Penguin® Power Filters

Product No. PF0100B
Find a Store In Stock

All Penguin® BIO-Wheel® Power Filters deliver easy, three-stage mechanical, chemical and biological aquarium filtration.

Convenient Penguin Rite-SizeTM Filter Cartridges come ready to use with each filter...ready to mechanically and chemically remove waste, discoloration and odors. Each contains new faster-acting Black Diamond® Premium Activated Carbon for maximum efficiency. Biological filtration is provided by the revolutionary and patented BIO-Wheel - proven best at removing toxic ammonia and nitrite.

All BIO-Wheel filters feature Noise-Reducing Two-Piece Vented Covers, and Adjustable Mid-Level Intake Strainers.

The Penguin® 75 BIO-Wheel® Power Filter brings Penguin's 3-stage filtration technology to aquariums up to 10 gallons. The 75 is ideal for new aquariums as well as establish tanks in need of an upgrade.

Penguin® Power Filters is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 183.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is queit and reliable! They back their product 100%! I bought a Penguin 350 Bio-Wheel. I have bought about a dozen Marineland Filters and have only had one issue. The issue was with a defective impeller. The pet store said I was out of luck since I could not find my receipt. I sent an email to Marineland customer service asking for help. The very next day I received an email from them. They are sending me a replacement impeller free of charge! I couldn't believe how helpful they were with my problem, and they responded so fast. This is why I always have and will continue to recommend this brand! Not only are the products easy to use and reliable, they back their products and will resolve any problems you may have. Thanks MarineLand. I am another very satisfied customer. I strongly suggest anyone looking for a quality aquatic filter to give this brand a try. There is no way you could regret it.
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from issue with pump I set the 200 series up and it worked great. Then one day I added some more substrate to my tank. Halfway through adding the new substrate the gear mechanism started to make a strange noise at random intervals. I turned it off and checked the assembly to see that nothing had somehow become lodged within the impeller mechanism. I plugged it back in and after reassembling the unit and it continued to make the noise for a few more minutes. Then it shut off completely and I have yet to be able to revive it. I am curious if anyone else has ever experienced this and if so what did you do to get it to work again?
Date published: 2015-09-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Noisy I bought the 350 model, and I set it up the way it explained on the pamphlet and it worked great for the first few days, Then it got really noisy and I couldn't make it stop. Will be returning it today and buying something else. Very disappointed as this is a good brand.
Date published: 2015-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from this filter works great when it works ive had two of these filter in the last 3 weeks and they just start to make a grinding noise
Date published: 2015-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best HOB Filter I Have Ever Used! Excellent Customer Service. I have been an aquarium enthusiast for more than 30 years and the Penguin is the best HOB filter I have ever had. The Bio-Wheel offers the best biological filtration by providing the ability for both beneficial bacteria to grow on its surfaces, helping to lessen nitrate as well as ammonia and nitrite. Customer service is excellent as well. One of the rubber tips on my impeller stretched over a year's time and was not fitting properly. I contacted customer support to see if I could purchase just the tips and Laura Bradley contacted me in just a few days with an offer to mail me a new impeller at no cost. I am planning on setting up a larger tank ASAP (I really miss having a tank bigger than 20 gallons in the house) and have every intention of trying one of the Emperor HOB filters with it. I have been a fan of Marineland for many years and the Bio-Wheel technology ensures I will remain a fan for a long time; the customer service just sweetens the pot. :-)
Date published: 2015-08-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Loudest filter I have ever owned, regardless of the water level. I am sitting here months after purchasing this product listening to it splash water. How I've been able to maintain my sanity perplexes even me, as my aquarium is in my bedroom. From the moment I took it out of the box it was loud, but please keep in mind this is after I had to exchange it twice due to mechanical noise. When I heard no mechanical noise from this one I was thrilled, the splashing I chalked up to the biowheel not being broken in. Days passed, weeks passed, months passed, and it still makes significant splashing sounds. I purchased the 200 model because we have a 150 on the aquarium in the living room and it's very quiet, but sadly the 200 has done little more than grate on my nerves. I've adjusted the water level countless times to no avail, sure it provides adequate biological filtration, but I have no reason to believe that it is performing any better than any other (quieter) filter in existence. Early on I tried contacting the company, they assured me it was due to the biowheel not being broken in yet, confirming my suspicions. Sorry guys, I'm pretty sure it should be broken in by now. I'm just going to live with it this way and hope the splashing becomes comforting white noise. I would not recommend this filter. I feel kind of stupid for giving it as many chances as I did.
Date published: 2015-08-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Noisy Very noisy . Its not the waterflow but mechanical noise almost like a grinding i have tried playing with the intake tube to completely removing the propellar to make sure it was sitting in correctly. Nothing has helped. Unsure if im going to keep it or return it. It filters the water terrific would be a great product if not for the noise.
Date published: 2015-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from does work! The Marineland filters work very well. I run my 55g saltwater with 2 emperor 400s. They do work! I have a Penguin 150 on my 2.5g pico reef tank. not only does it provide great filtration, it provides a lot of circulation in both tanks.The bio-wheels have never been an issue. The emperor spray bar needs to be cleaned about once per month to avoid clogging (old toothbrush works without disassembling it). and I have never seen my Penguin 150 stop.Noise is not really an issue. If the filter starts making some noise, its the impeller. Just tap on the intake siphon or wiggle it, and the noise goes away every time. I have only had to do that a couple times. Very quiet operation. I sleep with this thing running in my bedroom (6 feet from my head) and I am a very light sleeper.The back of these filters is great for many things. Not sure how much Marineland endorses modifying their product, so I won't go into detail. Suffice it to say that these filters are very versatile!I will recommend Marineland filters to anyone. My only advice is to use a filter that is at least twice the rated capacity. For example, if the Penguin 150 says it can work for 20 gallons, just ignore that. Get a Penguin 350 or an Emperor 400 for 20 gallons. Seriously. Its hard to over-filter a tank, but under-filtering is very easy.I made my friend buy a Marineland 20g kit. Awsome! Comes with a Penguin 150. That didn't cut the mustard. Put my spare Eperor 400 on it (yes, I have 3 Emperor 400s. and 2 Penguin 150s). Her freshwater tank is now very well circulated and the fish are much more active. (they seem happy, but freshwater fish are a bit harder to read)Just in case you missed that: GET FILTRATION AT LEAST TWICE THE ADVERTISED CAPACITY!!!!!Cant beat this value though. Great filters, low cost
Date published: 2015-05-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Noise, noise noise! I have 2 of the 350. I'll never buy Penguin again. I had Penguin almost 20yrs ago and it was awesome. What happened? I had a penguin almost 20 years ago that lasted for at least 10 years and it was fantastic. With the 2 that I have now it's nothing but trouble. Every time I shut them off to clean the tanks I fear they won't start again and they never do without me having to keep messing with it. Today the filter chewed the little rubber end off the empeller! I'll never buy another penguin. I want the company to succeed but you've got to change something.
Date published: 2015-05-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Penguin 200 is very noisy I've had a penguin 125 for many years, it runs quietly and works great. I currently use it as a secondary filter on my 29 gallon freshwater aquarium. My primary filter was a penguin 150 that became very noisy over the years and started making loud clicking sounds. I decided to replace it with a penguin 200 filter which I just installed a few days ago. The new filter makes even more motor noise than the last one. I will be taking it back to the store and purchasing a different filter.
Date published: 2015-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMGoodness! I have a 55 gallon tank and use a 75 gallon Penguin filter. I'm on my 4th tank and refuse to use any other filter. There quite and reasonable priced. I do understand the trickling sound, but that comes from not having enough water in the tank. Once you refill the tank you don't hear it anymore. That's not really a big deal, it's part of the weekly maintenance. I'm upgrading my tank soon so i know I have to purchase a new filtration system ..
Date published: 2015-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I would not want another...... I have tried many including National Geographic. I have in the tank but not sure what it does other than bubble. ALL my tanks have two of these power filters. They have helped me to have balanced water and healthy fish. What more could you want for your investment! I am happy with my purchases. I am sutre you would be too.
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use and works great I used a Penguin to filter a smaller aquarium and it work very well. The bio wheel helps keep the water oxygenated and clear. Easy to use and Easy to clean.
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from this product is awful worst filter ever.bought two and both horribly loud.never get this product because you will be very disappointed with it.
Date published: 2015-02-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from i think they are junk This will make my third one in a single month.. They have made awful sounds and slow stop pumping water and eventually quit
Date published: 2015-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Description of Penguin 350 Filter I just received my Penguin 350 and hooked it up, and it runs great. It is quiet, which is amazing considering the large rate of water that flows through this filter. I wanted to let everyone know a little bit about this pump, since I couldn't find out too many details before I bought it. First of all, there are two filtration chambers, one on the left and one on the right. Each filter element consists of two squares of fibrous plastic material with what feels like activated carbon in between. They tell you to rinse them before installation, but very little dirt washes out when you do this.They recommend changing them every 2 weeks. Next, there is a single intake, which is a long tube that enters the impeller inlet in the center of the unit. The unit is self-priming: you just pour water into the filter box and turn it on; the impeller draws the air out of the inlet tube and starts the siphon automatically. From the center of the unit, the impeller pumps water into the left and right chambers, where it passes through a filter element and then spills under a "bio-wheel." Each bio-wheel is an inert, stiff plastic, corrugated cylinder, which forms a substrate for the growth of beneficial bacteria for removing certain metabolic by-products. The wheels spin fast and silently. The directions say that if too much bio-mass builds up, to rinse the excess off in chlorine-free water, but that they should never need to be replaced. After passing under/past a bio-wheel, the water descends down a chute on the inside of your aquarium. At the bottom of each chute, the water is deflected so that it mostly skims across the surface of the aquarium, away from the filter. This way, even though there is a strong flow, it doesn't produce a powerful current that the fish need to fight. The inlet tube also includes a mid-level intake, which is a set of holes a few inches below the top of the water that can be uncovered with a valve, to allow some of the water to enter from an upper level. If the valve is closed, all of the water is drawn into the filter from the bottom of the tube, which has a large strainer. Hope this helps! (And, yes, I am an engineer -- and proud of it!)
Date published: 2015-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like this product. Good filter, long lasting, easy to clean, cleans the water very efficiently.
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Penguin 350 My only complaint with this filter system is the grinding noise from the impeller. I've taken the thing apart, rinsed, flushed etc. and it still makes the noise. The only way to get it to stop is by pulling the filter tube housing up some - this in turn slows down the filter flow going back into the tank. I'm very frustrated.
Date published: 2015-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hang on the back filters on the market! I have two Penguin 100 filters for a year and they are great! The water is always clear and I always get comments on how clear my water is from other aquarists. The only issue is, since one of these tanks is in my bedroom, if the water drops too low, there is a huge splashing noise. To combat this noise, weekly water changes keep my tank quiet.
Date published: 2015-01-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality Filter came in.my 123 dollar aquarium.kit.. worked poorly for.an hour and quit. Never cleared my water..Many complaints with this system
Date published: 2014-12-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Quality with this product is inconsistant I'm currently very frustrated with my Penguin BIO-Wheel filter. I purchased a new 25 gallon tank about a month and a half ago and the Bio-Wheel 150 was included with the tank. Initially I was extremely impressed with this filter--the noise level was almost entirely silent, the option for two filter cartridges is very helpful for my goldfish, and the Bio-Wheel itself is great to have. Unfortunately, within 2 weeks of installing the filter it became quite noisy and began to sputter intermittently. I've tried everything I can think of--my water level is as high as it can be and has stayed that way since I first filled my tank. I thought maybe the aquarium sand in my tank had clogged the motor somehow, so I disassembled the machine very gently, rinsed everything off and re-installed it with no luck re-gaining my quiet filter. Today the filter is not even functioning at all. I don't know if I dislodged something important when I was cleaning it, or if my specific filter happens to be faulty, or what. But I'm so sad that something which ought to have lasted me years with the proper treatment has become dysfunctional after such a painfully short amount of time. Now I have to decide whether to trust this company and product again and hope I actually receive the quality that I'm paying for.
Date published: 2014-12-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very noisy filters I purchased the Penguin 350 and 200 filters for my 60 gallon aquarium. Both of these filters are ridiculously loud, at night I can hear them from my bedroom, which is very annoying. I have replaced the impellers on both of the filters to see if that would solve the problem, but it did not. These are expensive filters and they are not worth the money, the much cheaper Top Fin filters that I have on my other aquarium are much much quieter. Also, the filters are not very compatible with the Marineand aquarium that I bought. The filter housing covering the Bio Wheels is jammed up against the light housing which has to be resolved by lifting the light housing off of its mount just to turn it off or on.
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Recommendation I like the system thus far it is efficient, quiet and easy to maintain.
Date published: 2014-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from BEST FILTER I HAVE EVER USED!!!!!!!! It is great filter and it keeps my tank clean for months but it's pretty noisy but it's fine with me because it's not in my room great filter I would recommend it for any tanks between 30-55
Date published: 2014-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from After 10 years the impeller has finally started to rattle I have had a 350 on my tank for ten years and it has started to make a rattleing noise. Inspecting the impeller shows the housing the shaft goes through is worn. I don't think you can get much better than that. I'm going to replace the impeller and keep my 350.
Date published: 2014-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Filter! I bought the 100B filter for my 10 gallon aquarium. In a short time of installing it my tank was more clear than it ever has! No problems with noise. The only problem I had was the intake tube was too long. I just cut the extension tube to shorten it. No big deal. Next year I will be purchasing the 37 gallon Marineland kit as I love Matineland Products!
Date published: 2014-08-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Product Failed Customer Service No Answer I bought the Penguin 200 about 2 to 3 weeks ago. Did a water change filled the tank and filter and nothing. Unplugged the filter waited 5min plugged it back in and again nothing. I took the filter off the tank and inspected everything to which nothing seems wrong, except it wont turn on. I sent an email to Marineland explaining the situation and received no reply. This is a shame as I personally have always had great success using Marineland products while others advise not to. I now see why. Guess i will be buying a non Marineland LED for my tank. Sorry to say.
Date published: 2014-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Silent filter! When I bought my Marineland 55 gallon starter kit I got the 350 and it is very quiet compared to other filters I have had I also have a 200 and it is silent also!
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gets the job done. This filter pumps out water a lot, has decent filter cartridges, has the amazing biowheel, has a handy mid-level intake strainer, and can reach down far with the extension tube. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because it is also a very noisy filter, so I don't recommend putting it in a tartan that is in your bedroom, but I do recommend it in general.
Date published: 2014-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING filter for my 20 gallon!! This filter works great for my 20 gallon. I have the Penguin 150 and my water is CONSTANTLY crystal clear! I've never had problems with it and it's been lasting me for almost 5 years now! Very good product! I would DEFINATELY recommend this to a friend!
Date published: 2014-07-15
  • y_2018, m_10, d_21, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_183
  • loc_en_US, sid_PF0100B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland

I purchased the marineland penguin 200 from PetSmart and when I got it home the biowheel was not in the box. Was it supposed to come with the biowheel or do you have to purchase it separately?

Asked by: Melissad
It definitely should come with the bio wheel so please call our Care Team at 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-03-12

I need a new impeller for 350 modei

Asked by: Clark Saul l
Sure! Here you go - http://www.marineland.com/Products/aquarium-parts/Filtration-Products-and-Skimmers/Penguin-Parts/Impeller-Parts/Impeller-Assembly-Penguin-350B.aspx BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-03-13

Is there a way to lessen the flow rate so it generates less bubbles? 

Asked by: Plii
The power filter does not generate bubbles, unless the water level in the tank is below the filter's spillway. If so, raise the water level. The only way to adjust the flow is to close the mid-level strainer (gray lever). BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-03-12

Hello, I have a 200 and a 150. Both the bio wheels are not spinning. I’ve tride cleaning intake tube I’ve spun the bio wheels both of them. And it’s like they are not intaking enough water I don’t know what to do. I cleane propeller too. and nothing.

Asked by: Alex11111
Clean out the filter box as well, especially the part the impellers sit in and make your water level in the tank is at the top of the tank. Check the purple bio wheel bearings to make sure they are in properly, clean them, and rub a tiny smear of silicone lubricant on them. If the bio wheels are warped, you may need to replace them. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-03-05

When filtered water overflows the Type A filter and streams out bypassing the filter should the filter b changed ?

Asked by: Jim Nasium
Yes, either the cartridge is clogged or the impeller needs to be removed and cleaned. You may also need to clean out the intake tube and the motor region. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-02-21

A friend gave me a Penguin200 w an established Biowheel for a 27 gal tank. It creates huge current, looks like the 200 is made for much larger tanks. Thinking about switching to 150, but can i use 200 biowheel or would i have to start over?

Asked by: Audlindal
The 200 model is for tanks 20-40 gallons in size, so should be fine for your tank unless you have some pretty small, delicate fish. You would need a different bio wheel for the 150 and would not be able to use the one with the 200, unfortunately. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-02-20

I have a 100B on my 5G hex tank. It's great, keeps our water clean and I finally got my tank to cycle. However, the outflow is too turbulent, even with a full tank. Can I adjust it or modify it in some way?

Asked by: FireworksMom
Closing the mid-level strainer off may help some, but ideally, you should place some filter floss inside the strainer. This will slow it down or you can put a second cartridge in the filter which will provide more filtration and slow it down. Another option would be to add some other bio media in the main chamber. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-02-16

I have a Penguin 150 in my Mainland 20 gallon tank. No issues! But I do have a question. Why is there a spillway located to the right of the bio-wheel? That is unfiltered water...right? Seems all water should be filtered. 

Asked by: Jeff1320
Yep...your right! took it apart and cleaned it all up and works perfect now.  Now...I changed about 1/3rd of the water last night. Added ReadiStart and AccuClear as normal. 8 fish dead. Never had this happen before. I’m taking a water sample to the fish store now. Test strip did not indicate any problems. 
Answered by: Jeff1320
Date published: 2018-02-20

I Have a Penguin 350 That I've Been Using For About a Year. I Took My Aquarium Down as I Was Relocating to a New State. Tonight I Set Everything Back Up & My 350 Will Not Take in Water. I've Tried Everything

Asked by: Hoffa
Sorry to hear that Hoffa! So make sure the tank is filled to the top with water, and the filter box is also filled with water. If they are, then I suspect your impeller has separated. It will do this sometimes when kept dry in storage. To inspect it, hold the top and bottom tips between the thumb and index finger of one hand. Take the other hand and flick the blades. The blades should catch the magnet within half a turn and they should rotate together. If not, it is separated. If you need more help, call 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-02-14

Is it helpful to any other filtering media in the housing? Ceramic pellets? Whatever?

Asked by: Bill1222
Yes, of course. It is always helpful to have additional media such as ceramic rings, bio beads, filter floss, phosphate pads, etc. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-02-13

installed my new penguin bio wheel filter, it seems to be working fine with the exception of the actual wheel which is not turning. any suggestions

Asked by: alandjanice
Make sure your water level in the tank is to the top of the tank. Also, check the purple bearings at each end of the bio wheel. Make sure they are properly in place, and clean. You might want to rub a bit of silicone lube on them. If they are missing, call 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-02-12

I have the canister filter and doing my tank from scratch, so I dont have water from a aquarium to rinse the media with. What to do?????

Asked by: Michelle3251
Rinse it out with tap water. If everything is brand new, it doesn't really matter. It's just if you are cleaning the filter system in an established tank you need to be more careful. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-02-09

HOW MUCH OF THE PENGUIN 200B FILTER WHEN MOUNTED TO TANK STICKS OFF THE BACK OF TANK (HOW CLOSE TO THE WALL CAN THE TANK BE

Asked by: DAGMARK
3.5" will be on the outside of the tank, so allow about 5" in order to have enough room to insert or remove the filter. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-02-06

I have done everything I know to do.. I have the 75 and the wheels will almost stop spinning. I have to pull them off and poor the water out of them everyday..

Asked by: countrygirl1977
As long as they move, that's all they have to do. There is no right or wrong speed. They can stop and start even, as long as they move on their own. To increase their movement, make sure the tank is filled to the top, and the impeller and motor are both very clean. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-02-05

We bought a 20 gal marineland kit over a month ago. The biowheel moves slowly and stops for a second or 2 and spins again. We just cleaned the intake tubes and tried replacing the filter cartridgue. Is this normal or should the wheel turn continuously

Asked by: Amysue
This is basically normal. It is simulating a wet/dry trickle filter. As long as it spins on its own, it is working properly, there is no recommended speed. Don't forget to clean the impeller and the motor as well since debris affects those the most. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-02-05

I just got a new Marineland 350 and it wouldn’t take in water, it wouldn’t pump, and it make this gurgling sound every time I plug it in. Yes, I have read the instructions and I have tried all the  technics in there and nothing will fix it.

Asked by: RAM3423
Make sure your water level in the tank is to the top of the tank. Then pull the intake tube, impeller housing and impeller out of the filter box, and re-seat them. Call 1-800-322-1266 if you need additional help. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-02-08

I have the penguin bio wheel 200 filter. And inside looks to have spots for 2 filters. Not counting the bio wheel. Do I need to put 2 filters in? Or just one? 

Asked by: ijenn84
You only need one filter at a time. I add a second when the flow gets too low because the first filter is getting clogged. After two days i remove the first filter becaise the bacteria have populated the new one,
Answered by: Grad
Date published: 2018-02-03

I have a 3gal tank with original bio-wheel. Last Monday I set it up and let it run, with out any fish, for 24 hrs. After which I added 1 Betta. Everything was fine until this evening (Thursday). There are now large bubbles in the water. Is this ok?

Asked by: Luvbettas
If you are seeing these bubbles on the surface, this could mean you are over feeding, and have a protein build up in the water. A betta should be fed 1-2 pieces of food, twice a day, and that is it. They do not need a lot of food, and over feeding is extremely bad for them. We would recommend changing about 10-20% of the water and putting some fresh water into the tank. This should be done about once a week with a tank of this size in any case. Add AquaSafe Plus and SafeStart Plus with the new water. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-02-02

When I going to clean the filter what do I do with the bio-wheel? I don't want it to get dry or lose the good bacteria. I thought perhaps put it in the tank? 

Asked by: plemme
You just set it to the side. It doesn't take long to clean the system, certainly not long enough to dry out so it will be fine. If you are particularly worried about it, place it in a clean, plastic cup with water. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-02-01

Good morning - I have a Penguin Power Filter #75. The bio wheel is not spinning. We have set it up the same way as the video with come differences, our model does not have the two piece filter cover and we had to put the wheel together ourselves.

Asked by: DDBird
The Penguin 75 should have a one piece cover, not a two piece one. The bracket and bearings you do have to install yourself, and then you rest the bio wheel down into them. Make sure the water level in the tank is to the top of the tank, and that the filter cartridge is not clogged, etc. How well the bio wheel spins is dependent on the flow rate of the water through the filter. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-01-31

How many watts does 350b and 400e use ?

Asked by: Sukhdeep
The Penguin 350 uses 20.4 watts, the Emperor 400 uses 19.2 watts. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-01-29

The tube that takes water in is too tall for my tank

Asked by: Kennedy15
Then use only the intake tube and the bottom strainer, taking out the two middle pieces. Or you can use the middle pieces, but cut some portion of the strainer off, to make it fit. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-01-29

Do I need a separate air pump with this filter? It seems to be blowing bubbles pretty well.

Asked by: Stone24
You would only need additional aeration if your tank is really overstocked or under maintained. Air pumps to provide twice as much oxygen as most filters. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-01-25

my bio wheel spins unbalanced do I need to replace it

Asked by: fishy D
If it is able to spin on its own, no. Check your purple bearings and make sure they are installed properly and are clean. Also, you may want to take the filter apart and clean it as the flow rate of the filter is dependent on how clean the system is, and this directly affects the bio wheel. You especially want to clean the impeller and the filter box. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-01-24

What position should the “door” (grey switch) be in? There aren’t directions or any explanation for how it works. 

Asked by: Lbucklin10
You are referring to the mid-level strainer. This part allows more circulation of the water when it is in the open position. Unless you have small fry or tend to feed heavily and don't want the food removed, leave it in the open position. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-01-23

What is the red hanger that hold the bio wheel in the filter called? And can you get a new one?

Asked by: neenee
If you have the Penguin 75, that is the bracket. It is item ML90713. If your local fish store does not have it, give us a call at 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-05-23

on the tube going into the water, what position should the grey cap be on over the holes? There are no instructions.

Asked by: plemme
That depends on your particular tank and situation. Open increases your flow rate, closed slows it somewhat, and prevents food from being pulled in. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-01-31

15 gallon cube nano tank, 2 seahorses, 9 snails. All of my water levels are off the chart. Bio-Wheel Penguin 100 Filter. Is that filter to small? How often can I change the cartridges to get my water back to normal. I do weekly water changes.

Asked by: Seahorses
Instead of just using cartridges, try adding some bio media, such as bio balls, bio beads, ceramic rings, etc. The cartridges should be changed weekly when used in a salt water tank. Also, most nano tanks use a lot of live rock, which you didn't mention. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-01-20

I have 55 gallon what size filter should I get

Asked by: Blainer11
We would recommend the Penguin 350 for that size tank as it is rated for up to 75 gallons. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-01-09

I have a Penquin Biowheel Mini hang on filter and I lost the biowheel assembly. Is this part available? This filter is like the EverReady Bunny. Just restarted a 5 gallon hex and would like this filter to be complete if possible.

Asked by: RKTraut
If you have the mini or the hex 5, this would be the bio wheel: http://www.marineland.com/Products/aquarium-parts/Filtration-Products-and-Skimmers/Penguin-Parts/BIO-Wheel-Parts-for-Penguins/BIO-Wheel-Assembly-for-Penguin-PF99B-Eclipse-Systems-2-3-Hex-5-Corner-5.aspx BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-01-08
  • y_2018, m_10, d_21, h_2CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_696
  • loc_en_US, sid_PF0100B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland
PF0075B - Penguin 75 - 10 gal/75 GPH
PF0100B - Penguin 100 - 20 gal/100 GPH
PF0150B - Penguin 150 - 30 gal/150 GPH
PF0200B - Penguin 200 - 50 gal/200 GPH
PF0350B - Penguin 350 - 75 gal/350 GPH

Penguin Power Filter Manual 75B

Penguin Power Filter Manual Models 100B, 150B, 200B and 350B  

Penguin Quick Set Up Guide Models 100B, 150B, 200B and 350B 

 

 

Product

Certified Flow Rate

Aquarium Size

Rite Size Media

Penguin 75B

75 GPH

up to 10 gallons

A

Penguin 100B

100 GPH

up to 20 gallons

A

Penguin 150B

150 GPH

up to 30 gallons

B

Penguin 200B

200 GPH

up to 50 gallons

C

Penguin 350B

350 GPH

up to 75 gallons

C

Penguin & Emperor Cartridge Dimensions