Penguin® Power Filters

Product No. PF0100B
Find a Store In Stock

All Penguin® BIO-Wheel® Power Filters deliver easy, three-stage mechanical, chemical and biological aquarium filtration.

Convenient Penguin Rite-SizeTM Filter Cartridges come ready to use with each filter...ready to mechanically and chemically remove waste, discoloration and odors. Each contains new faster-acting Black Diamond® Premium Activated Carbon for maximum efficiency. Biological filtration is provided by the revolutionary and patented BIO-Wheel - proven best at removing toxic ammonia and nitrite.

All BIO-Wheel filters feature Noise-Reducing Two-Piece Vented Covers, and Adjustable Mid-Level Intake Strainers.

The Penguin® 75 BIO-Wheel® Power Filter brings Penguin's 3-stage filtration technology to aquariums up to 10 gallons. The 75 is ideal for new aquariums as well as establish tanks in need of an upgrade.

Penguin® Power Filters is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 156.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor filtration This just nit put out enough power to keep the water clean, I had to replace the first one that did not last a year
Date published: 2013-07-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from didnt even work spent so much time trying to set it up, and it never even turned on. bio wheel doesnt spin, tube is way too long for my tank. now i have 3 fish stuck in measuring cups because the filter doesnt work
Date published: 2013-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from More trouble than it's worth. Bought myself a penguin 100 for Christmas and it died in less than 30 days. Just stopped pumping! Took it back to Petco and they gave me another one no questions asked. I was wise enough to keep my old bio wheel to put on the new filter and after about 3 weeks the wheel hardly turns. I guess I have to take the whole thing apart and clean or see if something is broken. I don't keep a lot of fish and I NEVER over feed so I'm disappointed that I have to do so much maintenance already. There has to be a better filter out there somewhere.
Date published: 2013-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Average Filter I purchased a 200 Penguin Bio-wheel filter 4 weeks ago.PROS:1. Good overall buy for the price.CONS:1. You can't have a dual filter cartridge as the packing says you can. If you add a second filter cartridge then the water struggles to get through both filters, backs up, and just pours out through the water overflow chamber. This completely bypasses the bio-wheel which defeats the purpose of having one. It started working property when I removed the second filter cartridge. But now after a few days it started backing up again. So I rinsed the cartridge and it started working again. Then a few days later it started backing up again and the cartridge wasn't even dirty. But again it started working after I pulled the cartridge out of the slot a little bit. I'm not sure what the problem is with the filters. Perhaps too full of carbon or perhaps the water overflow chamber needs to be bigger. Not sure.
Date published: 2013-01-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product is not reliable I purchased the Penguin 200 Bio-Filter only two Months ago, and now it has started t fail. The problem seams to be that the flow of the water has been reduced to the point the Bio-Wheel will not turn. I have taken it apart to clean it, and it looks very clean, so something else is the problem. I certainly don't want to purchase another one, but will need a pump in the very near future. I don;t think I will get this brand again!
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from lifespan of a mayfly My first penguin 200 filter lasted about 2 years. Not great, but okay for the price, so I bought another one. That one lasted 6 months. (The bio-wheel on both never turned, but I figured that was just a gimmick anyway.)I won't be giving this brand a third try.
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Noisy after 2 months When I bought this I was warned that many people had issues with impeller noise, but I got one anyway. The price was good and for two months it worked perfect. Then the noises started. I give my filters a good cleaning monthly and the inside is spotless, but for some reason it started making this awful rattling noise inside the impeller housing. You would think these things would last for more than a couple months. I understand that parts do wear out eventually, but that soon? And for the price of a new impeller, I could almost buy a whole new unit.I won't make the same mistake twice. Marineland should really step up the QA department drastically.
Date published: 2012-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality filter for freshwater tanks I ditched the water filter that came with my 20 gallon tank because it was too small, too loud and did a poor job cleaning my tank. I couldn't maintain a healthy tank. I picked up a Marineland Penguin filter because I recognized the brand and knew they made premium products. With the BIO wheel and high-grade carbon filter that comes with the Penguin, I've been able to keep a clean, clear water tank. The Penguin is much quieter than the filter it replaced. The water is sparkling clear and my fish have never been happier. I recommend using two filter cartridges--when possible. This keeps the water very clean and my fish happy.
Date published: 2012-09-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It was quiet, especially when it stopped working I bought this on May 28th to replace a filter system that we'd been using for several years that finally gave out. We had had one with a bio wheel in the past and our aquarium has an algae issue, so we went with the 200 for the 2 filters and the bio wheel. Up until today (Aug 7th), it's worked fine, but I came home from work and could hear the motor as soon as I walked in the door which is highly unusual. I walked over and took to the top cover off to make sure that something hadn't gotten sucked up into it and the whole thing just shut off and wouldn't come back on. I couldn't find anything clogging the tube or the fly wheel, it's like it just decided "Well, it's been 2 months, time to shut down".
Date published: 2012-08-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nice while it lasts (which is not long) I had a Marineland Penguin 100 B filter, nice little gizmo, quiet, good filtration, mainly i bought because i liked the biowheel.I was satisfied overall with the product until it stopped working, approximately 9 months after i bought it. Since i had to buy another filter anyway, i decided to go with another brand as i did not see the value due to lack of durability.
Date published: 2012-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Little Filter! I really don't understand why so many people claim to have issues. I have been utilizing different Penguin models for many years on several nano reef tanks and have yet to have issues with any of them. I'm currently maintaining a 10 gal nano (Penguin 150B) which has been in operation for about 5 years and have yet needed to replace any parts aside from the filter pads. I wonder when the impeller is going to fail but it is still running fine. I highly recommend this line of Marineland filters.
Date published: 2012-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Filter Syatem Penguin 100 I am new to this hobby and i have a 10gl starter tank kit. I have never had a problem with this unit. great price and good size.Fish are loving it.I to did have that problem with my bio wheel but i cleand every thing inside and out and then cheanged the fileter and bio wheel and now works great. It seams the problem was with the bio wheel it was much heaver then the new one even when the new bio wheel was wet and used for 3 days. So what i am saying is if the bio wheel gets a lot of grouth on it it seams to slow down and can stop.And yeas sad to say i lost 3 guppies due to bio wheel stoping and not knowing what to do.Thanks to all at Marineland keep up the good work..
Date published: 2012-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Silent and powerful Penguin 200 Not sure why everyone is complaining about "noise" I know for a fact if you assemble the thing correctly you have no noise. This is true for ANY aquatic filter.Mostly what i read above sounds like a good 30% of them dont know how to take care of their fish.Lets hit the highlights of this filter:*Has a two part flip-top lidthis allows you to remove your filters and wash them off easily without spilling any water or making a mess.*The suction tube has TWO places to pull in debris,one mid way, and one at the bottom like normal*Excellent splash guard!Remember the dual flip-top lid i told you about? This makes a near 100% splash guard there isnt a drop on the side of my tank((Look at your filter doesn't it have white crusty stuff on it? This is from splashing a few drops now and then))*It uses TWO filter pads NOT side by side but back to backThis is just pure genius! Normal 50 gallon tank filters use two pads but place them side by side. But not marilands 50 gallon filterCONS:-Electrical cable is a bit too short for my taste-Water return is shot out through a small waterfall opening, which makes the water fall hard and fast. This might aggervate fish that are slow swimmers-Instructions were lacking just a bit they combined all 4 penguin models into one sheet of paper. the paper displays each model broken appart with arrows pointing to how everything goes. It gets the job done but i like to read about how each part works-The bio wheel is displayed in a fogged type clear plastic, for everyone to see how dirty the wheel gets when it has bacteria on it
Date published: 2012-02-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Short life span I have had this for about 6 months. It has been filtering rather well which is why it has two stars. For some reason the bio Wheel just stopped turning and no one can tell me why. I tryed cleaning it several times and nothing helped, and now it seems to be getting louder. Piece of junk.
Date published: 2012-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good, Not noisy just adjust this.. I like this filter. I have a 55 gallon aquarium it does a good job. I am thinking about getting a different filter now because of a new algae breakout.I had this filter for a while and it was quiet. I was giving it a thorough cleaning one evening and put it all back together and fired it up. It was VERY noisy. I figured the magnetic motor was messed up, so I kept adjusting it. I found MY noise issue to be the light gray piece (looks like a tab sticking out) on the shaft needed to move to cover the "vent" on the tube.I posted this review to hopefully help people with this issue because it was driving my wife and I crazy.The filter is a good filter, but I am looking into getting the emperor series for an upgrade.
Date published: 2012-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Penguin 150 Three weeks old and the penguin 150 that came with my 28gal bow front is doing wonderful. Filter impeller is almost silent ( I have to strain to hear it) and I love the sound of the return flow surface agitation.
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ONE OF THE GREATEST FILTERS EVER MADE! I have tried a lot of filters on my tanks. Most of them filtered okay, but there was still that fish tank smell. These filters take away all those odors and keep the water so clear! They are nice and quiet too. I also like the fact that they feel well made and are reliable. I don't know much about the Bio-wheels but they must work because I have never had an ammonia or nitirite problem. I own 4 of these filters and when I get a bigger tank I am going with Marineland! A great investment!
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 150's & 350's I don't get it. Where do people get noise from with these filters. I purchased 2 350's and 2 150's and they are very quiet. My older ones produce the water trickling sound but no other impeller sounds. I am recently back in the hobby and have purchased 6 Emperors 4 pengiuns and have just ordered 4 more 350's. One thought I have on noise is if people are getting sand substrate in the filter which will ruin an impeller in no time. One other thing is if the carbon filled cartridges are not rinsed to remove the small particles, which will also destroy the impeller causing noise. I came close to ordering a different brand of filter because of a good deal but backed out before I put in the order. I started thinking about my old Penguins that my son has that are still running and have been for many many years. The price of these on line is like stealing and they're better than most all other filters out there.Sorry for the long rant but i hate to see a great filter beat up on. One more thing my experince on filtration is at least 8 x tank size.(30 gal = 240 gph filter) for healthy fish.Thanks Bob
Date published: 2012-01-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Decent filtration, loud impeller I have had the Penguin 200 in my 30gal. freshwater tank for about 6 months or so and I will say the water does stay reasonably clean even with the large number of fish I have. The down side to this filter though is that the impeller makes a TON of noise. I have tried various ways to quiet the noise, but it will not stop. My last resort is to buy a new impeller and see if that solves anything. I personally wouldn't recommend this filter because the price does not match the quality and the noise is very irritating especially at night while I'm trying to sleep.
Date published: 2012-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product - Penguin Bio-Wheel 200 I don't know why other reviewers have a problem with their Bio-Wheel 200 being noisy. I set mine up according to instructions and it's worked fine with very little noise. I installed a second filter in the slot closest to the Bio-Wheel and noticed that it was obstructing the wheel. Then, I realized that I'd put it in backward. I turned it around, re-installed it the RIGHT way and again, works perfectly and quietly. I would recommend it to anyone!
Date published: 2011-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I think the reviewers are using this product incorrectly... Since my boyfriend has moved in with me, he's made me add 8 fish, 2 cats, and a second chinchilla to my family. I had an Aquaclear 30 filter that was given to me with a 29gal aquarium, and he just wasn't satisfied with it (I saw no problem, but I guess that's how hobbyists are.) He suggested we get the Penguin 150 filter, and now I can see what he was talking about. We only use one filter slot at a time, and it gets disgusting!! Sadly, the filter cartridges are expensive. I try to rinse them out to prolong their life at least a few days, but it normally doesn't work. I'm going to have to look online for cheaper filters. However, the filter is silent! I don't understand all these negative reviews concerning the sound. The only time this filter gets loud is if the water level is too low (especially if the slits in the tube are above water) or if there is air trapped in the filter somewhere. The solution: Pour some water into it and make sure the tube is securely attached how it's supposed to be. (Meaning: just mess around with it for a few moments and you should have no problem.) However, for a while our biowheel would not spin even when there was adequate water flowing under the wheel. Out of the blue the wheel started to spin again and has been spinning like a champ ever since.In conclusion:Pros: works well, silentCons: expensive filters, wheel sometimes doesn't workPS: why is my nickname "punky" and it had some weird email already typed????
Date published: 2011-07-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It's just OK. This filter is just OK. If I were to do an HOB filter again I would go with the Emperor 400. I have the Penguin 350 and I'm just so-so with it. It seems flimsy when I clean it and I prefer the additional filter area of the 400. Wouldn't buy this one again.
Date published: 2011-07-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I would expect to be blending margaritas with something so noisy For the past 9 months this filter has done a great job keeping my 35 gallon tank clean. For this reason alone I have given this product a second star, but cant rank the filter as "average" due to the insanely short life span of the impeller.
Date published: 2011-07-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from RIDICULOUSLY LOUD....Short life, BIO-Wheel 200 RIDICULOUSLY LOUD. I have used Marineland filters for 4years but no more. I have been through 2 bio-wheel 200s in about 1.5 years. They both started out quiet but slowly started to sound like they are chewing through gravel. I have tried cleaning the impeller housing but it was a waste of time. This filter does it's job but I would expect it to last longer and not sound like a rock tumbler.Also, the impeller it's self looks like it is corroding...... Why can't you buy just the impeller I'm not paying for the entire "assembly".
Date published: 2011-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Penguin 150 is a great filter I have never had the noise problem with mine. But the water fall effect dose show up a little faster due to the outlet being a little shorter the aqueon's in my 75 gallon. Not big deal, just keep the tank full. Recovers faster than the aqueon's after tank cleaning. Over all im very pleased.
Date published: 2011-06-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from PENGUIN 150 VERY LOUD Seems to be a problem with these filters. I have 2 of them, one is okay but after a few weeks the impeller bacame very loud in the second one. Everything I have tried ( cleaning, repositioning impeller and impeller housing and lift tube) has not helped. It does drive you crazy after awile.
Date published: 2011-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best outside filter I have used. I currently use two of the 200s. They are very quiet and effective. The only negatives are that the flow rate can not be adjusted (minor issue) and that is not a refillable carbon element available. I would prefer a separate foam filter and separate refillable carbon cage or bag.
Date published: 2011-06-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from LOUD, VERY LOUD. I purchased the Penguin 150, this thing is loud. I could hear it all over the house. I don't recommend it. At all!
Date published: 2011-05-29
  • y_2018, m_1, d_20, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_156
  • loc_en_US, sid_PF0100B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland

My Penguin 350 seems to be working great on a 55 gal freshwater tank!  Does the adjustment on the intake snorkel speed up or impede the flow when it's fully closed?

Asked by: AtlFish
Neither, really. It is there to allow water to be pulled in from the middle of the tank, and not just at the bottom of it. This is most important in taller tanks, as it moves the water at both levels, but it has no effect on the actual flow rate of the filter. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-21

Are these filters for fresh water tanks?

Asked by: Alon
They are for either fresh or salt water aquariums. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-20

While treating my 60 gal. aquarium with Pimafix, should I remove the bio-wheels?

Asked by: treebug
No, Pimafix will not harm them at all, and removing them will definitely kill off the bacteria. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-20

Can I / should I rinse the bio filter wheel (I have 2 Marineland 350 for almost 2 years and all is good). I noticed few small packets on the wheel that looks as remaining of food, is it okay to rinse under cold water or will it hurt the bacteria? Thanks

Asked by: AviW
It is best to simply use a q tip and swab between the folds rather than rinse the bio wheel. Some people "swish" it gently in water taken from the aquarium during a water change. Do not rinse with cold, chlorinated water though. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-20

What are the dimensions of the penguin 100

Asked by: LJP1
5.5 X 5 X 7.5 BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-17

If I have a 38 gallon fresh water tank would the bio wheel 350 be to big of a filter for it? 

Asked by: Mhhh
No, it would not. I have a 38 gallon and have run that filter, along with the Penguin 200 simultaneously, without an issue. I keep small fish such as tetras, typically, live plants, angelfish, etc. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-15

Has the Marineland 350 changed from up 75 to 70 gallon. I just purchased a new one a couple of days ago and the one I received says up to 75 gallon tank. I have seen them on different websites advertised as 70 gallon. What is the differents ? 

Asked by: Zippyman
The new packaging states they are rated for up to 75 gallons now. New research verified the higher flow rate on this product, so we changed the packaging. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-14

HI. My biowheel has white fuzzy mold or something no growing on the edges. is this healthy?? There's black fuzzy too. It's been set up 5 years and never had this.

Asked by: Ashleyzappe
Could be a type of algae most likely. Just remove the bio wheel and using a q tip, clean between the folds. Also, take the filter apart, and clean each piece individually as well. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-14

I've got a deluxe mag350 that came with a biowheels but I cant find the attachment to it from the hose outtake. Where can I get this part?

Asked by: happypoon
If you are referring to connecting the outlet to the bio wheels, the only parts we have left for the Magnum Pro filter are these: http://www.marineland.com/search.aspx?q=bio%20wheel%20pro#/?filter.brand=Marineland. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-14

Does the bio wheel spin at a rapid spin or just slow and spin

Asked by: jackie01
When you first install the filter, it will spin pretty rapidly. Once it absorbs water, it will begin slowing down, and once it builds up a really good bio load, it may actually start and stop. There is no right or wrong speed. Slower is generally better just because the bio wheel is exposed to oxygen for longer periods of time, leading to more biological filtration. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-14

Hi, my Marineland Penguin bio wheel 75 has not worked. It has been off and on, and my 4 year old fish are at risk. They are rare fish. Anyway, any suggestions on how to get it working? Tried starting again, unplugging, cleaning it. PLEASE help. Thx.

Asked by: JacieBoo
If it is starting and stopping so to speak, make sure you do not have sand in the aquarium that could be causing the issue. When sand is in use, you need to place filter floss inside the strainer or put an accessory sponge over the strainer. Another thing that will cause filters to turn on and off are air bubbles. If you have an air stone in the tank, try turning it off and testing the filter. Take the filter apart, removing the intake tube, impeller housing, and impeller. Clean it thoroughly, especially the impeller, and the bottom of the filter box, where the impeller resides in the motor well. You may have some sludge or other build up causing an issue. In the event of hard water or marine water, use distilled white vinegar to clean everything and rinse well. Last, make sure it is plugged into a power strip and not an outlet in case of voltage issues, if this is an older home. A filter's purpose is not to keep the fish alive, but to reduce the maintenance of the tank. So until you determine what the issue is with the filter, step up on the water changes. Vacuum and do 10% at a time, every couple of days, if the filter continues to have an issue. Also, call us directly so we may assist you. 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-26

I'm building a 10gal nano tank with red crystal shrimp and vary tiny rare fish is the penguin power filter 100 safe for fry and baby shrimp or will they be sucked into the filter and if so is there a way to put a protector sponge on the filter intake

Asked by: Arux584
The only type of filter that would be safe for fry and baby shrimp would be a sponge filter, operated by an air pump. If you use the Penguin filter, place filter floss inside the strainers. This comes in bags for just a few dollars and looks like a giant cotton ball. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-10

How come my wheel has stopped spinning and what can I do about it??

Asked by: teens
It is completely controlled by the flow rate of the filter. Most likely you need to take the filter system off of the tank, and take it apart to clean it. Pay close attention to the impeller and the reservoir it sits in. Use hot water and distilled white vinegar to clean it. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-10

Hello. I have a Smallville 2,5 gallon 2 fish aquarium. Is penguin's smallest edition good for me? Or just too much?

Asked by: Tiago
An up to 20gal filter on a tiny 2 gal is way to much suction I suggest looking into Nano tank filters for 5gal or less 5gal being the most suction on your tiny tank if your working with Beta they don't prefer to much water movement as there not strong swimmers but a filter is a must i think tetra and Fulval make nano filters 
Answered by: Arux584
Date published: 2017-03-10

brand new bio penguin 75 in a newly set up tank. (Marineland Starter kit.) Ran for about 60 sec. then stopped. I cleaned filter, water level in tank is right. will not start again.

Asked by: Jakka25
Going to answer my own question. Returned the Bio 75...Replaced with Aqueon LED Pro. Working fine.
Answered by: Jakka24
Date published: 2017-03-07

my penguin 350 filter pads release tons of micro bubbles into the water making it cloudy. what should i do to stop this from happening

Asked by: mike222
Most likely you need to raise your water level in the tank. The spillway of the filter should rest in the water so that there is less splashing. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-15

will the 350 penguin impeller work in the 200 penguin model... I have a 280 penguin I using a 400 impeller works great

Asked by: iceman4856
Iceman4856, Thank you for your inquiry. However, the impellers for our units are not interchangeable. You need to be running the proper impeller for the size of filter system to achieve the proper flow rate. Thank you, Christina
Answered by: MINI
Date published: 2017-03-03

I need the round filter for a Penguin 150 Bio Wheel. Where can I purchase this item?

Asked by: BarbaraKrauth
Barbara, Thank you for your inquiry. You are describing the Bio-Wheel for the Penguin 150. We sell these directly online to our consumers. Please type in the search box PRBW150B and the bio-wheel will become available for purchasing. Thank you, Christina
Answered by: MINI
Date published: 2017-02-28

I have a Penguin bio wheel 100 power filter. I need a new impeller, but not sure which one to order. Confused by product numbers. Which is correct ? Thanks

Asked by: joem
You need the impeller, PRIM100B. http://www.marineland.com/Products/aquarium-parts/Filtration-Products-and-Skimmers/Penguin-Parts/Impeller-Parts/Impeller-Assembly-Penguin-100B.aspx BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-02-23

I have a new emperor 400, the water jet tubes only work for a few seconds before stopping all together, air can be heard gurgling as it stops. I have taken it apart and inspected several times but can't find a noticeable cause.

Asked by: DraxixEntreri
Sounds like either the flow manifold housing cover is missing or not attached properly. You need to disconnect the spray bars, pull up the manifold housing, and check to see if it is in place on the bottom of it. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-02-21

I own two marineland filters. The 100 and 200 series. I love them both as they are very quiet and work amazing. However I just picked up the 350 for my 55gallon tank and it seems to make a lot of noise. Mainly the motor. Is this common for the larger size

Asked by: Jwhite
No, not really. It should be just as quiet. Remove the intake tube, impeller housing, and impeller and re-connect then re-seat them. These parts may not have been installed correctly on the production line or may have been knocked out of position during shipping. Also, make sure there is no air stone near the intake tube, and that the filter is plugged into a power strip with surge protection. If you are unable to resolve the issue, please call us at 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-02-21

Hi I just bought biowheel penguin 150 and everything is working fine except the biowheel is not turning at all. The water doesn't seem to be hitting it at all. What can I do to get the water to hit the wheel to start it turning?

Asked by: 20Gallonfishlove
Make sure the water level in the tank is all the way to the top of the tank for one thing. This is the most likely culprit in a new filter system. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-02-21

I have 29 gallon marineland tank with 5 rather large goldfish in it.. It came with bio-wheel 150 but it seems with goldfish level of waste it is not enough( getting plugged almost every other day). I am thinking about upgrading filter. Is 350 too big?

Asked by: Olga G
No, if the goldfish are good size, they will not be bothered by this filter at all. The additional filtration would be good to have, but make sure you run the old filter for a week or so as well, until the new one has built up its own bacterial base. Or you can put your old media into the new filter system. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-10

I have the Marineland Bio Wheel Penguin 200 bout it maybe 2 months ago. Wheel stops spinning, water overflows the intake chute. Like the cartidge is stopping the water from flowing. Have taken it all apart and rinsed and cleaned any buildup.

Asked by: Eliza87
Take it apart again, this time place the impeller into a dish of distilled white vinegar and let it soak for about 15 minutes. Take a paper towel and soak a corner in the vinegar, as well, then twist it and pack it into the motor at the bottom of the filter box. Let it sit for a few minutes, then twist it around to clean out the motor. You may also want to use a small baby bottle brush to clean out the intake tube and the impeller housing. There is some debris somewhere, interfering with the filter. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-02-17

I have a penguin bio-wheel 200 and the wheel is still spinning but the water is not getting clean, what should i put inside the filter?

Asked by: AwesomeRazor
There are a lot of possible reasons why your tank may not appear clean. It would help to know more about the tank such as how long it has been set up, what kind and quantity of fish, your routine for partial water changes, etc. We would actually recommend a partial water change, addition of Tetra SafeStart Plus, and either a second filter cartridge or adding some additional carbon, ammo chips, floss or bio beads. Test your water quality parameters as well to help determine the issue so you can make an educated guess as to what type of media you need to add more of to the tank. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-02-17

My filter is brand new , plugged it in and nothing is happening 

Asked by: Ivy1
Pull out the intake tube, impeller housing, and impeller, check them for any damage, then re-seat them. The impeller may be jammed or not seated properly. If the unit still makes no noise, contact us at 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-02-14

I have a 350 that I bought at least 20 years ago still rocking and rolling. My question is do y'all have reusable cartridges like the company that walmart sells? All i can ever remember seeing are the completely sealed filters.

Asked by: Insaneinnixa
We still have the sealed cartridges, but you can buy media containers for this filter and fill them with whatever type of media you want/need for your tank. Here is a link to a site that carries them. Scroll to the bottom of the list on this page: https://www.petsolutions.com/C/Aquarium-Filter-Cartridges/I/Marineland-Penguin-Filter-Cartridges.aspx?catargetid=520009670000581070&cadevice=c&gclid=Cj0KEQiAw_DEBRChnYiQ_562gsEBEiQA4Lcssvt8NS7mqCrwDs76gaN0PZjLM03QkLXxnQOmy7YseGYaAhpB8P8HAQ. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-02-21

my 10 Gallon bio wheel filter isn't working. I've tried priming, un plugging it and plugin it back it...... could there be a loose part I should be concerned about?.....or anything else I could do?

Asked by: CFred44
A very dirty filter cartridge can slow the water flow and stop the bio-wheel from spinning. Try replacing the cartridge.
Answered by: SailorVF21
Date published: 2017-02-09

Hi I has a penguin 200 with my 29 gallon tank and the bio wheel has stopped turning and the water started to over flow over the intake tube I put two new filters in on 01/22 and my tank is clear and clean so I think its to soon to need new filters ?

Asked by: Coco
Hi Coco, How often you need to change filter cartridges depends on the size tank, number of fish, types of fish, and feeding routine. Typically, they need changing every two to four weeks. You may also need to clean out the intake tube, impeller, and well down inside the filter box. These areas can build up sludge, algae, and other deposits. Take the filter apart, and clean each piece separately. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-02-06

Is there any Carbon in the actual bio-wheel? I know the filter inserts have carbon, and I'm not using them intentionally. But something is removing the medication from my quarantine tank and I suspect carbon in the bio wheel.

Asked by: maggarcj
No, there is absolutely NO carbon in the bio wheel. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-02-02
  • y_2018, m_1, d_20, h_9CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_573
  • loc_en_US, sid_PF0100B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland
PF0075B - Penguin 75 - 10 gal/75 GPH
PF0100B - Penguin 100 - 20 gal/100 GPH
PF0150B - Penguin 150 - 30 gal/150 GPH
PF0200B - Penguin 200 - 50 gal/200 GPH
PF0350B - Penguin 350 - 75 gal/350 GPH

Penguin Power Filter Manual 75B

Penguin Power Filter Manual Models 100B, 150B, 200B and 350B  

Penguin Quick Set Up Guide Models 100B, 150B, 200B and 350B 

 

 

Product

Certified Flow Rate

Aquarium Size

Rite Size Media

Penguin 75B

75 GPH

up to 10 gallons

A

Penguin 100B

100 GPH

up to 20 gallons

A

Penguin 150B

150 GPH

up to 30 gallons

B

Penguin 200B

200 GPH

up to 50 gallons

C

Penguin 350B

350 GPH

up to 75 gallons

C

Penguin & Emperor Cartridge Dimensions

Replacement Parts