Maxi-Jet® Multi-Use Water Pump

Maxi-Jet
Product VideoPlay
Product No. ML90509-01
Find a Store In Stock

Maxi-Jet® multi-use water pumps are three pumps in one: power head, utility pump, and now featuring a circulation pump option.  Still the best power head for powering undergravel filters and running wave maker timers, as well as for running small fountains, calcium reactors and skimmers. 

The Maxi-Jet also contains an in-box conversion kit, which can turn the power head into a prop style circulation pump for ultimate water movement inside the aquarium--using the least amount of energy!  The Maxi-Jet is the most fully adaptable pump available.

Maxi-Jet® Multi-Use Water Pump is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 40.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broken Impeller after One Month Got the MJ400 to pump water in my small tank. One month of use and every single impeller blade is broken off at the base. So I have 6 little orange squares that I have to find in the tank now. Not satisfied with the quality of this product. I'm not running a crazy setup either. The pump is set about mid-way in the tank pumping water 2 feet higher. These should be MUCH more durable.
Date published: 2017-07-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It runs in reverse (Marineland Maxi Jets 1200) I bought this a year ago at PetSmart. I am using this for water circulation using part 6 and 7. The Properler runs sometimes in reverse. I clean it several times and still runs in reverse.
Date published: 2017-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Little to no air coming out I bought this maxijet 400 about 4 months ago and it worked fine with the air coming out. Now the only time I get air is when I have the pump basically right at the top of the water. Any help would be much appreciated thanks.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Work Good But.... I love this product, I have it working on my 55 gallon Marineland start up i purchased on December 2015,I purchased the 600 model about 8 months ago, It was working as the wave maker set up but about two months ago when i switch to the power head with the air tube connection it work good for a while but now it make a grinding sound, if i switch back to the propeller stile it works fine no noise at all. Really don't know what to do to fix it if you guys could I would appreciate a help.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Maxi-Jets purchased a Maxi-Jet 400 about 10 months ago for 30 gallon tank. still performing like new. these are the best line of powerheads out there for the money. I will be purchasing additional ones in the near future.
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pump for $ Great little pump for the money, very versatile. Also big thank you to Mainland. Had an issue with one of the new pumps, called customer service, they tried to troubleshoot - sent out new pump; very kind, helpful and courteous!
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from maxi jet 1200 I have this in a powerhead set up with my undergravel filter. Works amazing
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cheap price, cheap product, lower quality..... i bought the 400 series power head and it wasnt long before i had the impeller break inside because it was cheap plastic and inferiorcasting. I bought 3...1 down in 3 months, stay tuned....
Date published: 2015-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Powerfull but breaks impeller when used with wavemaker I love this pump and recently purchased 4 of them for my 125 salt tank, I also wanted to use it with my wavemaker and so plugged all 4 into it and started them up. They were working just fantastic and kept the water in the whole tank moving and the tank was crystal clear, after about 3 weeks of use I started seeing algae growing on the rocks and glass so checked the filter media, that was clean.So I put my hand in front of the first pump and realized that it was running but pushing NO water, so checked the other 3, those where the same. No water movement from them. So took out the first one to see what was up, well, all of the wings on the impeller where broken off at the base, as where the other 3 pumps. Even though they advertise that they can be used with a wavemaker, I found that they can not. It has reached over the 60 day mark to have the impellers replaced so now have 4 not working and need to buy new impellers for all 4 before they can be used. And NOT with the wavemaker, which is what I wanted them used with. Wish they would put a warning on the information section that they will break if used with wavemakers, and stop advertising that they can be used with them.
Date published: 2015-04-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from need magnet this design is in desperate need of a magnetic attachment solution. something akin to Tunze or Vortech
Date published: 2015-04-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good for circulation, poor impellers I had the 1200 set up as a circulation unit and it worked well enough, then when I added fish to my tank I set it up as powerhead for circulation only.. the impeller only lasted 3 hours! I went to a basketball game afer I set it up and when I got back there were purple impeller blades laying on my tank floor, and no circulation... cheap!
Date published: 2015-02-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Needs Improvement It has great flow when it works. I got it because of its multiple uses though its been in impeller mode for 6+ months now. I have it always on, it chatters on start up, and though thoroughly cleaned I keep finding it off at random times. The suction cups don't work worth squat. I tried using it as a circulation pump in the display but it would fall off almost daily and end up blasting my coral or flinging sand in the water collumn. I regret this purchase.
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Air intake does not stay attached Poor design for the attachment of air intake. Needs to be a tighter fit or seallant must be used to attach the air intake. A small design change could eaisily fix this.
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Never stays up Pump works good but I hate it because it never stays up, the suction cups keep it up for maybe a few days then I find it on the bottom churning my tank up. If they could design one like this that doesn't use suction cups I would totally buy it
Date published: 2014-11-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Flimsy impellers Bought 2 - 1200 pumps several months ago and both impellers are already broken.Now trying to buy replacements and their out of stock.
Date published: 2014-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very noisy The power attachment is ok, but with the laminar attachment it vibrates,and is TERRIBLY noisy!!!
Date published: 2014-08-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from junk mp1200 is junk bought 2 last 6months never again spend the xtra $ on better products
Date published: 2014-07-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works well when working Maxi-Jet 1200. When I first bought it to create a current in my tank - I thought - wow this thing works great and water circulation has improved a ton and its actually quiet. After about 6 months into it I noticed some noise. Took her out to clean and noticed some uneven wear in the cavity holding the magnet in the impeller - (really soft plastic). Now after 1 year the impeller literally fell apart with wear on the plastic parts. I bought a new impeller, but the motor now heats up and shuts off in auto protect mode after running for less than 10 seconds and then powers on after about 30 second rest for another 10 seconds. Not sure what is causing so much heat to be generated in the pump. its not shorting since the GFCI plug has been tested and is not being tripped. They need to make the pump out of better materials. The excessive wear on the impeller and housing, is not acceptable. I've used other power heads for much longer periods without issues. Love the ability to use this pump as a utility pump, powerhead or current maker, but its longevity leaves a lot to be desired.
Date published: 2014-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Customer Service This is a followup from my review on June 1, 2014 on the 1200 Maxi-Jet pump. I was contacted by Barbara Link, with their customer service group shortly after my review and she was highly concerned with the comments I had made. We sent several emails back and forth in a short amount of time and worked through the issues. I received a new pump from her and this one works like a charm. I want to applaud Marineland for their quick response to a customer problem, and even quicker solution. I have purchased Marineland products for over 30 years and will continue to do so for these reasons.
Date published: 2014-06-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Product becomes loud overtime My Maxijet 1200 barley works after a little over a year, I've cleaned the impeller multiple times as well as replaced it and it still manages to get clogged & literally just stops working. I've wasted money on lights, filters, & powerbeads with marineland & wouldn't recommend this product. Invest more money and get a Hydor powerhead or a Tunze.
Date published: 2014-05-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I've bought two in two years I have a 180 marine tank. I bought my second 1200 Maxi Jet to run a reactor in my sump about 6 months ago. It worked fine in the beginning, now it runs, but does not pump strong enough to push water through the tubing into the reactor. I've tried everything now and can't get it to pump strong enough. It spins, I even tried priming the tubing etc as someone on here suggested but with no luck. I've spent 3 hours tonight trying to get it to work with no avail. Anyone have any suggestions on what to do?
Date published: 2013-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For its small size, it makes a great wave maker for a small tank I purchased this for its wave making function. It does a good job with shallow, but long tanks.
Date published: 2013-08-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Air Bubbles From UGF Causes Cavitation I have a 125G Salt water Tank with under-gravel-filter. I chose the Maxi Jet Pro Power Head upon recommendation from the LFS. Once the Nitrogen process is established it by nature creates air bubbles. The power head pulls the air up the lift tube causing the impeller to create a large volume of micro-bubbles. This causes cavitation within the impeller housing and the power head loses suction. The fins on the impeller are in a vertical formation on the shaft, as a retired navy man I can assure you there is a good reason that propellers are angled and not vertically fixed on a shaft. Vertical fins are not efficient at water displacement or lift. That is simple fluid dynamics, especially when air is introduced to the lift tube. Please consider a design modification for your impeller with angled fins.
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 2 major issues 1. they just don't stay stuck on the glass and 2. after few months(happened 3 times) they circulate in reverse and water blows out the side and of course can't return to pet store I bought them at too long from purchase.
Date published: 2013-05-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Noisy Pumps I just replaced a failed Maxi-Jet 1200 and I'm not happy with the new design, for one the previous unit had a 3 prong plug (ground) the new one doesn't which isn't a big deal in itself, but makes me worried that they went cheaper on the new unit... secondly, this is a noisy pump. I don't mind them going with slightly cheaper parts to save on the build, but I can't deal with the noise of the pump... I'll have to look for a new one... sorry guys!
Date published: 2013-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great powerhead for the money Using as a powerhead for my 55 gallon fowlr tank and it performs exactly as it should. dont understand the negative reviews on here...I love it, fish love it.
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Buyers Beware Not good at all. i bought 2 of the maxi-jet 1200 pumps and i first set them up as circulation pumps but they are so loud. i switched it to the smaller impeller and the fins broke off of them within 1 day and i know i put these together right, i have put together lots of powerheads. very bad construction. i would for sure not recommend this product at all. i just got back into aquarium stuff and marineland products used to be good. i can't speak for everything but this one is bad!!!! i hope that marine land does the right thing and contact me about this issue.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as good as the old ones. I've used Maxi-Jets for years in a pair of semi-custom 60g tanks as a partially submerged power head. They were quiet and efficient and, best of all, worked equally well when the water level dropped and they were out of the water. But they didn't last forever, so I bought two of the new models as replacements. I was very disappointed to find that, while they still perform well enough in my application, they are no longer quiet.I tried to live with them, but after a few months, the continuous loud hum from the new ones proved too much for my nerves, so I reluctantly replaced them with something else. They may be fine submerged, but no longer are for my use.
Date published: 2012-11-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Design & Construction I bought several of the Maxi-Jet 1200's for my 300 gallon live rock grow out system because they were cheap......now I know why. First off, these units are huge for the little water flow they produce. The openings in the impeller screen are far too big and chew up anything that gets near them. I can't tell you how many fish and inverts I've lost to these pumps. I've used nearly every powerhead currently on the market and these are the only one's with that problem. They are very noisy and the impellers tend to get stuck as well. I will definitely never purchase these again. I've stopped using the one's I have as I'm tired of finding my livestock dead.
Date published: 2012-02-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible for my Application I bought a maxi jet pro 400 to use as an external pump to drive water through a small nitrate filter and it flat out doesn't work. Marineland markets this pump as a 3 in 1.......powerhead/water circulator/utility pump. It even shows in the instructions the pump used externally (non submerged) Okay, problem with this omni directional mount leaks, or more so, all it does is suck air in around it.....that's fine (well not really) if its submerged, works fine as water circulator and great as a powerhead, but use this pump out of the water it sucks so much air around the omni directional mount that it can't even pull water the length of 3 inches! That is totally ridiculous. Marineland makes some very fine products I just wish they were more up front with the capabilities of this pump, external utility pump is one of their selling points. Wasted my money. Needed EXTERNAL pump.
Date published: 2011-09-20
  • y_2018, m_12, d_10, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_40
  • loc_en_US, sid_ML90509, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland

I have two new Maxi-jet 250's. Neither one works. Can I return them to you?

Asked by: Dan McMonigle
We do not make a Maxi Jet 250. Therefore, I'm not sure what product you own. Please call 1-800-322-1266 for further help. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-06-26

What kind of maxi jet would you guys recommend? I just need it to make air bubbles for a 55 gallon tank and also as a water pump for water changes.  

Asked by: NCcichlids
Probably the 900, since you want to pump water for water changes as well. For air bubbles, the 600 would suffice. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-06-19

Hi, I'm looking for a Maxi-Jet pump model MJ250.

Asked by: Godo
Thank you for your interest in our products, Godo! We do not make a model that small. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-05-22

What part number for the C360 gaskets?

Asked by: Jack M 6
Thanks for asking! The part number is: PR11942-01. For more help call Marineland at 1-800-322-1266.
Answered by: Customer Service
Date published: 2018-05-15

need rite-size a 3 pack bio- wheel penguin power filter cartidge

Asked by: Ricky0017
Thank you for contacting us! Those are readily available at most fish/pet stores, but you can also buy there here http://www.marineland.com/Products/aquarium-filtration-filter-media/rite-size-aquarium-filter-cartridges-filter-parts/penguin-power-carbon-aquarium-filter-cartridge.aspx. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-04-30

How do I go about purchasing a replacement suction cup mount for a Maxi-Jet 600?

Asked by: JMAG
This - http://www.marineland.com/Products/aquarium-parts/Power-Heads-and-Pumps/Maxi-Jets/TriPod-Mount-and-Suction-Cups.aspx? Or this - http://www.marineland.com/Products/aquarium-parts/Power-Heads-and-Pumps/Maxi-Jets/Omni-Directional-Mounting.aspx BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-07-21

May I buy directly from you the products that I need :-))

Asked by: Sharon Wilson
We appreciate your interest in our products, but no, we do not sell direct. You would need to go through local fish or pet shops, as well as there are a lot of online vendors that carry them, such as Amazon, Pet Solutions, Pet Mountain, Chewy, That Fish Place and Drs. Foster and Smith. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-03-25

looking for filter pump pfes 12

Asked by: paul59
Unfortunately, that is no longer available. The kit was discontinued 7-8 years ago. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-02-21

I am in the process of setting up a 45 Gallon bow front tank. Wondering what size and how many of this brand power heads i should have. Also where in my tank should they be placed? Already purchased 1 maxi-jet 600. Thanks!!

Asked by: MKits1397
That really depends on what your goal is for adding these to the tank. Is this a reef tank with corals and you want flow going back and forth over them? Then you would want a minimum of two, one at each end at different levels. The 600 model may be enough, unless you have corals that need some serious movement. If it is a freshwater tank then two of the 600s should be more than enough to provide additional water movement and oxygen. If you have good surface movement already, then place them nearer the bottom to move the water from bottom to top. What size and how many really does depend on your goal, but two 600s would be considered a minimum in most cases. (including the Penguin) BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-02-06

I would like to know if you still offer parts for the magnum 350 and the 250HS

Asked by: Don601
Yes, both are offered on our site. http://www.marineland.com/search.aspx?q=magnum#/?filter.brand=Marineland BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-02-02

the propeller stuters when it starts up.. makes a grinding sound .. how can i correct?

Asked by: new reef keeper
If you are using this in the propeller phase, and have it attached to a timer or wavemaker, this is normal. As the propeller changes direction, it will make a sound for about 10 seconds that cannot be eliminated. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-02-02

Have a maxi jet 1200. It is super noisy. Is this normal

Asked by: Jaytee
No, should be silent if it is installed correctly and does not need cleaning. Should be fully submerged. Pull out the impeller and make sure it hasn't pulled something into it like grit or plant matter. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-01-15

I'd like to set up a pump arrangement with a UV sterilizer. What size hose will I need with a Maxi Jet 900/1200? What adapters come with the unit?

Asked by: Mario J
1/2" is the size tubing. It doesn't come with any adapters for a UV light. Most folks use utility pumps or canisters. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-01-11

I have had the Portrait 5 gallon for two years and want to have a replacement pump on hand should the original die. What is my best option to use with that setup? Thank!

Asked by: peces
Simply call 1-800-322-1266 to order one. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-01-08

Does this pump HAVE to be submersed, or can it be used to transfer water from one tank to another, using hoses on each end?

Asked by: Joe 66
It can be used in a variety of ways. Check out the options in the manual on our product page, http://www.marineland.com/Products/aquarium-pumps-powerheads/maxi-jet-aquarium-powerhead-circulation-pump.aspx. One is an external method. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-20

Please quote the price of Marineland - Maxi-Jet Multi-Use water pump 1200 Thanks.

Asked by: Sik008
We appreciate your interest in this product, but we don't sell direct. Please visit your local fish store. For listings in your area, click on the Buying Options tab at the bottom of the page. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-12-12

I have a 35 gallon hexagon tank what size should I use?

Asked by: GLENNA
That depends on what you wish to achieve, but with that tank I would put a powerhead down at the bottom of the tank to improve water flow in that area, and the 600 would work well unless you have live plants or delicate inverts. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-30

is the power head recyclable? Or just toss it?

Asked by: Ronald2
Yes, it should be recyclable. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-11-29

Hi. I have 3 maxi-jet powerhead (400, 200, and 1200). After storage for some time, I tried to run it but the impeller won't spin (even when cover removed), and sometimes intermittently. Motor appears working because I feel some vibration.

Asked by: Charlie2017
Usually, when filters or powerheads are stored dry, the impeller separates. You may need new impellers. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-30

Set up pump for use on a sluice box

Asked by: JMcD
The manual for the various methods of installation for this pump is available on the product page of our website. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-16

I’m putting under gravel jets in my 60 gal tank they will be made with 1/2” inside diameter pvc tubing.  What size pump (maxi-jet, or other if more appropriate) would you suggest would be best?  The tubing from the pump will branch into 3 or 4 outlets.

Asked by: Jeff B2
Powerheads cannot be used to operate several items, like what you are suggesting here. So you would need an air pump instead. 1/2" tubing is pretty small, most undergravel tube are 1" - 1.25" in diameter. In order to operate more than one tube with only one pump, we would recommend the Tetra Whisper 60 or 100 models. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-10-12

hi i recently purchased a ml maxijet 1200 from petsmart to replace the dead cobalt maxi1200 for my seaclone skimmer problem is this pump is so rediculously loud i cant hear myself talk and does not seem to have enough flow to make skim like cobalt????

Asked by: eric van vleck
Make sure you are using it in the impeller mode, as that is the proper mode for use with the Seaclone Skimmer. And of course, the powerhead should be submerged. You may want to email us details on your installation and set up so we can make sure everything is connected correctly. techsupport.marineland@spectrumbrands.com. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-08-14

this pump runs in reverse. why? I purchased it to circulate the water

Asked by: yolonda
If you are using the propeller instead of the impeller, yes, it is designed to run in reverse in propeller mode in order to obtain the crazy flow rate. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-08-10

Can I run a Maxi Jet 900 power head above the water line?

Asked by: poolside57
Thanks for asking, poolside57. You cannot run the power head above the water line.
Answered by: Customer Service
Date published: 2017-08-08

I had 2 Marineland filter pumps - PFE2 20 Vac, 60 Htz and 17 Amp, they both bit it due to aquarium was leaking and they ran dry and froze up. They hook up on top canopy and run water into a long blue filter on each side. Do you have anything comparable?

Asked by: Darog
That is the Eclipse 2 and was discontinued about 6-7 years ago. The motor is no longer available for it You would need to replace the entire system. We are working on something new, but it will not be out till 2018. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-08-03

Do these products have the ability to be adjusted... is there a range of power for the flow?

Asked by: Qxs8363
Not in regards to the flow rate, no. They are multi-directional, however, so you can set the direction the flow will move in. Also, you can elect to have air bubbles or no air bubbles. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-06-07

i am currently trying to find a user manual for a magnum 350 filter. any help? thanks.

Asked by: DDAANNOO
I have emailed this to you. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-06-01

how do i replace the impeller on the polishing filter pump?

Asked by: Mike Aaron
Hi Mike, If you have the Magnum Polishing Filter, it uses the Maxi Jet 1200 powerhead. The filter is a new item, and the impeller is under warranty. I will email you directly. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-06-01

I have a small '10gl' tank at work, and I need a small power head for it, I have an Aqua-Tech 170gph power head but I have to turn it off when I leave because I think it will exhaust the fish. is there a smaller version? I love my powerhead!

Asked by: Neoma
Hi Neoma, No, that is the smallest one that we make. You might add a sponge filter to the intake of it to reduce the flow somewhat or switch to an air stone instead. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-05-31

How do these power heads work?

Asked by: Sonny 539
They work like any other powerhead - they are to be submerged completely. If you wish to also have air bubbles, submerge them no more than 2", and leave the venturi tube and knob up out of the water. Otherwise, remove those, and cap off the venturi, then submerge them anywhere in the tank to increase water movement. Many saltwater enthusiasts use them to create water flow over their corals. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-30
  • y_2018, m_12, d_10, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_100
  • loc_en_US, sid_ML90509, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland
ML90509 - Maxi-Jet 400 - 110-500 GPH
ML90510 - Maxi-Jet 600 - 160-750 GPH
ML90511 - Maxi-Jet 900 - 230-1000 GPH
ML90512 - Maxi-Jet 1200 - 295-1300 GPH

 Maxi-Jets Manual


  

Power Head Mode 

Circulation Mode 

Utility Mode 

GPH 

LPH 

GPH  

LPH 

Max Head Height 

Maxi Jet 400 

110 

416 

500 

1893 

3.0' 

Maxi Jet 600 

160 

606 

750 

2839 

3.5' 

Maxi Jet 900 

230 

871 

1000 

3785 

4.0' 

Maxi Jet 1200 

295 

1117 

1300 

4921 

6.0'