LED Aquarium Hood

Our LED aquarium hoods are an essential addition to any aquarium lighting system for improved brightness and quality.
  • Our LED aquarium hoods are an essential addition to any aquarium lighting system for improved brightness and quality.
  • 24" x 12" LED Aquarium Hoods
  • 30" x 12" LED Aquarium Hoods
  • View of Open LED Aquarium Hood
Product VideoPlay
Product Articles
LED Flip Book
Product No. 32993
Find a Store In Stock

Show off your shimmer! Now it is easier than ever to get energy-efficient LED lighting on your aquarium. These full aquarium hoods use an integrated LED Light to create shimmering light in your aquarium. 

  • Sleek, domed hood with energy-efficient LED light bar
  • Natural shimmering effect of sunbeams in water
  • Night mode with blue LEDs
  • Hood cut-outs accommodate a wide range of filters
  • Hinges for easy access during maintenance
  • Includes two hinge sets to fit most popular frame sizes

Note

The 20" x 10" does not have an additional cut out for larger filters.
LED Aquarium Hood is rated 2.2 out of 5 by 38.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great hood however..... We have had our fish tank set up for almost a couple years and we're happy with the product however, I can't find anywhere that sells the plastic covers that protect the led lights. They are very easy to break when trying to clean them. Do you send out replacements for them?
Date published: 2018-08-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poorly Designed I have had my tank for about 3 years. It is made of thin plastic. The hinges broke after 3 months. The light fixture is not sealed from the water well and you get condensation in the fixture. The lights lasted until yesterday. (After the hinges I have been VERY careful when handling the hood. Features are good, but poorly designed for longevity.
Date published: 2018-07-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very Entry Level Hood I've had this 10 gallon tank and hood for about 1.5 years now. It's a decent hood for the setup that I have. However, the way the LED lights are set up inside the hood it leaves all 4 corners of the tank a little bit darker. I havent had any issues with this hood other than the acrylic piece that covers the lights cracked. It's a decent hood for someone just beginning in the hobby.
Date published: 2018-06-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Hood That Looked Good On Paper I thought i had found the perfect solution to make aquarium maintenance easier: a hinged lid system (two 32994 - 24" x 12" ) which would not require removal. Although the feeding hole is a bit larger than I would like, the main flaw is with the light assembly and how it fails to securely affix to the hood. Even having slowly and carefully raised each hood, both units detached from each hood and fell to the floor resulting in damage.
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for The quality is thin plastic and the LED white lights went out after 1 year and the blue LEDs after 1 1/2 years
Date published: 2018-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from light and cover The light and cover is ridiculous. A flimsy plastic, that warps in the light / heat and cracks, does not keep water from the light. LED's blow way too fast due to water getting in, I am surprised my fish weren't electrocuted. HERE IS A GREAT IDEA, make the light protector better and solid into the hood, the replacements parts, readily available and sizing should be more standard. Probably will be cheaper for me to get a bigger tank , (all inclusive) than replace a hood light. Crazy but true, look at replacing the hood light and "protective cover" before buying. Tank and hood are fine, pump is great as I use 3 in total (bio wheel can not be replaced) After 1 month the wheel filter fell apart, have no idea why it exists, an un-replaceable filter? Live and learn. Filter's and lighting #1 and #2 in importance in keeping fish
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Things do break down, but some ingenuity needed. When I got this canopy 2nd hand, the light just strobed in the morning when turned on by timer. I was in contact with Maineland and was helped very readily. Good service. Then the hinges (plastic) on the canopy broke. Since I had already mounted the background sheet on plywood, I had a base for constructing a wooden hinge alternative. It works great See photos. Very happy with my aquarium setup.
Date published: 2018-03-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poorly designed I bought this hood to replace one of the old fashioned one and I wish I had kept my old one. It has been only 18 months and the lights wont work. At first they flickered now they hardly come on. I paid too much for this for it to quit working already!
Date published: 2018-03-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very poorly designed These hood/light combos look and work really good at first. But due to poor design and cheap craftsmanship they do not last. The light is compromised by moisture and fails eventually. For me they didn't even last a year. By the time I was ready to give up on them they were already out of warranty. The replacement light is almost as expensive as the whole unit. I do not wish to have a product that I must replace yearly. Very disappointed.
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from very poor design tank hood and LED lights I purchased this tank kit 55 gallon with the hood and led lights and everything else in the box. I cannot believe how flimsy and poorly designed the hood assembly is. The lights have been a constant issue and I just thought I was having problems but after reading the reviews I guess I am not the only one. For the cost of the setup I would have expected better quality. I too like the light that the fixtures give off but the constant flickering and now the total lack of operation I assume is really stressing the fish out, not to mention irritating my wife.
Date published: 2018-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Working very well Got this for my 29 gallon tank about 2 years ago. Has been working superb ever since. It even holds my penguin 350 very nice and snuggly. I have 3 cats, one of them being on the larger side and this tank hood holds up so well from them jumping to and from it. It is very sturdy. Light is nicely bright, only thing I have to say is it leaves a bit of darkness along the top edges but everything below the light is nicely lit. The blue lights aren't too bright so they're nice to look at without worrying about too much algae growth.
Date published: 2018-02-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Lights. Poor Quality...Don't last Bought Marineland aquarium set with hood and LED combination day/night light. First light died within 6 months of purchase. Got a replacement light under warranty but that one also didn't last more than a few months before it also died. It's not the bulbs...it's the plug / connector to the light. The plug (male end) and receptacle (female end) both corrode due to exposure to moisture and causes the light to fail. Considering this is a FISH tank and it sits directly on top of WATER one would expect the lights would be designed to be exposed to high humidity, condensation, etc. This is a very poor design and very cheap construction which leads to VERY dissatisfied customers. I will not be purchasing any more Marineland products.
Date published: 2018-02-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bad Concept These lights came with the new aquariums, and have been replaced twice already, need another now. These are made to be used on top of aquariums, and doing so, they are EXPECTED to come into contact with water from evaporation, condensation, etc. The only way these last are when I seal the plexiglas on the cover (Which is supposed to be moveable). Once that seal is there for a few months, it deteriorates, and the light takes in the moisture, and begins to fail. Seeing that this light is sold as a combo with new tanks, setting the expectation that they will work together, maybe they should be factory sealed in some permanent way instead of me rigging them up to extend their very short life, only to have them fail when the silicon that I seal it with eventually fails. Seal your product. It's meant to be around water! Here I go again, forced to buy replacements...
Date published: 2017-12-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from LED light doesn’t work We have had this LED hood for almost two years and for the last few months the lights would flicker on and off now they just won’t come on at all. Considering LED’s last for years apon years I don’t know why these quit so soon. Can’t find a replacement at my local stores and online ones cost way too much for it to last another year. Had to rig up a flashlight so my kids can see their fish when the sun is not out.
Date published: 2017-12-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed Light does not work. Flickered and always hard to get to stay on. And how it’s just a dim lighting get if I’m lucked enough to get on. Disappointed prob won’t but marineland again.
Date published: 2017-12-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Light has started flicker a little over one year I don't think it was worth the money lasted just long enough for warranty to run out
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality I bought this as a kit for my grandkids for Christmas. The hinges broke right away. Now the switch doesn't work so I have lights sometimes but mostly not. For the price you have to pay, this is crazy. Now I need a new one because I can't seem to find just the light package.
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Broken hinge bars The bars that clip into the hinges are very cheaply made. I have to remove the lids when cleaning the tank weekly. The hinges do not come out of the clips easily. I cringe at the construction and every week i got to remove them i knew my luck would not hold out. Today, the plastic bars that snap into the hinges both broken. Very poor construction. Cheap plastic. The tank is nice. The lids on my 55 gallon Marineland tank not so much.
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from lasted 2 years I got this about two years ago. Now it just strobes... I cant figure out how to get a replacement. from what I can find the replacement cost as much as I spent on the tank. Called the 1800 number and got hung up on.. The clips holding it in place broke off instantly and so you cant even lift the lid with out taking the light out first. what a waste!
Date published: 2017-10-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality in LED component I'm very disappointed in this product. The electrical pin connection to the LED light corroded and the LED light no longer works. Better material selection or product design is needed.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great light, problem with the switch Having issues with the switch too. I would love to get it fixed or find a replacement.
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WORKED FOR ME I bought my 1st one in 2014. Light switch worked fine until 1st of this year. No problem with hinges. IF i had a complaint it would be about the "window" for the light which is acrylic and DISCOLORS so clean OFTEN. I am ordering my 2nd one today so you can tell i think it is a good buy, etc.
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great light if the switch lasted Have had the hood for under 2 month and the switch is already broke. You have to force it in place for night setting and the day setting barely works
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great light, Poor Quality Hinges The color of the LED is ok - not as good as incandescent, but still makes the tank look good. But the quality of the hinges is garbage. I only switched to an LED hood to be more energy efficient (I simultaneously changed all of my home lights to LEDs). The hinge that connects the hood to the tank broke after 6 months. Shocked at the poor construction.
Date published: 2017-07-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't last long On our second light in our 10 gallon tank. They only last a few months before the switch malfunctions. Petsmart doesn't seem to carry them any longer. Looking for another option.
Date published: 2017-07-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Light works great, but the 2 hinges broke easy. Love the look of this hood on my tank, and the LED light works great for me. However the hinge system that holds the hood on broke after only about 5 months. They are hinged by a very thin plastic bar on the lid. Now when I open my hood I have to keep it from falling in the water. Pretty disappointing because I have been a Marineland customer for years.
Date published: 2017-06-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Light doesn't last. The hood is nice on my 30 gallon tank, but the light only lasted about a week. I'm looking for a replacement.
Date published: 2017-04-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from disappointing switch has never worked right Within 2 weeks of setting up my tank the switch was glitchy and now after 2 months I have to tape it to keep it on. So sad cause the rest of the kit is great
Date published: 2017-04-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the good but light does not last I love the features and simplicity of this good but I've had it for less than 6 months and the switch for the light just broke! Completely stuck in place no matter what I do. Was just about to plant some aquatic plants in there this afternoon too :(
Date published: 2017-04-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the two light features hate they don't last Love the bright light and then the dumb blue for at night just hate that they don't last long. Had mine for just over a year and go figure it stops working. For a light to cost so much you would expect it to last longer than it does. As nice as this product was in the beginning I don't think I would waist that kind of money on a light like this one again.
Date published: 2017-03-24
  • y_2018, m_12, d_10, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_32993, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland

i broke the plastic cover that that slides over my led light on top of hood it is 10x3 3/4 where can I get a replacement piece?

Asked by: alanjayp
That is called the lens cover, and is not sold separately at this time. Simply call 1-800-322-1266 to request one be sent directly to you. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-13

I have this hood but my light is not working properly anymore. Can I just replace the light?

Asked by: djcj2722
Yes, it is sold separately through most local fish and pet stores, Amazon, etc. It has a one year warranty though, so if you happen to be under warranty, simply call 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-07-27

my led Lights have stopped working how can i buy just the light?

Asked by: Paulo
If the light is under one year, it is under warranty, with receipt, and you can call 1-800-322-1266. Otherwise, it is sold through Amazon, Chewy, Petsmart, and I think Big Al's. It is called the Marineland Light Bar. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-07-23

I've got a Marineland LED system which I'm generally quite pleased with. However the timer is full of glitches. Other reviewers mention the same. Is Marineland doing anything to correct this in future models?

Asked by: Kerry438759qps
Please call our Care Team and have the model number available, as we would need to know which LED you are referring to in order to answer this question. The link you provided is for a LED hood, which does not have a timer. 1-800-322-1266 BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-07-05

Can I purchase a power supply replacement? Lost in a move & do not know the part #.

Asked by: Shayness
No, we don't sell that separately, but call our Care Team for various options. 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-06-21

What is the wattage? I have this for my 37 gallon

Asked by: kalawazi
Each LED is 60mW. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-04-25

what is the warranty?

Asked by: Gary Cooper
This product has a one year warranty. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-04-24

light opening for the hood is 4 inch x 11 inch. I just need the light, the hood is ok. Do you have a light to fit the hood? Tank is 123/8 inch x 30 inch.

Asked by: bob 49
Yes, the light is sold separately through most Petsmart, Petco and independent stores, as well as many online vendors, such as Amazon.com. http://a.co/1FyVgFt BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-04-09

I bought my son a 20 gallon 24"x12" aquarium kit a few years ago, the hinges broke and the light quit working, I cannot find a receipt is there anything you can do to help me with this issue?

Asked by: MJjG
Sorry to hear that, but that light has a one year warranty on it only. If you are within the one year, you can call 1-800-322-1266. Without a receipt, they will require the lot code which can be found half way down one long side of the light. They would be able to send the hinges for sure, either way, but the light you may have to buy if the unit is several years old. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-04-03

Can I order this hood or just the light bar that goes in it directly from you for a 10 gallon tank. (Mainland LED Aquarium Hood)

Asked by: hubb
Not directly from us, no, as we do not sell direct - we are a manufacturer. If you have a warranty issue, we can help you directly. You would need to call 1-800-322-1266. If it is not a warranty issue, the complete hood ensemble can be purchased through local fish and pet stores, www.amazon.com and other sites. The light is also sold by itself through the same types of retailers. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-03-28

Can a seperately bought timer be used with the 10 x 20 LED hood, and be able to switch between day and night mode? If so, which one is recommended?

Asked by: BettaBrooke
No, timers are not capable of switching between the two modes. You can use a timer but it will keep it on one mode only. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-03-20

Bought a 20 gallon Marineland tank with led hood & light bar.  Love the tank /lights. Lights only works on night light mode and switch is difficult to move.  replacement lighting costs more than the original tank.  Warranty has expired HELP

Asked by: NanaRach
The replacement light is readily available in a number of ways, and averages $30. The tank/kit would have been well over $100, generally. Here is a link to the light on Amazon. https://www.amazon.com/Marineland-Aquarium-11-Inch-Aquariums-Inches/dp/B004HSYGFQ/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1520873240&sr=8-1&keywords=marineland+led+light The kit is $140 on Amazon. The light has a one year warranty. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-03-12

Hello,is the LED lighting upgradeable in the 20 gal.bio kit ?

Asked by: JImmy G
Thank you for your question Jimmy G! No, there is only one LED light that we make that fits this hood. You can, however, add the Hidden LED if you are wishing for more brightness or to keep live plants. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-03-01

can replacement led section be purchased for this hood?

Asked by: arb123
Yes, this light is sold separately through many pet and fish stores, as well as online vendors. Here is one link for you: http://a.co/9kLvp5m. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-02-23

I have one if your 75 gallon tanks. But no hood. What do you recommend? I like the day/night feature of your products. I know your 55 gallon has two separate hoods. Is that possible for the 75 gallon? I can't seem to find any that would fit.

Asked by: Auntgenie
We do not have a LED hood that will fit the 75 gallon. We would recommend a glass canopy instead, with one of the LED strip lights in the 48-60 inch length. Which one would depend on what your tank houses, but typically the Advanced LED works really well for most freshwater fish tanks. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-02-08

I bought a marineland 10 gallon tank. Just the tank. What size hood would I need? How do I measure my tank for the right fit?

Asked by: Ehahs
All 10 gallon tanks are a standard 20" long by 10" wide and 12" high. You need a 20" x 10" hood. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-01-29

I just bought a 55 gal tank from pet smart. One of the light bars was missing and the plastic clips that hold the heater were broken. I dont want to go through the trouble of boxing everything and taking it back. How do I get these replaced?

Asked by: Justinbass1981
Just give our Care Team a call at 1-800-322-1266 and we will happily replace them for you. Be sure to look the tank over carefully for any problems as well, since it may have been a return as it is. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-01-22

can they grow plants?

Asked by: duels
They will work for low light plants such as anubias or java fern, but for most plants, you will need additional light. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-01-15

I have this hood, but one of the hinges has broken.  I would like to obtain a set of replacement hinges.

Asked by: DonP
Please give us a call at 1-800-322-1266 and we would be happy to send you a set. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-01-08

Is there a hood available for the 38 gal bow front?

Asked by: Bobobo
There is only a glass canopy available. You then pick the style LED light (or fluorescent strip) that suits your needs. Both are available through retail fish stores as well as www.thatpetplace.com and possibly www.petsolutions.com. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-01-08

My lights have quit working, and I cannot find a replacement at any of the stores/online sites you suggested. Where else can I find one? Can I buy directly from you?

Asked by: geno5
It comes with a one year warranty, so if is under warranty just call us at 1-800-322-1266. Otherwise, here are some links for you: https://www.amazon.com/Marineland-LED-Aquarium-Light-11-Inch/dp/B004HSYGFQ/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1513797133&sr=8-3&keywords=marineland+led+aquarium+light http://www.thatpetplace.com/marineland-led-aquarium-light?gclid=CjwKCAiAsejRBRB3EiwAZft7sM826qN0-_Yeib0Zv0pDKrkwKS-075Ed8ih6gi9psQWpYvFKdtMRXBoCyHIQAvD_BwE https://www.petsmart.com/fish/heating-and-lighting/lights/marineland--led-aquarium-light-bar-5162190.html BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-20

I have a 30" x 12" tank part # 32995 the hood light insert is starting to fail I called my locale pet store and gave them the product # PR02980 LED Light Bar as well as the Clear Lens Cover # PR03024 they were unable to identify either item could you help

Asked by: Dan 1955
Yes, of course! Those parts are not sold separately, they are warranty item numbers. You would call our Care Team at 1-800-322-1266 to have them replaced under warranty. The entire light itself is sold separately as item as 32996 but it doesn't come with the lens cover. I would recommend calling us. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-09

Can I order the 30" LED cover direct?

Asked by: RonZ
No, we do not sell direct, but it is sold on Amazon.com. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-20

I have a new tank that says it is 22.00 x 12.00 x 13.50 Inches. Will one of these hoods fit?

Asked by: Kat1
Those dimensions do not match any standard sized aquarium. Aquarium manufacturers tend to round the dimensions to the nearest whole number, so we have no idea what size tank you own. Closest to it is a 15 gallon which is 24-1/4 x 12-9/16 x 12-11/16. So this hood is not likely to work for you. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-13

Are the lights on this hood sufficient for fresh water plants>

Asked by: jamie8kids
No, this is a starter kit and as such it provides illumination only. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-16

Will these LEDs grow coral? If so, what coral can I grow?

Asked by: calab02
No, they are not suited for marine tanks, only for illumination of basic freshwater tanks. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

Our light stopped working after only 7 months! How do we get a replacement hood light? This should not be breaking already!!!

Asked by: AmyFinger
We agree! Call 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-09-29

I'm looking for a replacement hood for my bow front tank ..i don't know dimension at the moment ..do you ship to UK? Would it be an American type plug ? And could you supply If I gave dimensions ? Many thanks .

Asked by: Rob1234
No, we do not ship to the UK, our products are a lot different from our European counterparts....visit www.tetra.net. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-09-27

Why not make larger ones, I need a 36" and replace this hinge that seems to be a problem?

Asked by: WKD2
At one time, we had one for a 55 gallon tank, but we find that most people with larger systems prefer glass canopies to full hoods. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-09-12

My light stopped working how can i replace it

Asked by: Jerson
Sorry to hear this! If you are under warranty, call us at 1-800-322-1266. If not, the light is sold separately through most pet and fish stores, as well as online through a number of vendors. www.petsolutions.com www.drsfostersmith.com www.amazon.com BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-08-24
  • y_2018, m_12, d_10, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_63
  • loc_en_US, sid_32993, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland
32993 - 20" x 10" (fits 10G, 16G & 20XH tanks)
32994 - 24" x 12" (fits 15G, 20H, 25G & 30XH tanks)
32995 - 30" x 12" (fits 20L, 29G & 37G tanks)