Penguin® Power Filters

Product No. PF0100B
Find a Store In Stock

All Penguin® BIO-Wheel® Power Filters deliver easy, three-stage mechanical, chemical and biological aquarium filtration.

Convenient Penguin Rite-SizeTM Filter Cartridges come ready to use with each filter...ready to mechanically and chemically remove waste, discoloration and odors. Each contains new faster-acting Black Diamond® Premium Activated Carbon for maximum efficiency. Biological filtration is provided by the revolutionary and patented BIO-Wheel - proven best at removing toxic ammonia and nitrite.

All BIO-Wheel filters feature Noise-Reducing Two-Piece Vented Covers, and Adjustable Mid-Level Intake Strainers.

The Penguin® 75 BIO-Wheel® Power Filter brings Penguin's 3-stage filtration technology to aquariums up to 10 gallons. The 75 is ideal for new aquariums as well as establish tanks in need of an upgrade.

Penguin® Power Filters is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 169.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Found the fix for noise filter While the filter is running, try to lift up the intake tube from the top. Just a little bit. Or when putting the intake tube in, don't push the tube all the way down.
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from verygood filter on my fresh water tank A+++++ would recoment marineland items any time. own several items my self.
Date published: 2013-11-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from never again I bought the 350 just under 2 weeks ago and it just stopped working. I can hear the motor running and can feel the sucking power from the intake tube but it is doing nothing. I returned it to the place of purchase and switched it out for another one of the same. I got home and installed it and again the same problem. I'm just gonna give up on this brand and return this last one and switch it out for another brand.
Date published: 2013-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great filtration I bought the Marineland 20Gal LED tank kit and the peguin 20gal filter. The ilter works very well even a year and a half later. I run two filter cartridges in it without any flow issues. The Biowheel is a good bonus to the system. Highly recommnd this brand for any tank.
Date published: 2013-10-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poorly made I purchased a Penguin Power filter 150 and I have had nothing but problems! The impeller is garbage! As soon as you take the filter apart to clean it, it is never the same.. It starts making a loud grinding noise that comes and goes and eventually just stays that way. I have cleaned this product with vinegar but it doesnt seem to help.
Date published: 2013-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smmmmaaarrt Design! Mine has only been running 2 weeks, so long term reliability aside; the stacked cartridges, double adjustable inlet, & biowheel are awesome features. It's easy, quiet, & my fish favor the current on that side of the tank over the power head at the other (i'm gonna move it closer to the middle now). My 20gal salt cycled with 2 clowns, 8lbs of live rock, 10lbs live sand, & a bacteria dose in only 2 weeks!
Date published: 2013-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Purchased 2 Penguin 330's in April 2013 for a 70gl and I am very happy with this product. Very quiet and no problems except for a slow bio wheel which is totally fine. These replaced 2 penguin 300's that were still running fine after 12 years straight service on the tank. and are now in the boxes as back ups. Crystal clean water as always and didn't even look at any other filter product line on the market before my purchase.
Date published: 2013-09-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Had this filter less than four months and it quit working I bought this filter back in May. I woke up two nights ago and it had died sometime in the middle of the night. I have cheap filters that came in starter kits that still work after 2 years. I will never buy or recommend another Marineland filter after this.
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wicked Good Aquarium Filter and the product price is beyond fair! My last filter bit it when I came home to find at some point during the day my neighborhood had lost power. I have a very busy and somewhat hectic schedule and was only able to search for a replacement filter on line for short periods of time.Due to the fact the fish our my Son's goldfish, (dirty lil' buggers) I had to get a replacement ASAP as I do not have time to clean the tank a couple of times every 7-10 days.Within a few days I had narrowed down my choices to 3 different filters from 3 different competitors. Price, function and in store availability were my determining factors.With this information in hand, I headed out to the local pet supply store in search of a replacement filter.Once I had all 3 contenders in front of me for inspection, my choice was made easy by mainly the price of the filter, then the availability of replacement cartridges and lastly the fact that the particular filter I chose was the last one they had telling me I wasn't alone in thinking this filter is a good choice.So, I purchased the filter, brought it home, put it together, primed it and plugged it in.I had second thoughts as to my decision to not clean the tank prior to plugging in the new filter, but as I stated earlier my schedule is crazy busy and well, the tank was just a bit cloudy, not really dirty at all so I just left it be.When I woke up the next morning I was stunned at how amazing the tank appeared. It looks as though it had, had a thorough cleaning!!! The water is crystal clear and odorless and the fish, albeit are just your run of the mill goldfish are happy and thriving well. I am genuinely pleased with my choice of filter as are my Son's Goldfish!Given the price, availability and function, from here on out, I WILL only purchase Marineland products. THANK YOU for offering this filter and all the other products I've found in my search. Your products ROCK!!! :O)
Date published: 2013-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from will repair and still use, if possible. the 330 filter has served me well, a good product, that is why I would like a replacement part.
Date published: 2013-08-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from bio-wheel does not spin. I have a bio-wheel 400 and it works perfect. both wheels spin. I have been through 2 bio-wheel 200's in the past 4 months and both work good for a couple weeks and then no wheel spin. how am I expected to cycle my 29 gallon tank if I can't get the main component to worh.
Date published: 2013-08-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Always breaking We are on our 6th one. Plus how ever many filters we have bought thinking that was the problem. I wish someone could come out with a better product. So frustrating.
Date published: 2013-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These filters are great filters. These filters are great filters and they keep my aquarium clean and clear.
Date published: 2013-07-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor filtration This just nit put out enough power to keep the water clean, I had to replace the first one that did not last a year
Date published: 2013-07-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from didnt even work spent so much time trying to set it up, and it never even turned on. bio wheel doesnt spin, tube is way too long for my tank. now i have 3 fish stuck in measuring cups because the filter doesnt work
Date published: 2013-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from More trouble than it's worth. Bought myself a penguin 100 for Christmas and it died in less than 30 days. Just stopped pumping! Took it back to Petco and they gave me another one no questions asked. I was wise enough to keep my old bio wheel to put on the new filter and after about 3 weeks the wheel hardly turns. I guess I have to take the whole thing apart and clean or see if something is broken. I don't keep a lot of fish and I NEVER over feed so I'm disappointed that I have to do so much maintenance already. There has to be a better filter out there somewhere.
Date published: 2013-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Average Filter I purchased a 200 Penguin Bio-wheel filter 4 weeks ago.PROS:1. Good overall buy for the price.CONS:1. You can't have a dual filter cartridge as the packing says you can. If you add a second filter cartridge then the water struggles to get through both filters, backs up, and just pours out through the water overflow chamber. This completely bypasses the bio-wheel which defeats the purpose of having one. It started working property when I removed the second filter cartridge. But now after a few days it started backing up again. So I rinsed the cartridge and it started working again. Then a few days later it started backing up again and the cartridge wasn't even dirty. But again it started working after I pulled the cartridge out of the slot a little bit. I'm not sure what the problem is with the filters. Perhaps too full of carbon or perhaps the water overflow chamber needs to be bigger. Not sure.
Date published: 2013-01-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product is not reliable I purchased the Penguin 200 Bio-Filter only two Months ago, and now it has started t fail. The problem seams to be that the flow of the water has been reduced to the point the Bio-Wheel will not turn. I have taken it apart to clean it, and it looks very clean, so something else is the problem. I certainly don't want to purchase another one, but will need a pump in the very near future. I don;t think I will get this brand again!
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from lifespan of a mayfly My first penguin 200 filter lasted about 2 years. Not great, but okay for the price, so I bought another one. That one lasted 6 months. (The bio-wheel on both never turned, but I figured that was just a gimmick anyway.)I won't be giving this brand a third try.
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Noisy after 2 months When I bought this I was warned that many people had issues with impeller noise, but I got one anyway. The price was good and for two months it worked perfect. Then the noises started. I give my filters a good cleaning monthly and the inside is spotless, but for some reason it started making this awful rattling noise inside the impeller housing. You would think these things would last for more than a couple months. I understand that parts do wear out eventually, but that soon? And for the price of a new impeller, I could almost buy a whole new unit.I won't make the same mistake twice. Marineland should really step up the QA department drastically.
Date published: 2012-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality filter for freshwater tanks I ditched the water filter that came with my 20 gallon tank because it was too small, too loud and did a poor job cleaning my tank. I couldn't maintain a healthy tank. I picked up a Marineland Penguin filter because I recognized the brand and knew they made premium products. With the BIO wheel and high-grade carbon filter that comes with the Penguin, I've been able to keep a clean, clear water tank. The Penguin is much quieter than the filter it replaced. The water is sparkling clear and my fish have never been happier. I recommend using two filter cartridges--when possible. This keeps the water very clean and my fish happy.
Date published: 2012-09-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It was quiet, especially when it stopped working I bought this on May 28th to replace a filter system that we'd been using for several years that finally gave out. We had had one with a bio wheel in the past and our aquarium has an algae issue, so we went with the 200 for the 2 filters and the bio wheel. Up until today (Aug 7th), it's worked fine, but I came home from work and could hear the motor as soon as I walked in the door which is highly unusual. I walked over and took to the top cover off to make sure that something hadn't gotten sucked up into it and the whole thing just shut off and wouldn't come back on. I couldn't find anything clogging the tube or the fly wheel, it's like it just decided "Well, it's been 2 months, time to shut down".
Date published: 2012-08-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nice while it lasts (which is not long) I had a Marineland Penguin 100 B filter, nice little gizmo, quiet, good filtration, mainly i bought because i liked the biowheel.I was satisfied overall with the product until it stopped working, approximately 9 months after i bought it. Since i had to buy another filter anyway, i decided to go with another brand as i did not see the value due to lack of durability.
Date published: 2012-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Little Filter! I really don't understand why so many people claim to have issues. I have been utilizing different Penguin models for many years on several nano reef tanks and have yet to have issues with any of them. I'm currently maintaining a 10 gal nano (Penguin 150B) which has been in operation for about 5 years and have yet needed to replace any parts aside from the filter pads. I wonder when the impeller is going to fail but it is still running fine. I highly recommend this line of Marineland filters.
Date published: 2012-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Filter Syatem Penguin 100 I am new to this hobby and i have a 10gl starter tank kit. I have never had a problem with this unit. great price and good size.Fish are loving it.I to did have that problem with my bio wheel but i cleand every thing inside and out and then cheanged the fileter and bio wheel and now works great. It seams the problem was with the bio wheel it was much heaver then the new one even when the new bio wheel was wet and used for 3 days. So what i am saying is if the bio wheel gets a lot of grouth on it it seams to slow down and can stop.And yeas sad to say i lost 3 guppies due to bio wheel stoping and not knowing what to do.Thanks to all at Marineland keep up the good work..
Date published: 2012-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Silent and powerful Penguin 200 Not sure why everyone is complaining about "noise" I know for a fact if you assemble the thing correctly you have no noise. This is true for ANY aquatic filter.Mostly what i read above sounds like a good 30% of them dont know how to take care of their fish.Lets hit the highlights of this filter:*Has a two part flip-top lidthis allows you to remove your filters and wash them off easily without spilling any water or making a mess.*The suction tube has TWO places to pull in debris,one mid way, and one at the bottom like normal*Excellent splash guard!Remember the dual flip-top lid i told you about? This makes a near 100% splash guard there isnt a drop on the side of my tank((Look at your filter doesn't it have white crusty stuff on it? This is from splashing a few drops now and then))*It uses TWO filter pads NOT side by side but back to backThis is just pure genius! Normal 50 gallon tank filters use two pads but place them side by side. But not marilands 50 gallon filterCONS:-Electrical cable is a bit too short for my taste-Water return is shot out through a small waterfall opening, which makes the water fall hard and fast. This might aggervate fish that are slow swimmers-Instructions were lacking just a bit they combined all 4 penguin models into one sheet of paper. the paper displays each model broken appart with arrows pointing to how everything goes. It gets the job done but i like to read about how each part works-The bio wheel is displayed in a fogged type clear plastic, for everyone to see how dirty the wheel gets when it has bacteria on it
Date published: 2012-02-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Short life span I have had this for about 6 months. It has been filtering rather well which is why it has two stars. For some reason the bio Wheel just stopped turning and no one can tell me why. I tryed cleaning it several times and nothing helped, and now it seems to be getting louder. Piece of junk.
Date published: 2012-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good, Not noisy just adjust this.. I like this filter. I have a 55 gallon aquarium it does a good job. I am thinking about getting a different filter now because of a new algae breakout.I had this filter for a while and it was quiet. I was giving it a thorough cleaning one evening and put it all back together and fired it up. It was VERY noisy. I figured the magnetic motor was messed up, so I kept adjusting it. I found MY noise issue to be the light gray piece (looks like a tab sticking out) on the shaft needed to move to cover the "vent" on the tube.I posted this review to hopefully help people with this issue because it was driving my wife and I crazy.The filter is a good filter, but I am looking into getting the emperor series for an upgrade.
Date published: 2012-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Penguin 150 Three weeks old and the penguin 150 that came with my 28gal bow front is doing wonderful. Filter impeller is almost silent ( I have to strain to hear it) and I love the sound of the return flow surface agitation.
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ONE OF THE GREATEST FILTERS EVER MADE! I have tried a lot of filters on my tanks. Most of them filtered okay, but there was still that fish tank smell. These filters take away all those odors and keep the water so clear! They are nice and quiet too. I also like the fact that they feel well made and are reliable. I don't know much about the Bio-wheels but they must work because I have never had an ammonia or nitirite problem. I own 4 of these filters and when I get a bigger tank I am going with Marineland! A great investment!
Date published: 2012-01-18
  • y_2018, m_4, d_24, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_169
  • loc_en_US, sid_PF0100B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland

my penguin 75 will not suck up water to allow the wheel to turn what should i do?

Asked by: jen1992
We would recommend taking it apart to clean it. The impeller, down in the bottom on the right hand side, is probably clogged. Pull out the intake tube, then the impeller housing to access the impeller. Be sure to clean the bottom of the filter box as well. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-06-22

Do I need to replace my Bio Wheel? Both of them stop spinning at times and I've noticed that there is a tear between 2 pleats on each of them. I've cleaned the filter as instructed and they are spinning slower than they used to.

Asked by: DebbieD
Spinning slower or stopping and starting are both okay, as long as they do turn on their own. There is nor right or wrong speed. However, if the tears are pretty large, we would recommend replacing them. Try to buy new ones, and float them for a week or so, then swap them with the old ones, in order to not disrupt your biological filter. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-06-22

Our model 75 filter has stopped working completely, and the water around it is hot. What should we do to get it running again?

Asked by: TheApexPred
You need to remove the intake tube, impeller and impeller housing. Clean them, as well as the bottom of the filter box on the right hand side, where the impeller resides. If you have hard water, use distilled vinegar. Call 1-800-322-1266 if you need additional help. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-06-22

I have the Marineland Penguin 350, I did thee above & it is still not working. The bio wheel spins if I move it but it seems like the water isn't flowing as hard as it use to & there is no water pushing my Bio wheels yet the filter is filled. Help! :(

Asked by: Char93
I just had to maintenance my Biowheel 100. Here is what I found. The impeller wasn't spinning and when I took the impeller shaft out and tried to spin it I found that there was much resistance to where it wasn't spinning freely at all. I took the rubber boots off the ends and using pliers, carefully pulled the plastic end off of one end to free the shaft. I took it loose and found the antennae of one of my dead ghost shrimp between the shaft and the plastic housing! I couldn't believe it but that kind of thing happens to me all the time. As soon as I put it back together it ran freely again and works perfectly. I hope that is of some use to you. If the impeller spins slowly, the volume of water will decrease in turn.
Answered by: BigKev
Date published: 2017-06-22

I just purchase a penguin 200. The bio wheel doesn't spin. Is there a way to increase the flow? Not sure if there's an adjustment I'm not seeing!

Asked by: Horselady1
No, the flow is not adjustable. Your water level needs to be to the top of the tank, and the purple bearings should be in place at each end of the bio wheel. Make sure they are installed properly. If you are unable to resolve this issue, you may have a warped bio wheel so please give us a call at 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-06-20

We turned our aquarium off for a quick clean. When I turned it back on our power supply where bio wheel is would not work. We use Penguin 75. It's only 1 year old. What are my options?

Asked by: Jenia
Hi Jenia, You need to take the filter off of the tank, take it apart, and clean it, especially the intake tube, impeller housing, and impeller assembly as well as the well of the motor where the impeller resides. All of this is on the right hand side of the filter. If you need assistance with this please call 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-06-19

I recently started a tank with two clownfish and the 350 seems to have a strong current on them. Is there any fix or adjustment for current?

Asked by: Benbagbag
The outlet diffuser has two flaps in the middle of it that allow you to adjust the flow somewhat. You can also turn the diffuser to alter the direction of the flow. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-04

I purchased one of your Penquin 200 Filters and noticed some comments on Amazon.com about needing an air pump with this filter. Is that true?

Asked by: VickyPar
No, not at all. It provides oxygen by moving the water. You only need an air pump if the tank is heavily stocked or poorly maintained. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-06-13

is this sill available? and can I get a description

Asked by: Bob54
Yes, our entire line of Penguin filters are very much available. http://www.marineland.com/Products/aquarium-filters-and-protein-skimmers/penguin-bio-wheel-filter-saltwater-filter-freshwater-filter.aspx BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-06-13

Hello I purchased the penguin 200 for my 39 gallon tank last Thursday. I have been seeing comments that I can add a second filter cartridge inside. Is this true? if so could I add now that fish are in the tank? Also which way does the blue part face?

Asked by: rashida
Yes, you can place two filter cartridges inside the filter, and yes, they can be removed or added, after the filter is installed on the tank. It doesn't bother the fish. The blue floss faces towards the back of the filter. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-06-08

My 38 gallon bow front Marineland has two Penguin 200B filters. The intakes only reach a little below the center of the tank. What is the ideal location off the bottom of the substrate for the intakes?

Asked by: SteveTrustworthy
Hi Steve, It is recommended to place the strainer halfway to three quarters of the way down the back of the tank. Sounds like yours is in the ideal spot. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-06-07

Hello there!  I have a Marineland Penguin BioWheel 100.  Everything I have read or seen on YouTube says I won't have to replace...but will I ever have to replace the BioWheel?

Asked by: Justin M
Hi Justin M, No, not unless it becomes damaged somehow. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-06-06

I purchased a new 20 gallon starter kit with a 150 filter. I put everything together and plugged in the filter while the intake was properly submerged and with water in the reservoir. All it does is make noise and blow bubbles insise the unit. Help! 

Asked by: masimons47
The water level in the tank must be to the top of the tank. If it is, then pull up the intake tube and impeller housing, and re-seat them as they may not be properly installed. If you are unable to resolve this issue yourself, please call us at 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-06-05

I just purchased a 10 gal tank and came with a 75 biowheel. Will the tanks be ok using a penguin 100?

Asked by: Kim85
Yes, the Penguin 100 is rated for tanks from 10-20 gallons. Make sure you only use the intake tube and the bottom strainer. The two middle pieces will only work if you have a 20 gallon tank. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-06-01

I'm curious if my marineland penguin 200 is defective? On random days & times it stops filtering/pushing water through the bio wheel. I have to lift covers off, (still water inside) lift the impeller housing a little, then it starts working again.

Asked by: Emilio
Hi Emilio, Do you have sand in the aquarium or an air stone near the intake tube? This issue usually happens when sand or bubbles get pulled up into the filter system. Move the air stone further away if that is the case. If it is sand, take the filter completely apart, and thoroughly clean it, then place filter floss inside the bottom strainer, or you can buy a sponge accessory at Petsmart to put over the strainer. If you have neither, then take the unit apart, and clean out the motor and the impeller as something may be interfering with it. Call us at 1-800-322-1266 if you are unable to resolve this on your own. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-06-01

I just bought the 10 gal aquarium starter kit and the 75 penguin was quiet but not good enough so I switch out to a 100 penguin and this one is louder than ever. I need help on any advice to get rid of the rattling sound please.

Asked by: Kkim85
Rattling is usually due to one of a couple of things: - air bubbles trapped around the impeller - pull the intake tube up and re-seat it several times to work the bubbles out - impeller, impeller housing or intake tube not seated properly - remove all of these, inspect them, and re-seat them - air stone near the intake tube - move it - hood pressing against the filter - check to make sure everything is fitting correctly Please call us for further assistance. 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-05-31

The 10 gallon starter kit came with a heater but it does not fit inside the lid. Maybe I didn't do it correctly but the water like ok the heater and the water level on the top of my aquarium do not match the heater is basically fully submerged into mytank

Asked by: Kkim85
All of our heaters require being fully submerged. They can be vertical or horizontal, and should be under water at all times. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-05-31

I run twin 350's hob filters on my 125gl aquarium. One of them bought from amazon doesnt sit on the tank correctly and now the bio wheels wont turn. It has been cleaned. Any suggestions out of the norm?

Asked by: Crp0069
The frame on the tank is probably too wide for this filter. However, you might check the stand off. This is a plastic piece on the filter body that holds it level against the tank. You will need to remove the filter from the tank to check on this part and make sure it is there and/or not damaged. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-05-31

Are bio wheels made of carbon?

Asked by: Koi56
Great question! The bio wheel is not made of carbon. The BIO-Wheel filter forms a large three-dimensional area for cultivating aerobic bacteria which work to eliminate toxic ammonia and nitrite from aquarium water. Read more about filtration here: http://www.marineland.com/Guides/Advanced-Filtration-Infographic.aspx.
Answered by: Customer Service
Date published: 2017-05-31

How many filters does the Bio Wheel Penguin 200 pump need? Thank you.

Asked by: Miss Laverne
Hi Miss Laverne, It needs at least one, but can hold two, depending on your tank's needs. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-05-23

I have a Marineland 75G tank and I want to use two Penguin 350 filters. The filter doesn't fit on the frame, though, which is odd since I'm using all Marineland products. It doesn't sit all the way down and it makes it lean forward. Any advice?

Asked by: LCLCola
It's definitely a Marineland tank. I bought the LED AQUARIUM 75 & STAND set from PetSmart. I have purchased everything I own for the tank from Marineland except the gravel, driftwood, and the fish themselves (I'd probably get those too if you all sold them). I can see the sticker sticking out a bit but it is obscured by the center brace of the stand. To be more clear, the Penguin 350 will hang on to the frame but the frame on the 75 is a bit thicker than the 29 Gallon I used to have it mounted on, so it doesn't sit completely on the frame. If you sit one on a smaller aquarium and then on the frame of the 75, you'll see what I mean.
Answered by: LCLCola
Date published: 2017-05-19

My bio wheel doesn't turn unless I cover the overflow outlet. I've cleaned all the parts, what else can I do?

Asked by: Jknt
I'm not sure I understand what you mean by covering the overflow outlet, as that should not effect it. If you only used water to clean, soak the impeller in distilled white vinegar, and clean out the bottom of the filter box, specifically the motor well, with vinegar and a paper towel. You may have deposits interfering with the flow rate that only vinegar can remove. Also, make sure your purple bearings are in place at each end of the bio wheel. If you are unable to resolve this, just give us a call at 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-05-16

I bought a Biowheel 350 and from the beginning it is very noisy. Not "splashy", it's a very loud mechanical sound. The aquarium is right in the middle of our house and can be heard from every room. I don't remember this happening the last time I owned one

Asked by: MrsG
We are sorry to hear you are having some noise issues. Remove the intake tube, impeller housing and impeller. Inspect all of them, and clean any debris off that you find. Also, check down in the well of the motor where the impeller resides to make sure there is no grit or sand, any debris in that area. When inspecting the impeller, make sure it was connected to the impeller housing properly. The blades should not rub the underside of the housing, for example. This would definitely cause a mechanical sound. If you cannot resolve this, please call us at 1-800-322-1255. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-08-04

We have the 350 and it does not work. Any suggestions on what to do?

Asked by: Tolly
Hi Tolly, That depends on what you mean by "it won't work" as well as how old it is at this time. If it is brand new, pull up the intake tube, and remove the impeller housing and impeller, then re-seat them. They could be in the wrong position. Also, prime it by filling it with water, and make sure the water level in the tank is to the top of the tank. If this is an older filter, the same basically applies, except you need to clean the parts, especially the impeller and the well of the motor. Please call us if you cannot resolve it. 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-05-08

I have a emperor 400b filter both bio wheels were stored with something laying on them they look like new but some of the pleats have a fold in them I can not seem to straighten out I tried soak them in water bending them back could I use a hair dryer

Asked by: Moew
As long as the bio wheels will turn, it doesn't matter what the folds are like. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-05-05

Purchased a penguin 350 a friend, all parts dirty/nasty. I have been told I don't need to replace the bio wheel, but should sterilize by soaking in bleach/water mix for 30min, rinse, & dry. Is this correct?

Asked by: KJZ1
Hi KJZ1, We would recommend cleaning the plastic parts with a distilled white vinegar and hot water mix then rinsing well with hot water alone. As for the bio wheel, as long as it is intact, and will spin, you should not need to do anything. Everything living on it will dry up and die off. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-05-02

Right out of the box it isn't working. I followed the directions to the t, but it isn't working. The motor is going but it isn't sucking up the water. I pulled apart the housing for the wheel and it rotates fine.

Asked by: halle
Hi Halle, Make sure the tank is filled to the top, and you have primed the filter with water. Re-seat the impeller, impeller housing and intake tube. If one of these is not seated correctly, it won't prime. If your water level is really low, it won't prime, and if there is no water in the filter, it will not prime. Call us if you continue to have issues, 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-08-19

My Penquin bio wheel 200 filter is not rotating, is it supposed to.

Asked by: Mama
Hi Pesche, Yes, the bio wheel should turn on its own. It may stop and start, that is fine, but it should not stay stopped. Here are some things to check: - make sure the purple tabs are in place at each end of the bio wheel, and are seated properly and clean - pull out the intake tube, impeller housing, and impeller, clean the impeller and filter box, flow is important - check the cover and make sure it is not pressing down too hard on the bio wheel, it may need a minor adjustment Let us know if you need any additional assistance. We are here to help! BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-27

What's the best way to do a filter change without Losing benifical bacteria on a penguin 350??? Do I place new filters in back, or do I put old ones In back and new ones in front?

Asked by: Donnie123
You would put new ones in back, old ones up front. Rotate them two at a time. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-05-09

I need to replace the biowheel because it is damaged. Is there anything special I need to do or just take the old one off and put the new one on? Should it be soaked in the tank first? Is there a way to move the bacteria from the old one to the new one?

Asked by: bhava324
If possible, you should float the new one for a few days before taking the old one out. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-24
  • y_2018, m_4, d_24, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_624
  • loc_en_US, sid_PF0100B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland
PF0075B - Penguin 75 - 10 gal/75 GPH
PF0100B - Penguin 100 - 20 gal/100 GPH
PF0150B - Penguin 150 - 30 gal/150 GPH
PF0200B - Penguin 200 - 50 gal/200 GPH
PF0350B - Penguin 350 - 75 gal/350 GPH

Penguin Power Filter Manual 75B

Penguin Power Filter Manual Models 100B, 150B, 200B and 350B  

Penguin Quick Set Up Guide Models 100B, 150B, 200B and 350B 

 

 

Product

Certified Flow Rate

Aquarium Size

Rite Size Media

Penguin 75B

75 GPH

up to 10 gallons

A

Penguin 100B

100 GPH

up to 20 gallons

A

Penguin 150B

150 GPH

up to 30 gallons

B

Penguin 200B

200 GPH

up to 50 gallons

C

Penguin 350B

350 GPH

up to 75 gallons

C

Penguin & Emperor Cartridge Dimensions

Replacement Parts