Penguin® Power Filters

Product No. PF0100B
Find a Store In Stock

All Penguin® BIO-Wheel® Power Filters deliver easy, three-stage mechanical, chemical and biological aquarium filtration.

Convenient Penguin Rite-SizeTM Filter Cartridges come ready to use with each filter...ready to mechanically and chemically remove waste, discoloration and odors. Each contains new faster-acting Black Diamond® Premium Activated Carbon for maximum efficiency. Biological filtration is provided by the revolutionary and patented BIO-Wheel - proven best at removing toxic ammonia and nitrite.

All BIO-Wheel filters feature Noise-Reducing Two-Piece Vented Covers, and Adjustable Mid-Level Intake Strainers.

The Penguin® 75 BIO-Wheel® Power Filter brings Penguin's 3-stage filtration technology to aquariums up to 10 gallons. The 75 is ideal for new aquariums as well as establish tanks in need of an upgrade.

Penguin® Power Filters is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 169.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Waaaaaay Too Loud At first the Bio Wheel was the item making the most noise, a scraping sound similar to when a fountain is low on water. I know it was the Bio Wheel because when I removed the wheel most of the noise stopped. The remaining noise was from the impeller that pumps the water. Over the past few days, the Bio Wheel is making a little less noise but the impeller has gotten louder. I've tried reseating the impeller and making sure the assembly was snug in its seat but it didn't help. The 'splash guard' over the Bio Wheel simply amplifies the noises. My old Penguin didn't make as much noise but somewhere down the line, the engineers or accountants lost sight of the customer's needs. The system does keep the tank clear but the noise can be heard (barely but heard) in the next room.
Date published: 2016-04-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor power filtering I live in an area where brownouts are common. I am now on my fourth filter in just over a year. It appears not a surge issue since the brand new surge protectors did not trip when the brownout occurred. This would most likely mean there is little to no protection filtering on the power input to the motor, of the pump, allowing for switching transients to damage the electronics. While I have otherwise been pleased with the performance of the filters, please resolve this issue so that I do not have to replace it 2-4 times a year, or look for more durable filter.
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Instantly broken I got the Penguin 350 a month or so ago and it now makes this insanely loud noise when its on and after a few minutes of doing that it just shuts off. I bought this filter because it was affordable for my price range and the reviews were good. I had it running for about 2 days then it started with its loud noise. I think it is the Impeller rubbing but not entirely sure. If there is anything I am doing wrong can you tell me because I set it up like the instructions given with the product and just plugged it in.
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great filter for the price. I purchased this filter because I found it on amazon for cheap and it had pretty decent reviews. I have to say I'm not disappointed. I originally had it on my 30 gallon tank to over filter due to the amount of stock I had. I ended up upgrading tanks to a 65 gallon still using the same filter. I'm impressed. even though at this point this is putting this close to it's max tank load it is preforming very well. Crystal clear water.My only complaint it that is a little noisier that some hob filters I've used.Great product and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone.
Date published: 2016-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bio Wheels I bought my penguin 350 about 5 years ago best filter ever I just recently bought a emperor 400 to replace it and to be honest thinking about going back to my penguin 350 I'm having a lot a problems with the 400s intake tube
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Was quiet at first... gradually getting louder 350B - was quiet at first... gradually getting louder, but I don't think it's worth the money to replace the impeller for this filter because it doesn't do any better of a job reducing NH3 NO3/NO2 than the much quieter canister filter I have on another tank. It was packed up for about a year and I can't find the bio wheels, which I also think are a bit too expensive considering I don't think they do much. Cartridges are easy to replace but expensive. Flow rate continues to be good. I will continue to use it until I run out of the filter cartridges then maybe sell it for $10. I would consider buying another Marineland filter because many people have had good luck with them, if it is on sale for a deep discount.
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Satisfied I own a small penguin 75 for my 10gal,it did am amazing job. So I bought the 200 penguin here recently and it's doing a beautiful job. Keeps my tanks clean and cycled.
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Penguin Power Filter 350 I decided on this filter because all of the noise complaints on the 400, but guess what, I set it up, and the impeller is so loud I can hear it 3 rooms away! I'm not happy with this, it is actually so loud I can barely hear the water trickle that I really do like about this line of filters!
Date published: 2016-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Penguin Bio Wheel 350 I don't normally write reviews, but I felt it necessary to do one on this awesome Product. I purchased one and installed it on my slightly over stocked 20 gal fresh water tank. I did some modifications on the filter. I placed the two 'C' filters on one side of the filter, and in the other side, I put in a foam filter from a different company. On top of the foam, I added a bag of charcoal, and some filter glass wool. The gravel was dirty, so I stirred it up. The combination I used cleared to tank with in 45 minutes. I added some Spira Bio to start the biological filtration since it was a new filter. I checked the Ammonia, Nitrates, and Nitrites after two days. The count for all three were '0'. I am extremely happy with this filter and would recommend it to everyone!! PS..NO NOISE from the filter.
Date published: 2016-02-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Penguin 350 Great filter. Easy to maintain BUT, once the impeller begins to rattle, the cost to replace it , including shipping, was $10 less than buying a whole new filter. That did not impress me! Good but disposable I guess. I will compare other brands next time.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great filter I got my filter and it was very easy to set up and install. It was pretty loud at first but I took the impeller out and rinsed it off and put it back in and now I can barely hear it running. My water is very clean and clear and it seems to be doing a great job. Overall a very good filter
Date published: 2016-01-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from penguin 350 It does the job of filtering ok for an HOB however I had to heavily modify this thing to make it quiet. This is the most noisy HOB I have ever used in terms of water noise. The design is deeply flawed. There are water chanel s on either side of the intake tube that make excessively loud water trickling sounds. I can hear it over my tv and it keeps me up at night. After I finaly figured out what was making all the water noise I had to stuff filter pad over the chanel and finally all I can hear is a light hum of the pump. So ad often as I have to do water and filter changes I will have to redo the filter mufflers and will be sure to tire of it quickly just to keep this thing quiet, I'll be sure to get sick of it and either go with a Fluval canister or Fluval HOB. I will never reccomend this filter or ever buy another one again.
Date published: 2015-12-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Never lasted longer than a month Tried the Penguin 100 on my 20L tank. First one never worked, second lasted about a month and then proceeded to just stop working and my third try gave out on me in about two weeks. While the filtration when working was excellent, I have never had so much of an issue with my filter's lifespan. I spoke with others on a facebook group I am in and the majority had experienced the same issue.
Date published: 2015-12-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from comparatively noisy, works pretty well in a different room with closed door. I bought a used 300 when I returned to aquariums from outdoor ponds. The biowheels were missing and the impeller shaft was quite worn and allowed the magnet spindle to bang around, but it was dirt cheap and worked well enough in conjunction with the under gravel system to keep the tank clean. When I decided to set up a second tank I bought a 200 and a 100. Both have covers that ratled from day one. The front covers over the wheels barely hang on and are frequently jostled off their mount points. Still, they also a decent job of keeping the tanks clean and the ammonia in check. After a few months it dawned on me that they were getting louder and I was hearing that mag spindle banging around in both. Sure enough both stainless shafts were worn, and it isn't due to gravel. Both tanks have 1/4 to 3/8 gravel, washed and sieved so that isn't getting in the moving parts on either pump.I've now switched to under tank cannisters.
Date published: 2015-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from filter 200 filter200, I have one for over 2 years now, completely satisfied.
Date published: 2015-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fresh Water Filtration I have been an apprentice to my friend who's shown me the ways of making an aquarium thrive. My dear friend, Matthew Wiener, has been doing aquarium business for over 20 years and has since been extremely impressed with my success. He pointed me towards all the right products and I have to say I use all MarineLand Penguin Power filters for ALL OF MY TANKS i use the 100, two 150's, and two 200's in my assorted tanks. Im very satisfied with your products and will continue using them.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is queit and reliable! They back their product 100%! I bought a Penguin 350 Bio-Wheel. I have bought about a dozen Marineland Filters and have only had one issue. The issue was with a defective impeller. The pet store said I was out of luck since I could not find my receipt. I sent an email to Marineland customer service asking for help. The very next day I received an email from them. They are sending me a replacement impeller free of charge! I couldn't believe how helpful they were with my problem, and they responded so fast. This is why I always have and will continue to recommend this brand! Not only are the products easy to use and reliable, they back their products and will resolve any problems you may have. Thanks MarineLand. I am another very satisfied customer. I strongly suggest anyone looking for a quality aquatic filter to give this brand a try. There is no way you could regret it.
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from issue with pump I set the 200 series up and it worked great. Then one day I added some more substrate to my tank. Halfway through adding the new substrate the gear mechanism started to make a strange noise at random intervals. I turned it off and checked the assembly to see that nothing had somehow become lodged within the impeller mechanism. I plugged it back in and after reassembling the unit and it continued to make the noise for a few more minutes. Then it shut off completely and I have yet to be able to revive it. I am curious if anyone else has ever experienced this and if so what did you do to get it to work again?
Date published: 2015-09-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Noisy I bought the 350 model, and I set it up the way it explained on the pamphlet and it worked great for the first few days, Then it got really noisy and I couldn't make it stop. Will be returning it today and buying something else. Very disappointed as this is a good brand.
Date published: 2015-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from this filter works great when it works ive had two of these filter in the last 3 weeks and they just start to make a grinding noise
Date published: 2015-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best HOB Filter I Have Ever Used! Excellent Customer Service. I have been an aquarium enthusiast for more than 30 years and the Penguin is the best HOB filter I have ever had. The Bio-Wheel offers the best biological filtration by providing the ability for both beneficial bacteria to grow on its surfaces, helping to lessen nitrate as well as ammonia and nitrite. Customer service is excellent as well. One of the rubber tips on my impeller stretched over a year's time and was not fitting properly. I contacted customer support to see if I could purchase just the tips and Laura Bradley contacted me in just a few days with an offer to mail me a new impeller at no cost. I am planning on setting up a larger tank ASAP (I really miss having a tank bigger than 20 gallons in the house) and have every intention of trying one of the Emperor HOB filters with it. I have been a fan of Marineland for many years and the Bio-Wheel technology ensures I will remain a fan for a long time; the customer service just sweetens the pot. :-)
Date published: 2015-08-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Loudest filter I have ever owned, regardless of the water level. I am sitting here months after purchasing this product listening to it splash water. How I've been able to maintain my sanity perplexes even me, as my aquarium is in my bedroom. From the moment I took it out of the box it was loud, but please keep in mind this is after I had to exchange it twice due to mechanical noise. When I heard no mechanical noise from this one I was thrilled, the splashing I chalked up to the biowheel not being broken in. Days passed, weeks passed, months passed, and it still makes significant splashing sounds. I purchased the 200 model because we have a 150 on the aquarium in the living room and it's very quiet, but sadly the 200 has done little more than grate on my nerves. I've adjusted the water level countless times to no avail, sure it provides adequate biological filtration, but I have no reason to believe that it is performing any better than any other (quieter) filter in existence. Early on I tried contacting the company, they assured me it was due to the biowheel not being broken in yet, confirming my suspicions. Sorry guys, I'm pretty sure it should be broken in by now. I'm just going to live with it this way and hope the splashing becomes comforting white noise. I would not recommend this filter. I feel kind of stupid for giving it as many chances as I did.
Date published: 2015-08-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Noisy Very noisy . Its not the waterflow but mechanical noise almost like a grinding i have tried playing with the intake tube to completely removing the propellar to make sure it was sitting in correctly. Nothing has helped. Unsure if im going to keep it or return it. It filters the water terrific would be a great product if not for the noise.
Date published: 2015-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from does work! The Marineland filters work very well. I run my 55g saltwater with 2 emperor 400s. They do work! I have a Penguin 150 on my 2.5g pico reef tank. not only does it provide great filtration, it provides a lot of circulation in both tanks.The bio-wheels have never been an issue. The emperor spray bar needs to be cleaned about once per month to avoid clogging (old toothbrush works without disassembling it). and I have never seen my Penguin 150 stop.Noise is not really an issue. If the filter starts making some noise, its the impeller. Just tap on the intake siphon or wiggle it, and the noise goes away every time. I have only had to do that a couple times. Very quiet operation. I sleep with this thing running in my bedroom (6 feet from my head) and I am a very light sleeper.The back of these filters is great for many things. Not sure how much Marineland endorses modifying their product, so I won't go into detail. Suffice it to say that these filters are very versatile!I will recommend Marineland filters to anyone. My only advice is to use a filter that is at least twice the rated capacity. For example, if the Penguin 150 says it can work for 20 gallons, just ignore that. Get a Penguin 350 or an Emperor 400 for 20 gallons. Seriously. Its hard to over-filter a tank, but under-filtering is very easy.I made my friend buy a Marineland 20g kit. Awsome! Comes with a Penguin 150. That didn't cut the mustard. Put my spare Eperor 400 on it (yes, I have 3 Emperor 400s. and 2 Penguin 150s). Her freshwater tank is now very well circulated and the fish are much more active. (they seem happy, but freshwater fish are a bit harder to read)Just in case you missed that: GET FILTRATION AT LEAST TWICE THE ADVERTISED CAPACITY!!!!!Cant beat this value though. Great filters, low cost
Date published: 2015-05-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Noise, noise noise! I have 2 of the 350. I'll never buy Penguin again. I had Penguin almost 20yrs ago and it was awesome. What happened? I had a penguin almost 20 years ago that lasted for at least 10 years and it was fantastic. With the 2 that I have now it's nothing but trouble. Every time I shut them off to clean the tanks I fear they won't start again and they never do without me having to keep messing with it. Today the filter chewed the little rubber end off the empeller! I'll never buy another penguin. I want the company to succeed but you've got to change something.
Date published: 2015-05-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Penguin 200 is very noisy I've had a penguin 125 for many years, it runs quietly and works great. I currently use it as a secondary filter on my 29 gallon freshwater aquarium. My primary filter was a penguin 150 that became very noisy over the years and started making loud clicking sounds. I decided to replace it with a penguin 200 filter which I just installed a few days ago. The new filter makes even more motor noise than the last one. I will be taking it back to the store and purchasing a different filter.
Date published: 2015-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMGoodness! I have a 55 gallon tank and use a 75 gallon Penguin filter. I'm on my 4th tank and refuse to use any other filter. There quite and reasonable priced. I do understand the trickling sound, but that comes from not having enough water in the tank. Once you refill the tank you don't hear it anymore. That's not really a big deal, it's part of the weekly maintenance. I'm upgrading my tank soon so i know I have to purchase a new filtration system ..
Date published: 2015-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I would not want another...... I have tried many including National Geographic. I have in the tank but not sure what it does other than bubble. ALL my tanks have two of these power filters. They have helped me to have balanced water and healthy fish. What more could you want for your investment! I am happy with my purchases. I am sutre you would be too.
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use and works great I used a Penguin to filter a smaller aquarium and it work very well. The bio wheel helps keep the water oxygenated and clear. Easy to use and Easy to clean.
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from this product is awful worst filter ever.bought two and both horribly loud.never get this product because you will be very disappointed with it.
Date published: 2015-02-01
  • y_2018, m_4, d_24, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_169
  • loc_en_US, sid_PF0100B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland

We just got a penguin 150 to use for a turtle tank but we can't have the tank that full of water will this work for us or not

Asked by: Lee t
The tank should be 3/4 of the way full for an aquatic turtle, and this will not be high enough for this filter, so no, it would not work for you. We would recommend the Magniflow 160 instead. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-30

What is the mid-level intake on the filter tube for? In what position should the lever be in? Does it make any difference?

Asked by: thecaptain
It increases and decrease the flow rate. Open increases it, closed decreases it. I leave it open all the time in my tanks, but it depends on your tank, and its needs. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-17

Which way is the lever on the filter tube supposed to be? Up, down or in the middle for ultimate suction? Lost the instructions.

Asked by: BobT
That is personal preference. It increases the flow rate when open, and decreases it when closed. I simply remove mine so it is fully open all the time, some people close it when feeding. Every tank and tank owner has different needs, there is no right or wrong. Instructions are available on the product page on our site. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-29

I have 2 Fish Tanks. 1 is a 5 Gallon and the other a 10 Gallon. The smaller 5 Gallon tanks filter cartridge was a rusty red color. What is that and is it dangerous ? Even after rinsing it under sink water it's still kinda red.

Asked by: Jay1973
Could mean you have iron in the water, but I would expect both tank filters to appear red. So it may be that you are over feeding the 5 gallon tank. Feed one piece of food per inch of fish, twice a day. Another possibility, but not likely is cyanobacteria. That usually grows throughout the tank though. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-21

I was just given a 30 gal tank with a penguin 200 that's been sitting in a garage for 2 years. Do I need to replace the bio wheel? Other than rinsing out the filter, is there anything else I should take apart to clean?

Asked by: Faithsa
We would recommend taking the entire filter apart and cleaning it with hot water and a bit of white vinegar. The bio wheels should be fine, as long as they will spin once you have it installed. If not, then you will need new ones, or are missing the bearings. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-20

I have a penguin 150. Why are there slots for 2 filter cartridges and when would I need two?

Asked by: Karen M
So you can customize your filter to meet your needs. All of our filters have this option. It allows you to replace one cartridge at a time, leaving more beneficial bacteria in the filter and also, if you are having water clarity issues, you have space to add another cartridge or some other form of media to help out temporarily. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-15

What is the water level supposed to be ?

Asked by: Happy
It should be to the bottom of the top frame of the tank, or at the very least an inch or so above the mid-level strainer. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-13

I have a brand new 38gallon Marineland tank and the filter stopped working..I went and got a replacement and same thing, stopped working. What could be the problem?

Asked by: Mosheree
Have you checked either impeller to see if something got caught in it? This is the #1 cause of a filter stopping. Pull our your intake tube, impeller housing and impeller, inspect the parts and clean out the well of the motor at the bottom of the filter box too. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-24

led fish lights and my bio wheels, good or bad?

Asked by: cheezhead96
Doesn't matter at all. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-13

Are my LED fish lights shining on my exposed bio wheel good or bad?

Asked by: cheezhead96
Neither, they won't affect the bio wheel. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-13

If I extend the lift tube on my 350, will it still pull the water up?

Asked by: Chiplite
Yes just make sure that you have it above your substrate
Answered by: Treeman
Date published: 2017-11-11

I have the 100 series, I just unplugged it to change the filter, and clean the tube, now it won't work absolutely nothing. What could be wrong?

Asked by: Taylornadine05
Your filter box, the motor and/or the impeller are all dirty/clogged. Take it completely apart to clean it. Call 1-800-322-1266 if you need additional help. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-07

Can this be used with my Marineland 6 gallon pillar tank? Thank you

Asked by: Cinrod28
It will not wire into the tank, but the filter that comes with the Pillar is this one, modified, so it will sit on the back of the tank, yes. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-01

Why are there no instructions for the Penguin 75 inside the box or on this website?

Asked by: Hyoung
If you actually read the manual, there are no "instructions" just Trouble Shooting Guidelines and Safety Instructions. I bought one box with the "manual" but no instructions and returned it, bought another one with the "manual" but no instructions. Finally figured out by your online video the blue side faces away from the pump. And you have to prime the pump with water.
Answered by: Hyoung
Date published: 2017-10-30

Will thus pump work for a 30 gallon saltwater tank

Asked by: Bill300zx
No, it is rated for a 10 gallon only, you would need the Penguin 200 along with a protein skimmer. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-30

I just set up 10 gallon tank and the bio-wheel penguin 75 is making a noise, not spashing water & is very annoying- is this normal?  My last pump made no noise at all.

Asked by: Dg1252
No, it should be quiet. Have you removed the intake tube, impeller housing and impeller then re-seated them? I would do this, and inspect the parts to make sure they are not damaged. The impeller may be pushed too far up into the housing so pull it out, and re-insert it too. Call 1-800-322-1266 if you need more help. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-26

Bio Wheel not spinning fast like initially. Water seems to be flowing good. In fact it almost seems the water is backing up. Replaced filter even though it looked clean. Last replaced 6 days ago. Just replaced again and still not spinning.

Asked by: Rickyk
You need to take the filter apart and clean the parts of it. You probably have a dirty impeller or debris in the motor. Or the intake tube has debris in it. The filter is backing up because of this so the flow is not powerful enough to move the bio wheel. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-25

I have a 5 gallon tank, and the filter that came with it wasn't so great. So I upgraded to the 100 ( it was the smaller in the store) I didnt realize there was a 75. Will the 100 be ok or to powerful?

Asked by: Chey80leigh
Depends on the types of fish, but probably too powerful since it can handle a 20 gallon tank. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-20

will this filter add enough oxygen to the water to eliminate the use of an air stone

Asked by: scottmo24
Yes, unless you are overstocked or do not do water changes regularly. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-18

What is the wattage rateing for the penguin 350. Im trying to calculate how much it cost and how much power im useing per month and per hour.

Asked by: 1234567890
20.4 watts, 120 v, .17 a BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-17

I have a eclipse 1 wet-dry filter system my question is can I replace the impeller of a different size in order to get a better flow across filter media and bio-wheel?

Asked by: joebess
No, the impellers are system specific. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-13

How much power do these use? I have a 200 and a 350. Not sure why it is not listed on the box...

Asked by: Eric C
It is actually listed on the motors of the filters.... They both use 20.4 watts, 120 v, .17 a. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

When u purchase the bio wheel 200 new dies it come with the bio wheel?

Asked by: KaydenBS
Yes, it comes with the bio wheel and your first cartridge. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

Got a new 350 filter and with in 3 months, it started making noise and doesn't pump water continuously. It stops pumping in between so frequently. Any idea ?

Asked by: Bharath
It most likely has some debris caught somewhere. Remove it from the tank, take out the intake tube, impeller housing, and impeller, and clean each part. Also clean out the well of the motor in the bottom of the filter box. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

Have my Marineland filter for about 10 years now, when do we need to replace it? Or do I ever need to replace it?

Asked by: Angel M
If it is working well, there is never a need to replace it. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

My filtration system lessens pretty rapidly due to slimy algae buildup in the tube and impeller. I have to clean it out about once a month. The bio wheel stops turning and develops a white crust. Probably minerals. Is this detrimental to the bio wheel?

Asked by: Tdavis4
Sounds like you need some help with the tank in general. Yes, if it is not spinning, it can be a problem for the bio wheel as a lot of the bacteria could die off, if left out in the air to just dry up. Are you doing monthly water changes? The white crust sounds like hard water or it could be a water mold. We would recommend either switching to bottled natural spring water if the tank is small, or if larger, then you might want to invest in a purifier for the faucet or a RO unit. If so, have a supplement to add minerals/trace elements back into the water when you do water changes. Another option would be adding peat to the filter or a water softener pillow. We could be more specific in our help if we had more info on the tank. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

I would like to construct a lift tube extension for my Penguin 100 filter (This is the round lift tube, like the old 75, not the rectangular style). What tubing dimensions will I need to slip-over the OEM lift tube?

Asked by: DJ Saberniak Jr
We have not made a round intake tube in 20+ years and do not have specs for such. The Penguin 100 has always had a square tube, but our old Mini and 99 had rounded ones. We recommend taking the intake tube with you to a DIY hardware store and matching up the tubing with it. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

 I found two buckets of fish and an aquarium in the parking lot. The penguin water thingy doesn't make any noise when plugged in.  Where's the fuse? It's big, has two filters that rotate. 

Asked by: one666mom
Wow, poor fish! Pull the intake tube up and out of the filter body, then reach in and pull up the piece the tube came out of, the impeller housing. You may need to clean out the entire filter system. If you see hard water deposits, use white vinegar. Instructions for the Penguin 350, which you have, are on our site: http://www.marineland.com/Products/aquarium-filters-and-protein-skimmers/penguin-bio-wheel-filter-saltwater-filter-freshwater-filter.aspx BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

After my power went out during Hurricane Harvey, I cleaned my filter and tube And re -plugged in the pump.  The impeller noise is horrific-  It is so loud! I have had this pump for several years and it has never been this loud.  Any ideas ?

Asked by: Lake girl
Make sure you primed it with water. Also, take a q tip or corner of a paper towel with some vinegar and clean out the motor region. Soak the impeller in white vinegar. You may have some deposits that are causing the impeller to rub something. Another possibility could be that it received damage from the power coming back on. We do sell replacement impellers, so you may need to replace it. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

How often to change the actual filter cartrage on filter once a month?

Asked by: Shownuff
Typically, once a month, but it will depend on your stocking level, how much you feed, and so forth. Sometimes it may be 2-3 weeks. In some cases, you can go longer than 4 weeks, but 4 is a good average. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12
  • y_2018, m_4, d_24, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_624
  • loc_en_US, sid_PF0100B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland
PF0075B - Penguin 75 - 10 gal/75 GPH
PF0100B - Penguin 100 - 20 gal/100 GPH
PF0150B - Penguin 150 - 30 gal/150 GPH
PF0200B - Penguin 200 - 50 gal/200 GPH
PF0350B - Penguin 350 - 75 gal/350 GPH

Penguin Power Filter Manual 75B

Penguin Power Filter Manual Models 100B, 150B, 200B and 350B  

Penguin Quick Set Up Guide Models 100B, 150B, 200B and 350B 

 

 

Product

Certified Flow Rate

Aquarium Size

Rite Size Media

Penguin 75B

75 GPH

up to 10 gallons

A

Penguin 100B

100 GPH

up to 20 gallons

A

Penguin 150B

150 GPH

up to 30 gallons

B

Penguin 200B

200 GPH

up to 50 gallons

C

Penguin 350B

350 GPH

up to 75 gallons

C

Penguin & Emperor Cartridge Dimensions

Replacement Parts