Penguin® Power Filters

Product No. PF0100B
Find a Store In Stock

All Penguin® BIO-Wheel® Power Filters deliver easy, three-stage mechanical, chemical and biological aquarium filtration.

Convenient Penguin Rite-SizeTM Filter Cartridges come ready to use with each filter...ready to mechanically and chemically remove waste, discoloration and odors. Each contains new faster-acting Black Diamond® Premium Activated Carbon for maximum efficiency. Biological filtration is provided by the revolutionary and patented BIO-Wheel - proven best at removing toxic ammonia and nitrite.

All BIO-Wheel filters feature Noise-Reducing Two-Piece Vented Covers, and Adjustable Mid-Level Intake Strainers.

The Penguin® 75 BIO-Wheel® Power Filter brings Penguin's 3-stage filtration technology to aquariums up to 10 gallons. The 75 is ideal for new aquariums as well as establish tanks in need of an upgrade.

Penguin® Power Filters is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 156.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Silent filter! When I bought my Marineland 55 gallon starter kit I got the 350 and it is very quiet compared to other filters I have had I also have a 200 and it is silent also!
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gets the job done. This filter pumps out water a lot, has decent filter cartridges, has the amazing biowheel, has a handy mid-level intake strainer, and can reach down far with the extension tube. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because it is also a very noisy filter, so I don't recommend putting it in a tartan that is in your bedroom, but I do recommend it in general.
Date published: 2014-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING filter for my 20 gallon!! This filter works great for my 20 gallon. I have the Penguin 150 and my water is CONSTANTLY crystal clear! I've never had problems with it and it's been lasting me for almost 5 years now! Very good product! I would DEFINATELY recommend this to a friend!
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extermely noisy I just bought a penguin 100 and this filter just started to vibrate, I checked the impeller but the whole thing is in the right place and clean. I really waste my money in this fancy filter.
Date published: 2014-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from These things are hit & miss NOW So this is my my second penguin 350. My first was thru amazon Seems to be operating fine. This one through pet smart in store. (was bought for me) This particular one runs to loud & i don't know why. To my eyes nothings bent, magnet surface is smooth. Propeller seated as well. Its like an obnoxious hum & buzz.. huh I like the idea of these things. but it would be nice if they weren't so dang loud. Lets see how good you guys customer service is.
Date published: 2014-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING FILTERS I own 2 of these...one for a 20 gallon tropical tank and a 10 gallon African Cichlid fry tank...keeps water crystal clear...added a pack of bio stones to the fry filter and only have to clean every 6 weeks...WOULD DEFINATELY RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE...CAN'T WAIT TO TRY THE PENGUIN 350 WHEN WE GET OUR NEW 60 GALLON FOR OUR CICHLIDS!!!!
Date published: 2014-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product does its job I wrote a previous review for the filter media, but it probably belongs here lol Anyways, the filter is really good. I'm impressed with it and have tried other filters and was not satisfied. While it might be more expensive then other filters, it's def worth the money. It makes my 10 gal look super clean. And the bio wheel is really a big help b/c that means i won't have to add any beneficial bacterial supplement ever again. Will warn you though, bio wheel may stop spinning but thats fine because water still runs threw the bacterial supplement that is on the bio wheel. You can replace if you want but it would be a waste of money and there wouldn't be any supplement on the new bio wheel.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ok, a bit noisy Daughter bought a Marineland 20 gallon starter kit. Very nice kit for the money. But the impeller is a bit noisy. It was set up today we will wait a and see for a week if the noise goes away.
Date published: 2014-03-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good filter, but SO LOUD I don't know how the people in other reviews got lucky enough to not have noisy filters, but I nearly cried for the first 24 hours I had my 100. You could hear the thing across my house, on a different floor! I looked up the problem online and found many other people with a similar problem and found that some were able to solve the issue by lubricating the inpellar with Stress Coat and making sure to place it back into its place completely straight. I did this with no luck. Thank goodness my father is incredibly handy and was able to use a thin razor blade to shave off a teeny tiny bit around where the inpellar is inserted so that it could no longer hit the sides as it spins. This fixed the problem, but I don't think I should have to do minor surgery to make a filter run without excessive noise, voiding the warranty in the process. I'm happy with how the filter runs now, but my goodness, I don't think I'll ever purchase this filter again.
Date published: 2014-03-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from penguin 200 Not pleased at ALL. I purchased on for my 30 gallon tank and followed instructions to a T and when I went to plug it in , nothing happened and itssmelled burnt so I returned it for an exact product and the impeller on that one would run for 30-45 mins and then shut off , I'd have to adjust it and it would kick back on. Today I purchaseed a new tetra brand filter and would like my money back for this penguin filter.
Date published: 2014-02-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bio- Wheel Stinks I have a penguin 200 power filter. I have had it about 6-7 months. I had just a standered filter before. But I wanted to get something I thought would keep my tank cleaner. I liked the double filter cartridge system it offered and thought the bio wheel would be a big improvement. I change the cartridges about every 2 months and by themselves does a good job keeping my tank clean. The cost at my local Petsmart is about $10 for a 3 pack. But the bio-wheel is a joke. It worked the first month I had the filter then quit. Then after about a month just setting there it started working again for about a week. I went to my local pet store to try and get a replacement. But they said Marineland did not sell replacements due to patent rightsor something to that effect. So it just sets in the power filter doing nothing. It will spin for about a minute if I start it by hand. It has set not working for about 4 1/2 - 5 months. So if your looking for a bio filter look at something else. I believe this one is a waste of good money.
Date published: 2014-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Impeller worn out Two years ago I purchased a Penguin 350B HOB power filter. The filter has worked flawlessly until about two months ago. At that time the impeller began to make a rattling noise. After receiving a new impeller I carefully examined the new and old impeller. While holding each impeller by the two rubber bushings in one hand and spinning the impeller with the other hand I could definitely feel a slight wobble in the old impeller while the new one spun very smoothly. I carefully examined the metal shaft of the old impeller with a micrometer. There was no apparent wear in the shaft therefore obviously the plastic piece which contains the magnet and fins had worn to some extent and was causing the rattle. I replaced the old impeller with the new one and the pump was again very quiet. I am writing this review to caution owners of the Penguin and Emperor models HOB filters that as part of normal maintenance the impeller may begin rattling after 2 or 3 years and require replacement. As a side point after searching many sites on the internet I determined that the lowest cost for the Penguin 350B impeller was (believe it or not) the manufacture, Marineland at $11.97. Most mail order suppliers were between $15 and $20.
Date published: 2014-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functions as intended 95% of time Purchased a Penguin 350 under the duress of another brand's failure. Function very well except at times, one or more of the biofilters stop spinning and must have either the shafts cleaned or the part where the shaft rides in the housing cleaned or both. Regardless of filter brands, it is never a perfect world. I wish they would provide/develop a pre-filter screen to trap larger "stuff" before filter. However, if I was in the filter business, I would want the consumer to buy new filters (ie: ink jet cartridges). Never the less, a system of washable pre filter screen(s) would be nice. May just buy new filters rather than wash dirty ones to manage cost.
Date published: 2014-01-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Junk product From day 1 it has always been a little noisy, not crazy over the top, but noisy. My Tetra EX70 and Aqueon filters are dead silent. The fun started quickly, the impeller would randomly stall / jam, it would begin to make the most horrendous rattling noise my ears have ever heard, Cleaning the unit does no go, the whole product is just junk. I have a 30G tank that has a Chinese made / brand filter on it I got from ebay for $15 that has been running for 10 months, no jamming, no noise, just works. Why cant this product just work?
Date published: 2014-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful filter I have a 50 gallon aquarium and recently just purchased this filter. My old filter was a millenium 3000 and it was starting to die. This filter is quite and it is easy to maintain. Ever sense I purchased this it has made the water crystal clear and it is and is safe for my live plants. The mechanical filtration is eliminating all of the debris and dust from the water and the bio wheel is working because my tank has never looked this healthy and clean before. This has to be one of the best filters that marineland makes.
Date published: 2014-01-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Penguin 200 - Too Noisy! Not the best fine particulate filtration I have quickly learned that this filter is extremely LOUD! I have been running it for about a month now and at first it was just normally loud but last week the impeller started rattling. I took it apart and lubed it up with some petroleum jelly and that fixed it until my canister filter comes in the mail. But even with normal operation this filters motor and impeller make too much noise in my bedroom for my wife to sleep. Maybe fine if in your living room. It also disperses tiny bubbles constantly and slightly clouds the water. I have tried to adjust water height but that doesn't seem to work. I am still cycling my 29g tank and some cloudiness is expected but it doesn't seem to do a very good job with filtering the smaller particles which also are contributing to a cloudy tank and extreme Nitrite levels. I am now doing 50% water changes every day to keep my 5 Guppies alive and probably starving them slightly to keep from overfeeding. I am using conditioner and stability additives as well and I never wash anything under tap water. Anyways I think if your serious about your fish you should shell out the extra dough and get a quality, silent, canister filter.
Date published: 2013-12-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from product worked for about 2 months then stopped working. product worked for about 2 months then stopped working. bought another one I figured it was just a bad one and about a month and a half later it stops working this time killing a few of some very exotic and experience fish. Not Happy!
Date published: 2013-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Found the fix for noise filter While the filter is running, try to lift up the intake tube from the top. Just a little bit. Or when putting the intake tube in, don't push the tube all the way down.
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from verygood filter on my fresh water tank A+++++ would recoment marineland items any time. own several items my self.
Date published: 2013-11-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from never again I bought the 350 just under 2 weeks ago and it just stopped working. I can hear the motor running and can feel the sucking power from the intake tube but it is doing nothing. I returned it to the place of purchase and switched it out for another one of the same. I got home and installed it and again the same problem. I'm just gonna give up on this brand and return this last one and switch it out for another brand.
Date published: 2013-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great filtration I bought the Marineland 20Gal LED tank kit and the peguin 20gal filter. The ilter works very well even a year and a half later. I run two filter cartridges in it without any flow issues. The Biowheel is a good bonus to the system. Highly recommnd this brand for any tank.
Date published: 2013-10-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poorly made I purchased a Penguin Power filter 150 and I have had nothing but problems! The impeller is garbage! As soon as you take the filter apart to clean it, it is never the same.. It starts making a loud grinding noise that comes and goes and eventually just stays that way. I have cleaned this product with vinegar but it doesnt seem to help.
Date published: 2013-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smmmmaaarrt Design! Mine has only been running 2 weeks, so long term reliability aside; the stacked cartridges, double adjustable inlet, & biowheel are awesome features. It's easy, quiet, & my fish favor the current on that side of the tank over the power head at the other (i'm gonna move it closer to the middle now). My 20gal salt cycled with 2 clowns, 8lbs of live rock, 10lbs live sand, & a bacteria dose in only 2 weeks!
Date published: 2013-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Purchased 2 Penguin 330's in April 2013 for a 70gl and I am very happy with this product. Very quiet and no problems except for a slow bio wheel which is totally fine. These replaced 2 penguin 300's that were still running fine after 12 years straight service on the tank. and are now in the boxes as back ups. Crystal clean water as always and didn't even look at any other filter product line on the market before my purchase.
Date published: 2013-09-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Had this filter less than four months and it quit working I bought this filter back in May. I woke up two nights ago and it had died sometime in the middle of the night. I have cheap filters that came in starter kits that still work after 2 years. I will never buy or recommend another Marineland filter after this.
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wicked Good Aquarium Filter and the product price is beyond fair! My last filter bit it when I came home to find at some point during the day my neighborhood had lost power. I have a very busy and somewhat hectic schedule and was only able to search for a replacement filter on line for short periods of time.Due to the fact the fish our my Son's goldfish, (dirty lil' buggers) I had to get a replacement ASAP as I do not have time to clean the tank a couple of times every 7-10 days.Within a few days I had narrowed down my choices to 3 different filters from 3 different competitors. Price, function and in store availability were my determining factors.With this information in hand, I headed out to the local pet supply store in search of a replacement filter.Once I had all 3 contenders in front of me for inspection, my choice was made easy by mainly the price of the filter, then the availability of replacement cartridges and lastly the fact that the particular filter I chose was the last one they had telling me I wasn't alone in thinking this filter is a good choice.So, I purchased the filter, brought it home, put it together, primed it and plugged it in.I had second thoughts as to my decision to not clean the tank prior to plugging in the new filter, but as I stated earlier my schedule is crazy busy and well, the tank was just a bit cloudy, not really dirty at all so I just left it be.When I woke up the next morning I was stunned at how amazing the tank appeared. It looks as though it had, had a thorough cleaning!!! The water is crystal clear and odorless and the fish, albeit are just your run of the mill goldfish are happy and thriving well. I am genuinely pleased with my choice of filter as are my Son's Goldfish!Given the price, availability and function, from here on out, I WILL only purchase Marineland products. THANK YOU for offering this filter and all the other products I've found in my search. Your products ROCK!!! :O)
Date published: 2013-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from will repair and still use, if possible. the 330 filter has served me well, a good product, that is why I would like a replacement part.
Date published: 2013-08-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from bio-wheel does not spin. I have a bio-wheel 400 and it works perfect. both wheels spin. I have been through 2 bio-wheel 200's in the past 4 months and both work good for a couple weeks and then no wheel spin. how am I expected to cycle my 29 gallon tank if I can't get the main component to worh.
Date published: 2013-08-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Always breaking We are on our 6th one. Plus how ever many filters we have bought thinking that was the problem. I wish someone could come out with a better product. So frustrating.
Date published: 2013-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These filters are great filters. These filters are great filters and they keep my aquarium clean and clear.
Date published: 2013-07-23
  • y_2018, m_1, d_22, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_156
  • loc_en_US, sid_PF0100B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland

How many filters does the Bio Wheel Penguin 200 pump need? Thank you.

Asked by: Miss Laverne
Hi Miss Laverne, It needs at least one, but can hold two, depending on your tank's needs. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-05-23

I have a Marineland 75G tank and I want to use two Penguin 350 filters. The filter doesn't fit on the frame, though, which is odd since I'm using all Marineland products. It doesn't sit all the way down and it makes it lean forward. Any advice?

Asked by: LCLCola
It's definitely a Marineland tank. I bought the LED AQUARIUM 75 & STAND set from PetSmart. I have purchased everything I own for the tank from Marineland except the gravel, driftwood, and the fish themselves (I'd probably get those too if you all sold them). I can see the sticker sticking out a bit but it is obscured by the center brace of the stand. To be more clear, the Penguin 350 will hang on to the frame but the frame on the 75 is a bit thicker than the 29 Gallon I used to have it mounted on, so it doesn't sit completely on the frame. If you sit one on a smaller aquarium and then on the frame of the 75, you'll see what I mean.
Answered by: LCLCola
Date published: 2017-05-19

My bio wheel doesn't turn unless I cover the overflow outlet. I've cleaned all the parts, what else can I do?

Asked by: Jknt
I'm not sure I understand what you mean by covering the overflow outlet, as that should not effect it. If you only used water to clean, soak the impeller in distilled white vinegar, and clean out the bottom of the filter box, specifically the motor well, with vinegar and a paper towel. You may have deposits interfering with the flow rate that only vinegar can remove. Also, make sure your purple bearings are in place at each end of the bio wheel. If you are unable to resolve this, just give us a call at 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-05-16

I bought a Biowheel 350 and from the beginning it is very noisy. Not "splashy", it's a very loud mechanical sound. The aquarium is right in the middle of our house and can be heard from every room. I don't remember this happening the last time I owned one

Asked by: MrsG
We are sorry to hear you are having some noise issues. Remove the intake tube, impeller housing and impeller. Inspect all of them, and clean any debris off that you find. Also, check down in the well of the motor where the impeller resides to make sure there is no grit or sand, any debris in that area. When inspecting the impeller, make sure it was connected to the impeller housing properly. The blades should not rub the underside of the housing, for example. This would definitely cause a mechanical sound. If you cannot resolve this, please call us at 1-800-322-1255. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-08-04

We have the 350 and it does not work. Any suggestions on what to do?

Asked by: Tolly
Hi Tolly, That depends on what you mean by "it won't work" as well as how old it is at this time. If it is brand new, pull up the intake tube, and remove the impeller housing and impeller, then re-seat them. They could be in the wrong position. Also, prime it by filling it with water, and make sure the water level in the tank is to the top of the tank. If this is an older filter, the same basically applies, except you need to clean the parts, especially the impeller and the well of the motor. Please call us if you cannot resolve it. 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-05-08

I have a emperor 400b filter both bio wheels were stored with something laying on them they look like new but some of the pleats have a fold in them I can not seem to straighten out I tried soak them in water bending them back could I use a hair dryer

Asked by: Moew
As long as the bio wheels will turn, it doesn't matter what the folds are like. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-05-05

Purchased a penguin 350 a friend, all parts dirty/nasty. I have been told I don't need to replace the bio wheel, but should sterilize by soaking in bleach/water mix for 30min, rinse, & dry. Is this correct?

Asked by: KJZ1
Hi KJZ1, We would recommend cleaning the plastic parts with a distilled white vinegar and hot water mix then rinsing well with hot water alone. As for the bio wheel, as long as it is intact, and will spin, you should not need to do anything. Everything living on it will dry up and die off. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-05-02

Right out of the box it isn't working. I followed the directions to the t, but it isn't working. The motor is going but it isn't sucking up the water. I pulled apart the housing for the wheel and it rotates fine.

Asked by: halle
Hi Halle, Make sure the tank is filled to the top, and you have primed the filter with water. Re-seat the impeller, impeller housing and intake tube. If one of these is not seated correctly, it won't prime. If your water level is really low, it won't prime, and if there is no water in the filter, it will not prime. Call us if you continue to have issues, 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-08-19

My Penquin bio wheel 200 filter is not rotating, is it supposed to.

Asked by: Mama
Hi Pesche, Yes, the bio wheel should turn on its own. It may stop and start, that is fine, but it should not stay stopped. Here are some things to check: - make sure the purple tabs are in place at each end of the bio wheel, and are seated properly and clean - pull out the intake tube, impeller housing, and impeller, clean the impeller and filter box, flow is important - check the cover and make sure it is not pressing down too hard on the bio wheel, it may need a minor adjustment Let us know if you need any additional assistance. We are here to help! BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-27

What's the best way to do a filter change without Losing benifical bacteria on a penguin 350??? Do I place new filters in back, or do I put old ones In back and new ones in front?

Asked by: Donnie123
You would put new ones in back, old ones up front. Rotate them two at a time. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-05-09

I need to replace the biowheel because it is damaged. Is there anything special I need to do or just take the old one off and put the new one on? Should it be soaked in the tank first? Is there a way to move the bacteria from the old one to the new one?

Asked by: bhava324
If possible, you should float the new one for a few days before taking the old one out. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-24

my dad got the family a fish tank, he and I put it together successfully, but we are wondering what the grey lever does/ is for on the Bio-Wheel filter for our tank. please help.

Asked by: little tom tom
The gray lever allows you to pull water in from the middle of the tank, and not just from the bottom of the tank. This increases circulation, and allows for more water movement, especially in taller tanks. Whether you leave the lever open or closed is totally up to you and does not effect the filter. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-24

I recently bought marineland 20G tank comes with penguin power filter, after a week running the filter I started to notice significant amount of micro bubbles all over my tank. Is this due to the filter?

Asked by: sarors
Most likely it is due to a low water level in the tank. The water level should be to the bottom of the top frame, otherwise, water spilling down from any filter will create more bubbles. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-19

Do I need to replace the bio wheel after using kordon rapid cure Ich treatment? 

Asked by: Dooley
No, just boost your biological filter with Marineland Bio Spira for Freshwater Aquariums. http://www.marineland.com/Products/Food-and-Water-Care/Aquarium-Bacteria.aspx. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-18

I purchased a Marineland tank from someone. The person I purchased the tank from said her fish passed due to an illness. I am concerned whatever made her fish ill may have infected the bio. Should I replace it before introducing my fish to this tank?

Asked by: vNocturnalAngelv
No, you do not need to replace the bio wheel. As it has presumably dried out, whatever disease was present is no more. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-18

I purchased my Marineland tank from someone without a box or instructions. It seems to be about a four gallon tank, bowed front and a hinged hood with filter and light. I looked on the outside for a model number but couldn't find one. Any insight?

Asked by: vNocturnalAngelv
We would need to see a picture of it to be sure what it is, but it could be a Pillar or an Eclipse. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-18

Can the penguin power filters be run without the carbon? I would like to use the filter for a saltwater QT tank and do not want to use carbon filtration in case I need to medicate a fish/coral.

Asked by: Dale64
Yes, it can be operated with other media if you prefer, as long as you do not overfill it. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-17

I want to one filter off my freshwater tank to my saltwater tank do I need to replace bio-wheels or just clean

Asked by: Thedoc
Just clean the everything but the bio wheels. The bio wheels will not need cleaning at all. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-12

I bought a 350 through Amazon and have had it running about 4 weeks and the power went out. It has not worked well when the power came back on. I removed the impeller and it seems to turn free and easy. It does not work at all now. Very disappointed. Help

Asked by: Headbum
If you are not hearing any noise at all, not even some vibration, the motor was probably damaged during a power surge. If it is still making noise, has vibration or magnetic pull, clean both the impeller and the well of the motor with white vinegar, very thoroughly, and rinse well. If you cannot resolve this issue, please call us at 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-11

My bio wheels are squeaking when they rotate; is this typical and is there a solution to stop the squeaking? Thank you for any help! 

Asked by: SullivanL
I think my wheels were squeaking due to the tank not being level; the wheels slowly move to the right side of the filter. The plastic side of the wheel rubs against the side of the wheel housing making the squeaking noise. I plan to perfectly level the tank which should solve the problem. 
Answered by: SullivanL
Date published: 2017-04-11

My bio-wheel 350 won't balance right on the rim of my tank ultimately causing water to come out the back of filter. Is there a part to make it balance again? 

Asked by: Koiman
You should have what is called a stand off on the front of the filter box. If you pull out your Quick Set Up Guide and look at the Penguin 100 in the first box, look at Part 11 which is the filter box. In the middle of it you will see a piece that sticks out. Your 350 has this also, or should, but it is not pictured in the QSUG. This is not sold separately so you would need an entirely new filter or could fold a piece of cardboard to take its place for now. Please call us at 1-800-322-1266 if you need further assistance. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-10

I've had the penguin bio 200 since Jan in a 38ga tank. It was running perfect until about a mth ago it now makes a sputtering sound. Any idea?also filters have been in for over 2 wks and not much debris on them...

Asked by: Juls
It sounds like it needs cleaning, Juls. Most likely it has pulled something into the impeller or motor region. Unplug the unit, remove it from the tank, pour out the water and remove the intake tube, impeller housing, and media. Inspect and clean each piece separately, using hot water, white vinegar, and a soft cloth. Also, make sure the water level in the tank is to the top of the tank, right below the top black frame. Please call us at 1-800-322-1266 if you need additional assistance. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-07

What position is best for intake strainer for maximum water circulation?

Asked by: jackie 01
What position is best for intake strainerfor maximum water circulation
Answered by: Jackie01
Date published: 2017-04-04

Can I add two 150 bio filters to my 20 gallon tank?

Asked by: ProfDomo
That is going to depend on what type of top you have on it, and what type of fish are housed in it. The first affects whether they will fit or not. The latter may or may not be able to handle the flow rate. That's a lot of flow for a 20 gallon tank. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-03

How long are these penguin bio filers expected to work?

Asked by: jackie 01
I have some old biowheel 330 filters for about 13 years now. 
Answered by: Brett1
Date published: 2017-04-07

I have the penguin 400, it pumps water through filters, I have cleaned it out. When it starts up water flows out the tubes for biofilters but once it gets going to full water flow the tubes for biofilters stops and they no longer spin??

Asked by: Skeezerk
All the pieces are there, it pumps out the spray bar until the pump get to full capacity, this is when it quits spraying out bars and only through filters. Spray bars are not clogged, worked great until about 2 weeks ago, now biofilters just spin a little here and there do to flow from filters
Answered by: Skeezerk
Date published: 2017-04-11

I have a marineland penguin 350 bio wheel. Have had no issues but my question is this. Is it alright to use four filters at one time?

Asked by: Fishlady47
Yes, indeed, it is! This is the reason for the way the filter box is designed. It allows you to add additional media, in the form of four cartridges, or two cartridges and two media containers (sold separately). BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-27

Will 30 gal filter work on a 40-55 gallon octagon tank whats the possibility that it will

Asked by: tiger1
It will work on it, but will not clean it properly. You would need two of them or need to do water changes more frequently. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-24

I recently set up a 65 gallon freshwater tank, using Marineland power filter 350. How often should I change the filters? How do I clean the wheels?

Asked by: EllenG
Cartridges will last 3-4 weeks. The bio wheels you do not clean unless they stop, which is rare. Then take a q tip and clean between each fold. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-24

How can I replaced my damage bio wheel

Asked by: Courtney W
Bio wheels are sold separately via our website, pet stores, and other vendor's websites like Amazon. If it is new, and came out of the box damaged, please email us at techsupport.marineland@spectrumbrands.com or call 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-22
  • y_2018, m_1, d_22, h_10CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_573
  • loc_en_US, sid_PF0100B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland
PF0075B - Penguin 75 - 10 gal/75 GPH
PF0100B - Penguin 100 - 20 gal/100 GPH
PF0150B - Penguin 150 - 30 gal/150 GPH
PF0200B - Penguin 200 - 50 gal/200 GPH
PF0350B - Penguin 350 - 75 gal/350 GPH

Penguin Power Filter Manual 75B

Penguin Power Filter Manual Models 100B, 150B, 200B and 350B  

Penguin Quick Set Up Guide Models 100B, 150B, 200B and 350B 

 

 

Product

Certified Flow Rate

Aquarium Size

Rite Size Media

Penguin 75B

75 GPH

up to 10 gallons

A

Penguin 100B

100 GPH

up to 20 gallons

A

Penguin 150B

150 GPH

up to 30 gallons

B

Penguin 200B

200 GPH

up to 50 gallons

C

Penguin 350B

350 GPH

up to 75 gallons

C

Penguin & Emperor Cartridge Dimensions

Replacement Parts