Penguin® Power Filters

Product No. PF0100B
Find a Store In Stock

All Penguin® BIO-Wheel® Power Filters deliver easy, three-stage mechanical, chemical and biological aquarium filtration.

Convenient Penguin Rite-SizeTM Filter Cartridges come ready to use with each filter...ready to mechanically and chemically remove waste, discoloration and odors. Each contains new faster-acting Black Diamond® Premium Activated Carbon for maximum efficiency. Biological filtration is provided by the revolutionary and patented BIO-Wheel - proven best at removing toxic ammonia and nitrite.

All BIO-Wheel filters feature Noise-Reducing Two-Piece Vented Covers, and Adjustable Mid-Level Intake Strainers.

The Penguin® 75 BIO-Wheel® Power Filter brings Penguin's 3-stage filtration technology to aquariums up to 10 gallons. The 75 is ideal for new aquariums as well as establish tanks in need of an upgrade.

Penguin® Power Filters is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 173.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMGoodness! I have a 55 gallon tank and use a 75 gallon Penguin filter. I'm on my 4th tank and refuse to use any other filter. There quite and reasonable priced. I do understand the trickling sound, but that comes from not having enough water in the tank. Once you refill the tank you don't hear it anymore. That's not really a big deal, it's part of the weekly maintenance. I'm upgrading my tank soon so i know I have to purchase a new filtration system ..
Date published: 2015-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I would not want another...... I have tried many including National Geographic. I have in the tank but not sure what it does other than bubble. ALL my tanks have two of these power filters. They have helped me to have balanced water and healthy fish. What more could you want for your investment! I am happy with my purchases. I am sutre you would be too.
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use and works great I used a Penguin to filter a smaller aquarium and it work very well. The bio wheel helps keep the water oxygenated and clear. Easy to use and Easy to clean.
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from this product is awful worst filter ever.bought two and both horribly loud.never get this product because you will be very disappointed with it.
Date published: 2015-02-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from i think they are junk This will make my third one in a single month.. They have made awful sounds and slow stop pumping water and eventually quit
Date published: 2015-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Description of Penguin 350 Filter I just received my Penguin 350 and hooked it up, and it runs great. It is quiet, which is amazing considering the large rate of water that flows through this filter. I wanted to let everyone know a little bit about this pump, since I couldn't find out too many details before I bought it. First of all, there are two filtration chambers, one on the left and one on the right. Each filter element consists of two squares of fibrous plastic material with what feels like activated carbon in between. They tell you to rinse them before installation, but very little dirt washes out when you do this.They recommend changing them every 2 weeks. Next, there is a single intake, which is a long tube that enters the impeller inlet in the center of the unit. The unit is self-priming: you just pour water into the filter box and turn it on; the impeller draws the air out of the inlet tube and starts the siphon automatically. From the center of the unit, the impeller pumps water into the left and right chambers, where it passes through a filter element and then spills under a "bio-wheel." Each bio-wheel is an inert, stiff plastic, corrugated cylinder, which forms a substrate for the growth of beneficial bacteria for removing certain metabolic by-products. The wheels spin fast and silently. The directions say that if too much bio-mass builds up, to rinse the excess off in chlorine-free water, but that they should never need to be replaced. After passing under/past a bio-wheel, the water descends down a chute on the inside of your aquarium. At the bottom of each chute, the water is deflected so that it mostly skims across the surface of the aquarium, away from the filter. This way, even though there is a strong flow, it doesn't produce a powerful current that the fish need to fight. The inlet tube also includes a mid-level intake, which is a set of holes a few inches below the top of the water that can be uncovered with a valve, to allow some of the water to enter from an upper level. If the valve is closed, all of the water is drawn into the filter from the bottom of the tube, which has a large strainer. Hope this helps! (And, yes, I am an engineer -- and proud of it!)
Date published: 2015-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like this product. Good filter, long lasting, easy to clean, cleans the water very efficiently.
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Penguin 350 My only complaint with this filter system is the grinding noise from the impeller. I've taken the thing apart, rinsed, flushed etc. and it still makes the noise. The only way to get it to stop is by pulling the filter tube housing up some - this in turn slows down the filter flow going back into the tank. I'm very frustrated.
Date published: 2015-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hang on the back filters on the market! I have two Penguin 100 filters for a year and they are great! The water is always clear and I always get comments on how clear my water is from other aquarists. The only issue is, since one of these tanks is in my bedroom, if the water drops too low, there is a huge splashing noise. To combat this noise, weekly water changes keep my tank quiet.
Date published: 2015-01-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality Filter came in.my 123 dollar aquarium.kit.. worked poorly for.an hour and quit. Never cleared my water..Many complaints with this system
Date published: 2014-12-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Quality with this product is inconsistant I'm currently very frustrated with my Penguin BIO-Wheel filter. I purchased a new 25 gallon tank about a month and a half ago and the Bio-Wheel 150 was included with the tank. Initially I was extremely impressed with this filter--the noise level was almost entirely silent, the option for two filter cartridges is very helpful for my goldfish, and the Bio-Wheel itself is great to have. Unfortunately, within 2 weeks of installing the filter it became quite noisy and began to sputter intermittently. I've tried everything I can think of--my water level is as high as it can be and has stayed that way since I first filled my tank. I thought maybe the aquarium sand in my tank had clogged the motor somehow, so I disassembled the machine very gently, rinsed everything off and re-installed it with no luck re-gaining my quiet filter. Today the filter is not even functioning at all. I don't know if I dislodged something important when I was cleaning it, or if my specific filter happens to be faulty, or what. But I'm so sad that something which ought to have lasted me years with the proper treatment has become dysfunctional after such a painfully short amount of time. Now I have to decide whether to trust this company and product again and hope I actually receive the quality that I'm paying for.
Date published: 2014-12-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very noisy filters I purchased the Penguin 350 and 200 filters for my 60 gallon aquarium. Both of these filters are ridiculously loud, at night I can hear them from my bedroom, which is very annoying. I have replaced the impellers on both of the filters to see if that would solve the problem, but it did not. These are expensive filters and they are not worth the money, the much cheaper Top Fin filters that I have on my other aquarium are much much quieter. Also, the filters are not very compatible with the Marineand aquarium that I bought. The filter housing covering the Bio Wheels is jammed up against the light housing which has to be resolved by lifting the light housing off of its mount just to turn it off or on.
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Recommendation I like the system thus far it is efficient, quiet and easy to maintain.
Date published: 2014-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from BEST FILTER I HAVE EVER USED!!!!!!!! It is great filter and it keeps my tank clean for months but it's pretty noisy but it's fine with me because it's not in my room great filter I would recommend it for any tanks between 30-55
Date published: 2014-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from After 10 years the impeller has finally started to rattle I have had a 350 on my tank for ten years and it has started to make a rattleing noise. Inspecting the impeller shows the housing the shaft goes through is worn. I don't think you can get much better than that. I'm going to replace the impeller and keep my 350.
Date published: 2014-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Filter! I bought the 100B filter for my 10 gallon aquarium. In a short time of installing it my tank was more clear than it ever has! No problems with noise. The only problem I had was the intake tube was too long. I just cut the extension tube to shorten it. No big deal. Next year I will be purchasing the 37 gallon Marineland kit as I love Matineland Products!
Date published: 2014-08-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Product Failed Customer Service No Answer I bought the Penguin 200 about 2 to 3 weeks ago. Did a water change filled the tank and filter and nothing. Unplugged the filter waited 5min plugged it back in and again nothing. I took the filter off the tank and inspected everything to which nothing seems wrong, except it wont turn on. I sent an email to Marineland explaining the situation and received no reply. This is a shame as I personally have always had great success using Marineland products while others advise not to. I now see why. Guess i will be buying a non Marineland LED for my tank. Sorry to say.
Date published: 2014-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Silent filter! When I bought my Marineland 55 gallon starter kit I got the 350 and it is very quiet compared to other filters I have had I also have a 200 and it is silent also!
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gets the job done. This filter pumps out water a lot, has decent filter cartridges, has the amazing biowheel, has a handy mid-level intake strainer, and can reach down far with the extension tube. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because it is also a very noisy filter, so I don't recommend putting it in a tartan that is in your bedroom, but I do recommend it in general.
Date published: 2014-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING filter for my 20 gallon!! This filter works great for my 20 gallon. I have the Penguin 150 and my water is CONSTANTLY crystal clear! I've never had problems with it and it's been lasting me for almost 5 years now! Very good product! I would DEFINATELY recommend this to a friend!
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extermely noisy I just bought a penguin 100 and this filter just started to vibrate, I checked the impeller but the whole thing is in the right place and clean. I really waste my money in this fancy filter.
Date published: 2014-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from These things are hit & miss NOW So this is my my second penguin 350. My first was thru amazon Seems to be operating fine. This one through pet smart in store. (was bought for me) This particular one runs to loud & i don't know why. To my eyes nothings bent, magnet surface is smooth. Propeller seated as well. Its like an obnoxious hum & buzz.. huh I like the idea of these things. but it would be nice if they weren't so dang loud. Lets see how good you guys customer service is.
Date published: 2014-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING FILTERS I own 2 of these...one for a 20 gallon tropical tank and a 10 gallon African Cichlid fry tank...keeps water crystal clear...added a pack of bio stones to the fry filter and only have to clean every 6 weeks...WOULD DEFINATELY RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE...CAN'T WAIT TO TRY THE PENGUIN 350 WHEN WE GET OUR NEW 60 GALLON FOR OUR CICHLIDS!!!!
Date published: 2014-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product does its job I wrote a previous review for the filter media, but it probably belongs here lol Anyways, the filter is really good. I'm impressed with it and have tried other filters and was not satisfied. While it might be more expensive then other filters, it's def worth the money. It makes my 10 gal look super clean. And the bio wheel is really a big help b/c that means i won't have to add any beneficial bacterial supplement ever again. Will warn you though, bio wheel may stop spinning but thats fine because water still runs threw the bacterial supplement that is on the bio wheel. You can replace if you want but it would be a waste of money and there wouldn't be any supplement on the new bio wheel.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ok, a bit noisy Daughter bought a Marineland 20 gallon starter kit. Very nice kit for the money. But the impeller is a bit noisy. It was set up today we will wait a and see for a week if the noise goes away.
Date published: 2014-03-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good filter, but SO LOUD I don't know how the people in other reviews got lucky enough to not have noisy filters, but I nearly cried for the first 24 hours I had my 100. You could hear the thing across my house, on a different floor! I looked up the problem online and found many other people with a similar problem and found that some were able to solve the issue by lubricating the inpellar with Stress Coat and making sure to place it back into its place completely straight. I did this with no luck. Thank goodness my father is incredibly handy and was able to use a thin razor blade to shave off a teeny tiny bit around where the inpellar is inserted so that it could no longer hit the sides as it spins. This fixed the problem, but I don't think I should have to do minor surgery to make a filter run without excessive noise, voiding the warranty in the process. I'm happy with how the filter runs now, but my goodness, I don't think I'll ever purchase this filter again.
Date published: 2014-03-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from penguin 200 Not pleased at ALL. I purchased on for my 30 gallon tank and followed instructions to a T and when I went to plug it in , nothing happened and itssmelled burnt so I returned it for an exact product and the impeller on that one would run for 30-45 mins and then shut off , I'd have to adjust it and it would kick back on. Today I purchaseed a new tetra brand filter and would like my money back for this penguin filter.
Date published: 2014-02-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bio- Wheel Stinks I have a penguin 200 power filter. I have had it about 6-7 months. I had just a standered filter before. But I wanted to get something I thought would keep my tank cleaner. I liked the double filter cartridge system it offered and thought the bio wheel would be a big improvement. I change the cartridges about every 2 months and by themselves does a good job keeping my tank clean. The cost at my local Petsmart is about $10 for a 3 pack. But the bio-wheel is a joke. It worked the first month I had the filter then quit. Then after about a month just setting there it started working again for about a week. I went to my local pet store to try and get a replacement. But they said Marineland did not sell replacements due to patent rightsor something to that effect. So it just sets in the power filter doing nothing. It will spin for about a minute if I start it by hand. It has set not working for about 4 1/2 - 5 months. So if your looking for a bio filter look at something else. I believe this one is a waste of good money.
Date published: 2014-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Impeller worn out Two years ago I purchased a Penguin 350B HOB power filter. The filter has worked flawlessly until about two months ago. At that time the impeller began to make a rattling noise. After receiving a new impeller I carefully examined the new and old impeller. While holding each impeller by the two rubber bushings in one hand and spinning the impeller with the other hand I could definitely feel a slight wobble in the old impeller while the new one spun very smoothly. I carefully examined the metal shaft of the old impeller with a micrometer. There was no apparent wear in the shaft therefore obviously the plastic piece which contains the magnet and fins had worn to some extent and was causing the rattle. I replaced the old impeller with the new one and the pump was again very quiet. I am writing this review to caution owners of the Penguin and Emperor models HOB filters that as part of normal maintenance the impeller may begin rattling after 2 or 3 years and require replacement. As a side point after searching many sites on the internet I determined that the lowest cost for the Penguin 350B impeller was (believe it or not) the manufacture, Marineland at $11.97. Most mail order suppliers were between $15 and $20.
Date published: 2014-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functions as intended 95% of time Purchased a Penguin 350 under the duress of another brand's failure. Function very well except at times, one or more of the biofilters stop spinning and must have either the shafts cleaned or the part where the shaft rides in the housing cleaned or both. Regardless of filter brands, it is never a perfect world. I wish they would provide/develop a pre-filter screen to trap larger "stuff" before filter. However, if I was in the filter business, I would want the consumer to buy new filters (ie: ink jet cartridges). Never the less, a system of washable pre filter screen(s) would be nice. May just buy new filters rather than wash dirty ones to manage cost.
Date published: 2014-01-12
  • y_2018, m_7, d_14, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_173
  • loc_en_US, sid_PF0100B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland

my biowheel 200(13 weeks) on my saltwater tank (37 gallons), has stopped completely and wont work , theres no water damage ive done only filter change and tube cleaning ,, I need this filter to work , I set up temp diy one with your maxijet 900 and a 2l

Asked by: joshbridges
As it is a marine tank, you need to remove your impeller and impeller housing every month and soak the impeller in distilled white vinegar to keep it free of salt crud. Also, clean out the well of the motor by soaking a paper towel and packing it into the motor for a few moments, then twisting it around, and pulling it out. Rinse everything very well with hot water. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-08

How wide is a 200 filter

Asked by: KevinM
The dimensions are 9.5 X 6 X 7.5 BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-09

I took my 350 filter apart and cleaned. Since I have reinstalled one of the bio wheels is flying fast and the other is normal. Water speed is much faster on this side. I have adjusted intake. Please advise.

Asked by: twelcker
That's not an issue, but apparently you either have something partially blogging the filter on the slower side or the bio wheel is damaged or clogged. To clean a bio wheel, take it out, and use a plain q tip with out any chemicals or detergents, and swab between the folds. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-04

We just got a penguin 150 to use for a turtle tank but we can't have the tank that full of water will this work for us or not

Asked by: Lee t
The tank should be 3/4 of the way full for an aquatic turtle, and this will not be high enough for this filter, so no, it would not work for you. We would recommend the Magniflow 160 instead. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-30

What is the mid-level intake on the filter tube for? In what position should the lever be in? Does it make any difference?

Asked by: jmac
It increases and decrease the flow rate. Open increases it, closed decreases it. I leave it open all the time in my tanks, but it depends on your tank, and its needs. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-17

Which way is the lever on the filter tube supposed to be? Up, down or in the middle for ultimate suction? Lost the instructions.

Asked by: BobT
That is personal preference. It increases the flow rate when open, and decreases it when closed. I simply remove mine so it is fully open all the time, some people close it when feeding. Every tank and tank owner has different needs, there is no right or wrong. Instructions are available on the product page on our site. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-29

I have 2 Fish Tanks. 1 is a 5 Gallon and the other a 10 Gallon. The smaller 5 Gallon tanks filter cartridge was a rusty red color. What is that and is it dangerous ? Even after rinsing it under sink water it's still kinda red.

Asked by: Jay1973
Could mean you have iron in the water, but I would expect both tank filters to appear red. So it may be that you are over feeding the 5 gallon tank. Feed one piece of food per inch of fish, twice a day. Another possibility, but not likely is cyanobacteria. That usually grows throughout the tank though. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-21

I was just given a 30 gal tank with a penguin 200 that's been sitting in a garage for 2 years. Do I need to replace the bio wheel? Other than rinsing out the filter, is there anything else I should take apart to clean?

Asked by: Faithsa
We would recommend taking the entire filter apart and cleaning it with hot water and a bit of white vinegar. The bio wheels should be fine, as long as they will spin once you have it installed. If not, then you will need new ones, or are missing the bearings. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-20

I have a penguin 150. Why are there slots for 2 filter cartridges and when would I need two?

Asked by: Karen M
So you can customize your filter to meet your needs. All of our filters have this option. It allows you to replace one cartridge at a time, leaving more beneficial bacteria in the filter and also, if you are having water clarity issues, you have space to add another cartridge or some other form of media to help out temporarily. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-15

What is the water level supposed to be ?

Asked by: Happy
It should be to the bottom of the top frame of the tank, or at the very least an inch or so above the mid-level strainer. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-13

I have a brand new 38gallon Marineland tank and the filter stopped working..I went and got a replacement and same thing, stopped working. What could be the problem?

Asked by: Mosheree
Have you checked either impeller to see if something got caught in it? This is the #1 cause of a filter stopping. Pull our your intake tube, impeller housing and impeller, inspect the parts and clean out the well of the motor at the bottom of the filter box too. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-24

led fish lights and my bio wheels, good or bad?

Asked by: cheezhead96
Doesn't matter at all. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-13

Are my LED fish lights shining on my exposed bio wheel good or bad?

Asked by: cheezhead96
Neither, they won't affect the bio wheel. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-13

If I extend the lift tube on my 350, will it still pull the water up?

Asked by: Chiplite
Yes just make sure that you have it above your substrate
Answered by: Treeman
Date published: 2017-11-11

I have the 100 series, I just unplugged it to change the filter, and clean the tube, now it won't work absolutely nothing. What could be wrong?

Asked by: Taylornadine05
Your filter box, the motor and/or the impeller are all dirty/clogged. Take it completely apart to clean it. Call 1-800-322-1266 if you need additional help. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-07

Can this be used with my Marineland 6 gallon pillar tank? Thank you

Asked by: Cinrod28
It will not wire into the tank, but the filter that comes with the Pillar is this one, modified, so it will sit on the back of the tank, yes. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-01

Why are there no instructions for the Penguin 75 inside the box or on this website?

Asked by: Hyoung
If you actually read the manual, there are no "instructions" just Trouble Shooting Guidelines and Safety Instructions. I bought one box with the "manual" but no instructions and returned it, bought another one with the "manual" but no instructions. Finally figured out by your online video the blue side faces away from the pump. And you have to prime the pump with water.
Answered by: Hyoung
Date published: 2017-10-30

Will thus pump work for a 30 gallon saltwater tank

Asked by: Bill300zx
No, it is rated for a 10 gallon only, you would need the Penguin 200 along with a protein skimmer. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-30

I just set up 10 gallon tank and the bio-wheel penguin 75 is making a noise, not spashing water & is very annoying- is this normal?  My last pump made no noise at all.

Asked by: Dg1252
No, it should be quiet. Have you removed the intake tube, impeller housing and impeller then re-seated them? I would do this, and inspect the parts to make sure they are not damaged. The impeller may be pushed too far up into the housing so pull it out, and re-insert it too. Call 1-800-322-1266 if you need more help. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-26

Bio Wheel not spinning fast like initially. Water seems to be flowing good. In fact it almost seems the water is backing up. Replaced filter even though it looked clean. Last replaced 6 days ago. Just replaced again and still not spinning.

Asked by: Rickyk
You need to take the filter apart and clean the parts of it. You probably have a dirty impeller or debris in the motor. Or the intake tube has debris in it. The filter is backing up because of this so the flow is not powerful enough to move the bio wheel. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-25

I have a 5 gallon tank, and the filter that came with it wasn't so great. So I upgraded to the 100 ( it was the smaller in the store) I didnt realize there was a 75. Will the 100 be ok or to powerful?

Asked by: Chey80leigh
Depends on the types of fish, but probably too powerful since it can handle a 20 gallon tank. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-20

will this filter add enough oxygen to the water to eliminate the use of an air stone

Asked by: scottmo24
Yes, unless you are overstocked or do not do water changes regularly. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-18

What is the wattage rateing for the penguin 350. Im trying to calculate how much it cost and how much power im useing per month and per hour.

Asked by: 1234567890
20.4 watts, 120 v, .17 a BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-17

I have a eclipse 1 wet-dry filter system my question is can I replace the impeller of a different size in order to get a better flow across filter media and bio-wheel?

Asked by: joebess
No, the impellers are system specific. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-13

How much power do these use? I have a 200 and a 350. Not sure why it is not listed on the box...

Asked by: Eric C
It is actually listed on the motors of the filters.... They both use 20.4 watts, 120 v, .17 a. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

When u purchase the bio wheel 200 new dies it come with the bio wheel?

Asked by: KaydenBS
Yes, it comes with the bio wheel and your first cartridge. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

Got a new 350 filter and with in 3 months, it started making noise and doesn't pump water continuously. It stops pumping in between so frequently. Any idea ?

Asked by: Bharath
It most likely has some debris caught somewhere. Remove it from the tank, take out the intake tube, impeller housing, and impeller, and clean each part. Also clean out the well of the motor in the bottom of the filter box. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

Have my Marineland filter for about 10 years now, when do we need to replace it? Or do I ever need to replace it?

Asked by: Angel M
If it is working well, there is never a need to replace it. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

My filtration system lessens pretty rapidly due to slimy algae buildup in the tube and impeller. I have to clean it out about once a month. The bio wheel stops turning and develops a white crust. Probably minerals. Is this detrimental to the bio wheel?

Asked by: Tdavis4
Sounds like you need some help with the tank in general. Yes, if it is not spinning, it can be a problem for the bio wheel as a lot of the bacteria could die off, if left out in the air to just dry up. Are you doing monthly water changes? The white crust sounds like hard water or it could be a water mold. We would recommend either switching to bottled natural spring water if the tank is small, or if larger, then you might want to invest in a purifier for the faucet or a RO unit. If so, have a supplement to add minerals/trace elements back into the water when you do water changes. Another option would be adding peat to the filter or a water softener pillow. We could be more specific in our help if we had more info on the tank. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

I would like to construct a lift tube extension for my Penguin 100 filter (This is the round lift tube, like the old 75, not the rectangular style). What tubing dimensions will I need to slip-over the OEM lift tube?

Asked by: DJ Saberniak Jr
We have not made a round intake tube in 20+ years and do not have specs for such. The Penguin 100 has always had a square tube, but our old Mini and 99 had rounded ones. We recommend taking the intake tube with you to a DIY hardware store and matching up the tubing with it. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12
  • y_2018, m_7, d_14, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_655
  • loc_en_US, sid_PF0100B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland
PF0075B - Penguin 75 - 10 gal/75 GPH
PF0100B - Penguin 100 - 20 gal/100 GPH
PF0150B - Penguin 150 - 30 gal/150 GPH
PF0200B - Penguin 200 - 50 gal/200 GPH
PF0350B - Penguin 350 - 75 gal/350 GPH

Penguin Power Filter Manual 75B

Penguin Power Filter Manual Models 100B, 150B, 200B and 350B  

Penguin Quick Set Up Guide Models 100B, 150B, 200B and 350B 

 

 

Product

Certified Flow Rate

Aquarium Size

Rite Size Media

Penguin 75B

75 GPH

up to 10 gallons

A

Penguin 100B

100 GPH

up to 20 gallons

A

Penguin 150B

150 GPH

up to 30 gallons

B

Penguin 200B

200 GPH

up to 50 gallons

C

Penguin 350B

350 GPH

up to 75 gallons

C

Penguin & Emperor Cartridge Dimensions

Replacement Parts