Customer Service
Date published: 2017-09-08

My last bio whell system have a spray bar for bio wheel. I just bought a new aquarium and have the penguin 200 but don't see a spray bar,Also how do you adjust flow rate?

Asked by: Paul62
The Penguin line does not come with spray bars, the Emperor 400 is the only one that does. You can close off the mid-level strainer to adjust it somewhat, but it will not reduce it greatly. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-08-30

Hi! I have a brand new Marineland 29 gallon tank that has been set up for about a week and a half. Everything was working fine but all of a sudden the bio-wheel will not turn. It hasn't even been 12 days. Help!

Asked by: NewFishMom
Make sure your water level is to the top of the tank and has not evaporated down. Lift the intake tube and re-seat it in case some debris has become lodged in it or in the impeller, and as a last resort, remove the intake tube, impeller housing and impeller, in case something got pulled in and is caught, reducing the flow rate of the filter. Please call us with questions or if you cannot resolve this. 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-08-30

On this unit, can I add an additional media container? My Marineland filter has one and I need to replace it. Its about 10 years old and the impeller assembly is shot.

Asked by: shankshot9
The Penguin 100 does not take a media container, no. It has room for two cartridges. Only the Penguins 200 and 350 take the media containers. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-08-29

Just got the penguin 200 won't suck water running and bubbling in the top of filter

Asked by: Joel B
Make sure your water level in the tank is all the way up to the top. Also, pull the intake tube and impeller housing out then re-seat them back into the filter. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-08-23

I have penguin bio wheel 200. After the electric went off in the whole house for like three seconds it won't turn on again. It is plugged into a good power strip. Is there a reset button somewhere powerstrip works for the rest plugged into it. Thanks!

Asked by: Robinleigh
No, you simply need to take it apart and clean your impeller and the inside of the motor. Most likely it is clogged or overdue for a cleaning, which is why it did not re-prime on its own. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-08-23

can it be possible to replace just the motor of a 150 penguin filter ( the part with the cord)

Asked by: nani
No, this is not available separately. However, the impeller is in case that is the actual issue, which is usually the case. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-08-21

I have the 350, and my didn't come with a Spray bar and the chemical filter parts ? 

Asked by: Ramon14
The Penguin 350 does not come with those parts, the Emperor 400 does. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-08-21

I had a tank with a really bad ich infestation, will they linger in the biowheel?

Asked by: C_willie
No. If you just finished dosing though, it is a good idea to come back 7 days later and do one dose to make sure you killed all of the larvae. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-08-17

How do I order the bio-wheel assembly. part PRBW150B AND PRBW2350B

Asked by: wwtwo523
Thanks for asking, wwtwo523. You can order those directly from our website! Just type the item numbers in the search bar, add to your cart, and check out.
Answered by: Customer Service
Date published: 2017-08-08

I just got the biowheel 100 yesterday. Today I noticed it had too much suction. I adjusted the light gray piece on the filter. SNAP. Then... for an hour I tried to get the filter to work. The biowheel doesn't spin now. What is the problem?!

Asked by: Feisty_Unicorn
Well, first, there is no such thing as too much suction. When you closed the lever, you either slowed it down so much it can't pull enough water to turn the bio wheel correctly or you moved the intake tube slightly out of position so it is not operating properly now. Pull the intake tube, impeller housing, and impeller out of the filter box and inspect them. Re-insert them, and make sure the water in the tank is to the top. Call us if you are unable to resolve. 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-08-01

Can I change a Bio wheel 350 from a saltwater filter after being stored for years to a freshwater filter?

Asked by: kidfish
You should be able to by cleaning the parts with white vinegar and rinsing them well. You may need to replace the bio wheels. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-07-28

I am selling my current tank and including the Marineland filter with it. The tank may be in storage for a while. Can the bio-wheel on the filter be stored, or should I just throw it away?

Asked by: SlyLilHuntress
It can be stored, yes. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-07-27

I am upgrading my filter to a marineland emperor 400. Since I will now have two brand new bio wheels how can I expect that to effect my tank? Will there be adverse effects to having new bio wheels over my seasoned one?

Asked by: Angela71
Hi Angela71. To help prevent displacing your beneficial bacteria I suggest running the two filters at the same time or floating the seasoned bio-wheels in the water while the new filter runs. Either option should give the new filter a chance to season.
Answered by: Customer Service
Date published: 2017-07-28

I have Penguin 150 - I recently start to hear the motor noise was getting a bit loud. The filter seems to be working fine. I cleaned all the parts and the air stones are far from intake tubes. It is common to have some bit noise from the filter/motor?

Asked by: Question Lady
Noise occurs for a number of reasons. If this filter is a few years old, the impeller could be wearing out. If you only used water to clean it, try soaking the impeller in distilled white vinegar to remove deposits water cannot remove. Also, take a q tip and vinegar and swab the motor out thoroughly. Make sure there is no sand in the motor or up under the magnet. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-07-18

My bio wheel still isn't turning . I took the impeller out and cleaned everything  The tank is full as well. It only worked for maybe 2 hours and I've had it for 2 weeks now.

Asked by: Rosario
We're sorry to hear the suggested troubleshooting hasn't helped, Rosario. Please give us a call at 1-800-526-0650 for more help.
Answered by: Customer Service
Date published: 2017-07-13

I just purchased a penguin bio wheel 75. As soon as a plus it in, it makes a loud humming sound, but is clearly receiving power. It will not suck up water though. I have taken it apart & put it back together. Am I doing something wrong or is it bad?

Asked by: MereR
Hi Mere! I'm sorry to hear it's not working. I suggest removing the filter cartridge, bio-wheel and other media first. Then fill the back of the filter to prime it. Plug it back in and continue to fill it with water from your take. It may take a minute, but the water should start pumping through normally. If it doesn't, try removing the impeller, cleaning it, then replacing it. We're happy to walk you through this over the phone at 1-800-526-0650.
Answered by: Customer Service
Date published: 2017-07-13
  • y_2018, m_1, d_17, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_572
  • loc_en_US, sid_PF0100B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland
PF0075B - Penguin 75 - 10 gal/75 GPH
PF0100B - Penguin 100 - 20 gal/100 GPH
PF0150B - Penguin 150 - 30 gal/150 GPH
PF0200B - Penguin 200 - 50 gal/200 GPH
PF0350B - Penguin 350 - 75 gal/350 GPH

Penguin Power Filter Manual 75B

Penguin Power Filter Manual Models 100B, 150B, 200B and 350B  

Penguin Quick Set Up Guide Models 100B, 150B, 200B and 350B 

 

 

Product

Certified Flow Rate

Aquarium Size

Rite Size Media

Penguin 75B

75 GPH

up to 10 gallons

A

Penguin 100B

100 GPH

up to 20 gallons

A

Penguin 150B

150 GPH

up to 30 gallons

B

Penguin 200B

200 GPH

up to 50 gallons

C

Penguin 350B

350 GPH

up to 75 gallons

C

Penguin & Emperor Cartridge Dimensions

Replacement Parts