Marineland Desktop Kits

Product No. ML90610-00
Find a Store In Stock

Marineland’s newest kits are available in either three or five gallon glass aquarium sizes.  All kits feature Marineland 3-stage hidden filtration with a Rite-SizeTM Z Cartridge and Marineland Bio-Foam® (included in the kit), and include an adjustable flow filter pump.  Bright white and blue energy efficient LED lights feature a 3-way switch (toggle between white and blue, off, and blue-only settings).  The white LEDs create a shimmering light in the water that mimics the underwater effect of sunlight, and the blue LEDs produce a relaxing moonlight glow.  The kits feature either a hinged or sliding glass canopy for easy feeding and water care dosing.  These easy-to-assemble kits are beautifully designed and easy to maintain.

Silhouette

  • Available in 3 gallons
  • Canopy is hinged for easy access to tank

Contour and Portrait

  • Portrait available in 5 gallons
  • Contour available in 3 and 5 gallons
  • Glass Tank with Curved Glass and base
  • Light is hinged for easy access to tank
  • Sleek, sliding glass canopy
Marineland Desktop Kits is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 32.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I’ve really been looking forward to this aquarium for a while now. After setting everything up I was surprised to hear a loud popping noise. It turns out the tank had cracked down the side after not even having it set up for 24 hours. Thankfully I was home because the water that spilled out was splashing on to an electrical outlet. Didn’t buy any fish or plants yet so that was good. Very disappointed in the product.
Date published: 2017-12-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful tank, but needs options for bettas Beautiful tank! But the flow is too strong for bettas and they can see their reflection in the glass. An optional attachment to the filter flow would help (right now I have a cut up piece of sponge shoved in there) and optional backdrop wrap to diffuse the reflection would help a lot.
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Out of this world customer service! I bought the contour 5 desktop fish tank about a year ago and established a fresh water tank. About a month ago I realized the filtration system took a dump on me.. I reached out to customer service (that was very helpful through the cleaning process) and even after it wasn’t working.. well instead of just sending the new filtration system like I had anticipated, they were gracious enough to send me a whole new fish tank! I cannot thank you enough for all of your help Marineland!
Date published: 2017-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Axolotl Condo Hi there, I bought this awesome 3 gallon Contour tank 4 days ago, just got it set up on day 5. LOVE IT and it is perfect for my daughter's Axolotl ( no heavy filter flow, etc. ). But I would like to suggest better directions for setting up the filter. I had to go to some guy's YouTube to figure out what the heck was I doing wrong. Number 1, I got confused because the 3 gallon tank and 5 gallon tank parts and pieces were on my 3 gallon assembly paper, it only said 3g or 5g with model number ( I didn't know what the heck that was until I did research online). I thought I was missing a part so instead of bugging the guy at the fish store a second time, I tried to be creative and went to the hardware store for longer tubes ( photo number 1 where it says pump tube I was looking for a hard plastic tube). Number 2, I didn't know that the pump was to actually be submerged INTO the back water compartment or anywhere in the water, number three, I had no idea what to do with the elbows. All and all I am HAPPY AND THRILLED with my purchase, but the directions need to be a little clearer. I have had TONS of aquariums throughout the decades with many different pumps and filters, but I have never been so confused before. Totally would recommend to a friend, but I would have to help them now that I know.
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Filter trouble My only complaint is the filter was silent the first few minutes I turned it on, but then it starts making a strange noise (it still runs when it does this, but it's annoying). Is there any way I can fix this?
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pump has failed twice. I bought this tank less then 6 months ago. With in the 1st month the pump pushed all the water into the front of the tank and stopped working the store replaced the pump. Today we found the pump hardly moving water and then it stopped agian..
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Tank Portrait 5 gal I've had this tank for about 2 months. I ordered it from Big Al's. I am new to fish keeping and had questions about the tank. The help desk was happy to walk me through things. I was wondering if there were accessories for this tank. It would be great if there were a media basket that fit the sump. I wanted to use the Marineland activated carbon and the Marineland bio balls. I would have given it 5 stars if there were accessories that allowed me to extend and enhance the tank.
Date published: 2017-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 3 gallon reef tank I have my tank for 7 months and its a great nano reef tank. I'm making a plexiglas hood with custom leds and cooling fan. I'll post a updated picture in about a week with the hood on it.
Date published: 2017-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loving it I just recently bought the Contour 5 and it is beautiful, it is very sleek and not bulky looking, the design is very pretty. The filter is silent and works well but the instructions on how to set it up wasn't very clear because I didn't know if I was supposed to keep the filter pump in the back. Although it is very simple and easy to set up which I like. It is the perfect desktop tank because it doesn't take up much room and is perfect for Bettas and small fish. The only question I have is where do I get a replacement lighting once it dies?
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 gallon Portrait We love our 5 gallon Portrait aquarium! Beautiful design, love the LED lighting, and the filtration system is super quiet. Our male Betta and African Dwarf Frog couldn't be happier! Thanks Marineland!
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can't complain I love my tank I've had my tank, portrait, for less then a year, I love having this tank in my bathroom. Our blue lights stopped working and costumer service has been kind enough to replace it under warranty. I am a second generation MarineLand buyer, and I will keep buying from MarineLand. This tank is very easy for set up and cleaning.
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE I've had my 3 gallon Contour for probably 2.5 years. It was an upgrade for my zany Betta, Vincent. Never had a problem, it's easy to clean, very nice to look at, I've always been happy with it. My Pump Tube and Elbows just recently were having problems. The elbows no longer were keeping a seal on the pump tube. I checked with all local big name stores, and couldn't find replacements. I finally called the 800 number on my original paperwork, and a guy named STEVE answered. Talk about AMAZING AMAZING service! I don't know why I'm so surprised about getting the best service in FOREVER for my little 3 gallon Betta tank! Wow. Just wow!I have no clue where he was located, and shame on me, I should have asked for his supervisor to let her/him know the guy was off the hook wonderful!He even knew about My Neighbor Totoro, which puts his rating at 15 on a scale of 1 - 10!Floored In Valley Springs!Kimberly
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Customer Bought the Contour 3 year and a half ago and we've been very happy with it. Easy to setup easy to care for.
Date published: 2016-11-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pump not working I bought the marineland silhouette 3 gallon. The air pump that filters the water did not turn on at all, so I had to purchase a new pump.I got a corallife pump and now the water pressure is to hard.If the air pump worked I would've given it more stars
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy I love it ! Easy to set up, quiet, big enough & small enough. Looks stylish in my living room .
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful tank I only had issue with the directions. I am usually quite tech savvy, and tried the website basically it was promotional only. I scanned You tube and it listed the contore model only. Between all the same size tanks currently available (different brands)i eventually figured it out, but they all have major differences in instillation techniques...a more detailed instillation manual / Video available on the actual products you bought on the website (listed on the box as "help") would be better served. But once it was all squared away. I love it, it's well made, sturdy, and attractive, as well as my fish seem to be really enjoying the extra space. If they revamp their installation manual I will be sure to upgrade to a larger one when needed.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 gallon Portrait tank I have this tank as my first tank and it is beautiful. Everything works how it should and I love the filtering set up in the back. The water stays crystal clear and there is plenty of movement and water ciculation. The seamless curved front design is the best too. Only problem is that I want more fish and I am already looking to go up to a bigger tank ,but I can't find something similar in a larger size. I would urge Marineland to produce the same tank in 10, 15, 20 and 25 gallon sizes. I would be buying one tomorrow if they existed.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Customer service I purchased this tank a few days ago. I was not sure how the pump was to work as it was making a very loud noise. I contacted customer service and the lady was very nice and knowledgeable. Now my aquarium is up and running and the apperance is very nice.!
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 3 Gallon Contour Tank Kit I have had this system for about 1 year now and can't say enough about how much I enjoy it. Everything has worked wonderfully with no failures. I put my light on a small timer and it turns on at 7 am and goes off at 9 pm.Keep up the good work with the wonderful small kits like this to help improve our work areas!
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great customer service! I have the 5 gallon Portrait kit and love the way it looks, the ease of setting it up, and how clean it keeps my Glo fish tank! I absolutely feel that this is THE tank for Glo fish because of the lighting!Recently tho had a problem, contacted the Marineland Company, and, just like that it was taken care of! I am so pleased with the tank and the Customer Service that I am going to purchase a Marineland 3 gallon Contour for a desktop shrimp tank!Thank you Marineland for a great purchase!
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice looking tank I own the contour 3 gallon and yes mine came with the sliding glass lid which is very necessary due to water evaporation and dust etc. The filter is just about slow enough to keep my beta happy and filter was tricky at first wondering which way the bio -foam went front or back. Well it fits better in the back so I guess that's the correct way. Other then that perfect starter tank. I'm going buy the 5 gallon next because this is smaller then I thought.
Date published: 2015-09-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from LED light stopped working right away I recently purchased the three gallon and after taking 3 hours to set it up, discovered the next day that the LED lights quit working. I figured if problems were going to start this early that I had a lemon. So I returned it to the store. I had to tear the tank down, box it back up and take it back to the store. What a pain this was. No thank you, going forward I am trying a different brand.
Date published: 2015-07-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Im indifferent on the products, i have both the five and three gallon. Only the five gallon comes with a lid. This is a make or break for me as I have a cat. I would give five stars if t had a lid. And you cant even buy it separately. That should be an option.
Date published: 2015-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New breed of tank! Well after calling the Marineland support group for my EclipseSystem 6 I was sadden by the news that this line of products has been discontinued. So much for my Eclispe 3 also. Grhhhhhhh:(All was good once I was steered me towards the new line in the Contour 5. Now I don't actually own this product...yet but I'm going to make sure once I upgrade this becomes my new tank. Thanks Keely!!!Sleek, glass nano tank with LED lighting and hidden filtration w/ flow adjustment makes this a winner for me. Marineland products along w/superior customer care surely makes them a leader favorite in this industry.
Date published: 2014-11-21
  • y_2018, m_10, d_17, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_ML90610, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland

I have the portrait tank. When installing my heater, can I attach it to the back wall or must I attach it to the glass on the side? Since the back wall is a plastic I was not sure.

Asked by: JulieM
Yes, you can definitely attach it to the back wall. We recommend placing it under or near the outlet diffuser so the water will circulate the heat and you can run the cord through the opening in the cover over the filter chamber. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-31

Where can I guy a replacemnt lid for the 3-gallon contour glass tank?

Asked by: Scott97217
That is not sold separately at this time, so call 1-800-322-1266 for help. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-20

How do I get a replacement for the LED Light bar?

Asked by: Stacy Gifford
Call 1-800-322-1266. They will need your information, of course, and a copy of your receipt/invoice. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-20

Were can I get replacement parts for a Portrait? Need pump tube, nozzle and elbows, bio foam inserts and filter cartridge. I have part numbers from owners manual. Thanks!

Asked by: Roxis1
The filter cartridge is the Rite Size Z cartridge which is available through Amazon, Chewy, Petsmart, Petco, most local fish stores. For everything else, call 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-17

Hi, I'm thiking about buying a marineland 5 gallon portrait aquarium and i have a few questions. First of all, if i buy one, will i have to buy some additional equipments for it as well?

Asked by: zalan
You will need gravel, a heater, and a thermometer, as well as whatever plants and decor you want to have in it. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-14

Is it a salt water tank ?

Asked by: Hdavid370
While it is marketed for freshwater, we do have marine hobbyists who have set it up as a nano tank, but most upgrade the lighting in order to do so. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-13

I just purchased your Marineland Contour 3 aquarium kit. Item #ML90610 Before I had a chance to use it my cat chewed the cord to the light. Can I get a new light system? Please say yes and how, Where. Thank you.

Asked by: MemaDeb211
It's not sold separately, no, but we'll shoot you an email. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-07

Does the Portrait 5 gallon kit include a heater?

Asked by: johnbasenji
No, that would need to be purchased separately. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-07-27

What's the wattage for the contour portrait light?

Asked by: Caden
The light is 1.5 watts. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-07-23

I have the contour 5 and was curious if the LEDs can grow plants. I know for corals will need stronger. Running it as saltwater tank but only trying to grow photosynthetic plants like calurpa. 

Asked by: Timbur3281
Not really, no. That light works okay for low light plants in freshwater tanks like java fern, but is not bright enough for a macro algae, most likely. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-07-16

I have the 3 gallon Marineland silhouette aquarium.  The led light and the pump has quit. Is there anyway to get replacement parts for these items?

Asked by: Tonia
Yes, of course. With the pump though, have you removed the cover to pull out the impeller and clean it? If not, try that first, and then call 1-800-322-1266 to speak with a member of the Care Team about both the light and the pump, if you need it. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-08-19

I’ve had the 3gal contour tank for about 10 days.  I’ve noticed in the back chamber where the pump is, the water has a horrible smell.  The main chamber does not smell.  Should it be like this?  My first aquarium.

Asked by: JanS
As the water is pulled through the back chamber several times an hour, no, there should be no difference in odor in either area. Make sure a fish hasn't died and been pulled into the back chamber, where it may be decaying. We would also recommend checking the cartridge and foam and rinsing them out. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-07-03

Recently bought this tank. Our betta is being sucked into the water intake and getting stuck there. We are already on the lowest flow setting. Ideas to prevent betta from getting stuck at the intake that won't ruin the pump would be great.

Asked by: Susannskyler
Your betta should not be having issues with a flow rate of only 35 gph. We would recommend testing the water quality for ammonia, nitrite, ph, and nitrate. Do a small partial water change. If the water is okay, place a thick cluster of plants directly in front of the intake, and very close to it, to block the betta from being able to swim directly in front of it. My own betta has no issue with a large filter doing 150 gph, and an air pump producing a heavy stream of bubbles in a small tank. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-06-26

Which marineland filter cartridge should I use for the 5 gal portrait tank? Thx!

Asked by: MOHQ
Thank you for asking! This kit uses the Rite Size Z filter cartridges. For more help call Marineland at 1-800-322-1266.
Answered by: Customer Service
Date published: 2018-06-18

The strip led lights have gradually fizzled out and now stopped working all together.  I cannot seem to find a replacement on the site.  (Contour). 

Asked by: Andy H
Just call 1-800-322-1266 and we'll send a replacement to you. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-06-11

What is a good air pump for the Contour 3 gallon tank?

Asked by: jkur123
The Contour has a submersible pump in the filter chamber with flow adjustment and it moves the water at a pretty good rate, so you shouldn't need an air pump, but if you want one for an ornament or something, we would recommend the Whisper 10 Air Pump. Be sure to buy check and flow valves, along with your tubing. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-06-07

I have Product No. ML90610-00, the three gallon for about 2-3 months and the filter pump has stopped working. I can't find a replacement for purchase anywhere. Where can I buy a new pump??

Asked by: MrsCt
You do not need a new pump. It just needs cleaning. Unplug it, take it out, and remove the front cover. Once this is off, pull out the tiny impeller from inside of it. Clean this part, and take a q tip to clean out the inside of the pump. If you tend to have hard water, use white vinegar to clean them. If it still will not run, you have a warranty so call 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-05-31

The water level where the pump is is extremely low. I’ve changed the cartridge and also took the pump apart and cleaned it. The water level was fine while the pump was removed but as soon as I turned it on it plummeted again. 

Asked by: Bekah924
That is an indication water is not pulling in as it should. If the cartridge is new, and the pump's impeller and motor are clean, did you rinse out the foam cartridge or check the inlet area of the back panel for any debris? BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-05-30

I've had a 3g contour since February, and the pump has suddenly stopped working. No gunk in tubes, impeller, or box. I have live plants coming in two days. Where on your website can I buy a new pump ASAP?

Asked by: marie25
We are sorry to hear the pump isn't working. Please call Marineland at 1-800-322-1266 for warranty help.
Answered by: Customer Service
Date published: 2018-05-15

Do these tanks have suitable fitration for salt water set ups?

Asked by: Seahorsejack
We have customers use them for nano environments all the time, but you need to upgrade the lighting to do so, remove the carbon and add more biological media. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-05-07

I just noticed that my water level was unusually high. I removed the filter to cover to find the entire chamber almost empty of water, though enough water is getting through that the filter output is still expelling water and the tank is clean. Help?

Asked by: SteveLunny
Most likely your pump is clogged. Unplug it, remove it, and take it apart. Clean out the tubing, and remove the front plate to take out the impeller and clean it, as well as inside the pump. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-04-30

I bought a 5 GL glass aquarium from Petco end of January. The light led just stop working. I verified power from the transformer into the DC jack. How do I apply the warranty?

Asked by: mel87
Simply call 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-04-24

I have the 5g portrait and was wondering what the flow rate is on the lowest setting and on the highest? I'm trying to use aqadvisor wondered if this tank or filter are listed there? Thanks.

Asked by: mhmfish
The lowest flow is 30 gph, and the highest is 75 gph. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-06-05

Got the Portrait 5g back in November. The pump has quit working. Went through these Q&A post and cleaned it with White Vinegar, removing the face plate and impeller as suggested. Nothing. Need some info on how to get a new pump.

Asked by: Dethkrik
Sorry to hear your pump is not working! Call 1-800-322-1266 and request warranty on it. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-04-12

I would like to put adf's in my 5-gallon portrait Aquarium. Do I need something to aerate the aquarium?

Asked by: Dicedpeaches
You shouldn't need anything if the pump is kept on maximum. It has some pretty good movement. If the frogs don't like the flow, then reduce it and add a small air stone near the bottom with fine bubbles. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-04-10

Does anyone have any suggestions for fixing the flow of the current for betta fish? I have mine on the lowest setting but it still seems too strong for my little guy. 

Asked by: Natalieeee
The lowest setting is barely 30 gallons per hour. If he cannot handle this flow rate, we recommend testing the water quality, and carefully inspecting him for illness. My own personal betta is handling 150 gph without any issues at all. You can also move the diffuser so the water is directed in different directions, that may help, and place a large cluster of plants in front of the diffuser. Bettas need a good sleeping place, and they prefer a cluster of plants or a cave like piece of decor. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-04-09

Woops, in my question where I asked about lessening the flow, I forgot to mention that I have the Portriat 5 gallon tank. I have tried using a sponge already but that didn't seem to work. 

Asked by: Natalieeee
The pump itself has a flow control on it. Simply push the lever to the minimum or ( - ) sign for the slowest flow rate. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-04-09

I have a 3 gallon contour. I know not to replace the black biological filter, but should I ever clean it?

Asked by: Bah5127
Yes, you rinse it out whenever you replace your cartridge or it becomes clogged. You can rinse it in a bucket of fish water during a water change or with cool water. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-04-18

I need to put a heater in my 5 gallon Portrait. How can I run the cable of the heater in the aquarium?

Asked by: ItsInTents
It is best to place it in the back left hand corner of the tank portion, and then the cord folds over the back slot of the back wall and goes out the slot in the pump chamber cover in the left back corner. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-04-02

The instructions omit critical statements regarding pump placement: does it go in the back near the filter? Is it able to me submersed?

Asked by: Taxsmith
Yes, as indicated in the diagram, it goes into the filter chamber. This is the back chamber of the tank. The diffuser and elbow will exit that chamber on the far left side of it (when you are facing the tank). And yes, the pump is most definitely fully submersible and will burn up if not submerged at all times. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2018-03-28
  • y_2018, m_10, d_17, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_272
  • loc_en_US, sid_ML90610, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland