Marineland Desktop Kits

Product No. ML90610-00
Find a Store In Stock

Marineland’s newest kits are available in either three or five gallon glass aquarium sizes.  All kits feature Marineland 3-stage hidden filtration with a Rite-SizeTM Z Cartridge and Marineland Bio-Foam® (included in the kit), and include an adjustable flow filter pump.  Bright white and blue energy efficient LED lights feature a 3-way switch (toggle between white and blue, off, and blue-only settings).  The white LEDs create a shimmering light in the water that mimics the underwater effect of sunlight, and the blue LEDs produce a relaxing moonlight glow.  The kits feature either a hinged or sliding glass canopy for easy feeding and water care dosing.  These easy-to-assemble kits are beautifully designed and easy to maintain.

Silhouette

  • Available in 3 gallons
  • Canopy is hinged for easy access to tank

Contour and Portrait

  • Portrait available in 5 gallons
  • Contour available in 3 and 5 gallons
  • Glass Tank with Curved Glass and base
  • Light is hinged for easy access to tank
  • Sleek, sliding glass canopy
Marineland Desktop Kits is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 21.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE I've had my 3 gallon Contour for probably 2.5 years. It was an upgrade for my zany Betta, Vincent. Never had a problem, it's easy to clean, very nice to look at, I've always been happy with it. My Pump Tube and Elbows just recently were having problems. The elbows no longer were keeping a seal on the pump tube. I checked with all local big name stores, and couldn't find replacements. I finally called the 800 number on my original paperwork, and a guy named STEVE answered. Talk about AMAZING AMAZING service! I don't know why I'm so surprised about getting the best service in FOREVER for my little 3 gallon Betta tank! Wow. Just wow!I have no clue where he was located, and shame on me, I should have asked for his supervisor to let her/him know the guy was off the hook wonderful!He even knew about My Neighbor Totoro, which puts his rating at 15 on a scale of 1 - 10!Floored In Valley Springs!Kimberly
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Customer Bought the Contour 3 year and a half ago and we've been very happy with it. Easy to setup easy to care for.
Date published: 2016-11-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pump not working I bought the marineland silhouette 3 gallon. The air pump that filters the water did not turn on at all, so I had to purchase a new pump.I got a corallife pump and now the water pressure is to hard.If the air pump worked I would've given it more stars
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy I love it ! Easy to set up, quiet, big enough & small enough. Looks stylish in my living room .
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful tank I only had issue with the directions. I am usually quite tech savvy, and tried the website basically it was promotional only. I scanned You tube and it listed the contore model only. Between all the same size tanks currently available (different brands)i eventually figured it out, but they all have major differences in instillation techniques...a more detailed instillation manual / Video available on the actual products you bought on the website (listed on the box as "help") would be better served. But once it was all squared away. I love it, it's well made, sturdy, and attractive, as well as my fish seem to be really enjoying the extra space. If they revamp their installation manual I will be sure to upgrade to a larger one when needed.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 gallon Portrait tank I have this tank as my first tank and it is beautiful. Everything works how it should and I love the filtering set up in the back. The water stays crystal clear and there is plenty of movement and water ciculation. The seamless curved front design is the best too. Only problem is that I want more fish and I am already looking to go up to a bigger tank ,but I can't find something similar in a larger size. I would urge Marineland to produce the same tank in 10, 15, 20 and 25 gallon sizes. I would be buying one tomorrow if they existed.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Customer service I purchased this tank a few days ago. I was not sure how the pump was to work as it was making a very loud noise. I contacted customer service and the lady was very nice and knowledgeable. Now my aquarium is up and running and the apperance is very nice.!
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 3 Gallon Contour Tank Kit I have had this system for about 1 year now and can't say enough about how much I enjoy it. Everything has worked wonderfully with no failures. I put my light on a small timer and it turns on at 7 am and goes off at 9 pm.Keep up the good work with the wonderful small kits like this to help improve our work areas!
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great customer service! I have the 5 gallon Portrait kit and love the way it looks, the ease of setting it up, and how clean it keeps my Glo fish tank! I absolutely feel that this is THE tank for Glo fish because of the lighting!Recently tho had a problem, contacted the Marineland Company, and, just like that it was taken care of! I am so pleased with the tank and the Customer Service that I am going to purchase a Marineland 3 gallon Contour for a desktop shrimp tank!Thank you Marineland for a great purchase!
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice looking tank I own the contour 3 gallon and yes mine came with the sliding glass lid which is very necessary due to water evaporation and dust etc. The filter is just about slow enough to keep my beta happy and filter was tricky at first wondering which way the bio -foam went front or back. Well it fits better in the back so I guess that's the correct way. Other then that perfect starter tank. I'm going buy the 5 gallon next because this is smaller then I thought.
Date published: 2015-09-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from LED light stopped working right away I recently purchased the three gallon and after taking 3 hours to set it up, discovered the next day that the LED lights quit working. I figured if problems were going to start this early that I had a lemon. So I returned it to the store. I had to tear the tank down, box it back up and take it back to the store. What a pain this was. No thank you, going forward I am trying a different brand.
Date published: 2015-07-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Im indifferent on the products, i have both the five and three gallon. Only the five gallon comes with a lid. This is a make or break for me as I have a cat. I would give five stars if t had a lid. And you cant even buy it separately. That should be an option.
Date published: 2015-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New breed of tank! Well after calling the Marineland support group for my EclipseSystem 6 I was sadden by the news that this line of products has been discontinued. So much for my Eclispe 3 also. Grhhhhhhh:(All was good once I was steered me towards the new line in the Contour 5. Now I don't actually own this product...yet but I'm going to make sure once I upgrade this becomes my new tank. Thanks Keely!!!Sleek, glass nano tank with LED lighting and hidden filtration w/ flow adjustment makes this a winner for me. Marineland products along w/superior customer care surely makes them a leader favorite in this industry.
Date published: 2014-11-21
  • y_2017, m_9, d_23, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_ML90610, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland

How many amps does this aquarium draw?

Asked by: scrodz
It uses only 4 watts, and is 60 hz. so .066. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-07-26

We have the portrait 5 gallon and are trying to use fresh plants.  Is the LED light that comes with the aquarium full spectrum and sufficient to be the only light source for live plants? If not what light would you recommend we switch to?

Asked by: Kowe
If they are low light plants like anubias, java fern or java moss, yes. High light plants, no. You would need to supplement with one of our shorter LED stick lights for up to 5 gallons. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-07-25

Contour 3 gallon return line loc line size? Is it 1/4" or 1/2"

Asked by: Cubanpete
1/2" BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-07-19

What are the specs on the 5G Portrait LED light? (CCT, wavelength, etc)? Thanks!

Asked by: cw86
It is a total of 1.5 watts, and has a kelvin rating of 6000 K. It is not suitable for corals, and works well with low light freshwater plants such as anubias. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-07-18

I have a portrait 5 gallon glass tank, and I love it. But after a year, the tube and elbow coming from the filter pump have started to wear. The tube either pops out of the pump assembly, or comes out of the elbow. how can I get replacements?

Asked by: MarcV
Hi MarcV, We send them out upon request. Just give us a call at 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-07-18

Just like others, I would also like to purchase a backup pump for my 5 gl Portrait aquarium. Currently using this as a hospital tank for my clownfish. They have ick! I find it odd that you don't sell essential replacement parts such as a pump.

Asked by: Ick Fighter
Nope, we don't, not at this time. These pumps tend to last a long time. Just call us if you are ever in need of one. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-07-17

How do I purchase a 5g Pump model 90625?  The kit I just purchased has a rattling pump and the cover that has the dial for controllng the flow causes the pump to not work at all.  It wouldn't hurt to have a spare pump.

Asked by: xhelenahandbasketx
Thank you for asking! Though I'm sorry to hear the pump is having some issues. I suggest cleaning the impeller and impeller housing with distilled white vinegar. There may be a piece of debris in there causing the rattle. The pump isn't available separately but we're happy to help. Just give us a call at 1-800-526-0650.
Answered by: Customer Service
Date published: 2017-07-14

Hi, Could you please let me know whether the power adapter supports 220V voltage (Australia). I'm interested in Portrait Aquarium Kit model in particular. Thank you very much!

Asked by: Vitaliy
Thanks for asking! This aquarium does not support 220V.
Answered by: Customer Service
Date published: 2017-07-13

I just accidentally dropped and shattered the glass cover for my 5 gallon portrait aquarium. Can I buy a replacement? I have 3 cats who are very interested in my aquatic dwarf frogs and NEED a replacement cover ASAP.

Asked by: Kris10
We actually do not sell it separately, but you can call and order one at no charge. 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-07-08

What is the diffrence between the portrait and contour?

Asked by: AC27
Everything is exactly the same, except for the lighting. One is a blade shape (Portrait), one is more rounded (Contour). BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-07-17

My pump included in this tank is rattling/buzzing and I purchased this tank only about 8 weeks ago. Can I get a replacement?

Asked by: Cera
Most likely you need to open it and maintain it. Pull the front cover off of the motor, and pull the impeller out of it. Clean it well with vinegar and hot water, remove any detritus as well. Take a q tip to the inside of the motor with vinegar and hot water to clean it too. If you are unable to resolve this, please call 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-06-21

Hi I have the marineland ml90609 5 gallon portrait aquarium. The filter is placed at the top despite water entering from the bottom. Should I place another filter medium in the inlet or have I placed it wrong. There are small particles in the water

Asked by: Saad Maw
The sponge goes in the bottom on the back side of the cartridge holder, the filter cartridge goes up top. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-07-07

I have the Contour 5 gallon aquarium I believe about 5 months. I recently noticed water is not flowing into the chamber with the filter and the pump. I even scooped water into the chamber but, it goes back into the tank which causes high water level.

Asked by: askjam
Unplug and remove the pump. Take the front cover off, and pull out the impeller. Clean inside the pump and clean the impeller. Most likely it is not pulling fast enough because it is too clogged. You can also clean out the tube and elbow, and the filter cartridge chamber. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-08-11

I have a portrait 5 gallon glass tank, and I love it. Recently the tube and elbow coming from the filter pump have started to wear. The tube either pops out of the pump assembly, or comes out of the elbow. do you have replacements? or dimensions?

Asked by: bitz
Yes, we have replacements, and will reach out to you via email. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-06-13

I have a marine land brand 3 gallon tank that looks like the first ones pictured. The filter recently stopped working (buzzed on and off for a few days and now doesn't run) and I need to replace it. What exactly are the parts I will need to replace?

Asked by: calin
Thank you so much! I cleaned it out and it started working just fine!
Answered by: calin
Date published: 2017-06-12

I have found a Marineland 5 Gallon Escape Hexagon Aquarium at Petsmart, and am interested in this tank, however I cannot find dimensions of this product anywhere, and need to know its dimensions before I can buy it. What are they?

Asked by: ehesse
It is 15" high by 12" across. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-06-07

Can we get a replacement for the top cover?

Asked by: Ownedbycats
Let me guess - one of the cats is why you need a lid? Yes, we have replacement ones available. I will email you directly for your information. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-05-31

I have the 5 gal setup..i want to know what it would require for me to put an animated air bubble figure eg. treasure chest? Do i need seperate equiptment? Please let me know if you can help me on this. Thanks

Asked by: Theodore853
Besides the treasure chest, you would need to buy about 2-4 feet of airline tubing, a check valve, and a Whisper 10 Air Pump. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-05-15

I've had my Contour 3 tank for 6 months and the pump just went out. Is there a common fix? If not, where can I get a replacement?

Asked by: JanetJ2
Hi JanetJ2, Yes, usually when they stop, they need to have the cover removed, and the impeller pulled out for cleaning. Swab out the inside of the pump with a q tip, hot water and vinegar. Clean the impeller with vinegar, hot water and a soft cloth. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-05-01

What size filter cartridge is used for the Portrait 5 gal aquarium?

Asked by: Anonymous
That would be the Rite Size Z filter cartridge. http://www.marineland.com/Products/aquarium-filtration-filter-media/rite-size-aquarium-filter-cartridges-filter-parts/eclipse-system-aquarium-filter-cartridge-replacement.aspx. It is currently out of stock on our site, however, so try Petsmart or Amazon. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-25

Good day! Today a transformer blew up at my residence and also blew out my Marineland 5 gallon tank lighting! I need to order a new light bulb asap. Thanks for your help!

Asked by: Rita P
These kits have LED lighting with several bulbs. We will reach out to you directly. In the future it is highly recommended to have all aquarium products plugged into power strips with surge protection. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-17

I have absolutely no clue how to assemble the filter. The directions aren't helping me. I know the pump goes in the water, but where does the plastic tube that attaches to the pump go to? I think I need more explicit directions.

Asked by: manders
The pump sits on the right side of the filter chamber, to the left of the cartridge holder. The tube comes straight up and towards the left end of the tank, assuming you are facing the tank. The tube turns towards the front of the tank, and connects to the outlet diffuser. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-06-20

How do I change the LED light from night to day? Also I'm really irritated because my kit came without a pump for the filter, so I can't work the filter. I currently have another filter running in the tank. How can I get the pump?

Asked by: manders
The toggle switch allows you to have blue only or blue/white combined or off. Just toggle it over to the blue/white combination. We will email you directly to assist you with the pump. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-12

How do I get the led lighr replacement

Asked by: Judi52
We will reach out to you directly, but you can also call 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-10

I purchased 3 Marineland ML90609 Portrait Aquarium Kit, 5-Gallon on 3/24, where can I buy replacement filters for the future.

Asked by: Juan Q
You can order them here or purchase them through various fish stores, and online vendors. They take the Rite Size Z cartridge. Petsmart, and Petco carry them, I think. http://www.marineland.com/Products/aquarium-filtration-filter-media/rite-size-aquarium-filter-cartridges-filter-parts/eclipse-system-aquarium-filter-cartridge-replacement.aspx BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-03

Hello, I have the Contour 3 gallon tank and it is beautiful! But can you please tell me how does the water flow in the filter media? It enters first through the sponge? And then, which is the direction of flow?

Asked by: Bibi RM
It flows through the openings into sponge area, then upwards and over the divider into the pump chamber. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-29

It is possible to place a submersible 25 watt heater in the back of the aquarium with the filtration and pump?

Asked by: gtm1226
No, never place any heater in the back compartment at all as this can be risky. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-21

I wanted to ask if you sell the glass lid for the marineland contour 3 (5 gallon)?

Asked by: Chichy
Hi Chichy, Unfortunately, no, we sure don't, not at this time. However, we would be happy to reach out directly via email, and send one to you at our expense. You can also call us at 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-19

I've had my tank for almost a year. My blue leds aren't working anymore. Is there a way to change them or do I have to buy a new hood? Or deal with no night time light?

Asked by: acrisafulli321
None of the above. They are under warranty, but are not sold separately at this time. We will reach out to you via email, but you can also call us at 1-800-322-1266 for assistance. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-15

I WAS BUY 5 GALLON TANK BUT I BROKEN GLASS TOP! CAN YOU REPLESE ONE FOR ME ? I APPROECIATE

Asked by: YUKEE
Yes, we do have replacement tops for these tanks. We will email you. You can also call 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-15
  • y_2017, m_9, d_23, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_189
  • loc_en_US, sid_ML90610, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland