Classic and Pillar Aquarium Kits

Product No. ML90562-01
Find a Store In Stock

Small fish aquarium kits perfect for a starter aquarium.

Marineland’s Classic and Pillar Aquarium Kits are the first choice for style, design and functionality. A single low voltage adapter powers the filter and the LED lights. Each aquarium kit has both bright white and soft blue LEDs for a daylight and moonlight effect. Easy to use and effective at keeping the aquarium water healthy, these kits provide everything you need to be a successful fishkeeper 

The Classic Aquarium Kit includes: 

  • 4 Gallon Rectangular Aquarium 
  • Hidden Low Voltage Penguin® BIO-Wheel® Filtration 
  • 9 - .33 White LEDs and 3 - .33 Blue LEDs 
  • Pedestal Base 
  • Filter Tower and Tower Cover 
  • Clear Feeding Cover 
  • Rite-Size A Filter Cartridge

The Pillar Aquarium Kit includes: 

  • 6 Gallon Cylindrical Aquarium 
  • Hidden Low Voltage Penguin BIO-Wheel Filtration 
  • 15 - .33 White LEDs and 3 - .33 Blue LEDs 
  • Pedestal Base 
  • Filter Tower and Tower Cover 
  • Clear Feeding Cover 
  • Rite-Size A Filter Cartridge 

Classic and Pillar Aquarium Kits is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 17.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great starter kit i usually never buy these kits but this is a great starter kit that gives you everything you need. the LED lights are really cool and i lover the filter tower because it hides all the cords and filtration. only reason i give 4 stars is because i am missing a few parts but the mess up happened in store so it is not the companie fault.
Date published: 2014-07-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The pillar aquarium is a total disappointment. I did not like the pillar from day 1. Hard to set up. Hard to clean. And would not work at all after the first cleaning. Put it in the garbage can and reset up my 5 gallon which I love.
Date published: 2014-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent tank I've had my 6 gallon tank for almost a year now and love it! I'll agree with those who say it's a bit hard to get the tower setup in place and that can be a bit frustrating. That's been my only issue with the tank though. For a first tank it's got me seriously spoiled. This thing practically takes care of itself. All I have to do is not over feed my fish and make sure I don't add too much water in it. Combine that with the occasional algae cleanings and it's super easy to maintain. I have a few glo fish, gold fish and a Pleco algae fish in it and they're happy campers. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting an easy to care for tank that doesn't need a lot of room either. The bio wheel feature was not something I'd ever heard of before but now, I won't have another aquarium that does not have that feature, it's just that nice of a feature.
Date published: 2014-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great design quiet and my clown fish love it. Can't say enough about the pillar Marineland 6 gl. aquarium. 6 gallons and not a hitch. cycled just live sand a choral centerpiece and 3 clowns. no problems. easiest tank I ever had to maintain. people say smaller is harder because there is less room for error. believe me I've had 72 gl. bow tanks. that didn't run as smooth as this baby. I bought live sand, real seawater put a small heater in the filter. lights on 10 hours 8 white 2 blue lights and just 3 cycle surviving fish. just don't over feed them and I can't see anyone having a problem with this fabulous aquarium. p.s. ...... to the person with the wet leds ? you most assuredly added too much water, splash. thanks for your time and enjoy your little piece of the ocean.
Date published: 2014-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great tank but bad lighting system I bought the Pillar Aquarium kit at petsmart in amarillo tx back in september 2013. love the whole tank does get scratched easily. Not a fan of the lighting system as the night time blue led stop working for me some how water got into it and messed it and I have yet to find any replacement part/ lights for it
Date published: 2014-01-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from lights and filter are not separate I am happy with the tank, it looks nice and is a good design. What I'm not happy with is the need of the desigers to connect the power system of the cover lights to the filter. My filter has jammed every day since I bought it and I have no ability to buy a better filter because the power to the top goes through the filter. Poor design choice. Next time I'll check how the wiring is setup.
Date published: 2013-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT INNOVATION - I GIVE IT 10 STARS IF I COULD I took a chance on this purchase as so many to choose from but the Bio Wheel won me over and then it was the light Acrylic 6 gallon LED Lights, I just love every thing about this tank. A little uncomfortable configuring it but my work paid off as this looks SPECTACULAR. I love the babbling brook trickle from the filter listening at night while I sleep. GREAT! I also have a Betta Fish and yes the current was strong, so after reading ideas, I put a small kitchen funnel with a long tube in and large rubber bands around the pump houseing. PERFECT Amazing addition to my life. Thank you so very much for not only my happy fish but the joy this design allows me. I have it on my night stand right next to my bed with plenty of room for a book and cup of coffee and no cords or air hoses running everywhere.
Date published: 2012-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 4 Gal Classic-- OK It's ok I suppose. I wouldn't purchase it again and would much rather purchase one of the smaller glass units. The problem comes with the filter being too strong for the unit. It sends water splashing and turbulence in the tank (my fish are struggling to swim by the current). Second, I wish I had gotten a glass aquarium as it's just not as clear as some of my others. Third, the whole back tower was an absolute pain to hook up. It should come already peice together. I paid $70.00 for this and really wish I had gotten something a little more out of it.
Date published: 2012-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classic 4 gallo with LED Lights Overall it's a nice mini aquarium.The filter is a bit largre and water splashes out of the top of the tank,This could be corrected by making the filter lid longer to completely cover the bio wheel.The on /off / select switch for the lights is a great feature, and the singke power adaptor for lights and pump are a nice feature ,but you cannot turn the filter off without unplugging the unit.The back cover is another nice feature but it should be attached to either tga base or the back of tank for easier assembly.All in all it's a nice mini tank, even though the price is a little steep.
Date published: 2012-04-15
  • y_2018, m_10, d_21, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_17
  • loc_en_US, sid_ML90562, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland

I have the 6 gallon pillar aquarium, I am having problems with the led lights are they a replacement available some of the lights are working some have went out. I would like to keep the aquarium. Please respond.

Asked by: bigsteve201
Hi bigsteve201, We do not sell this light separately but will email you to provide some assistance. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-05-08

Is the cylindrical tank glass?

Asked by: Shannen
No, it is polystyrene. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-10

looking for a 20 gallon high aquarium setup( a shape of a ten on top of a ten )/tall it looks great on a ten gallon wrought iron stand . you have a pet store near me that carries the marineland brand to go with the ones I have . maybe we can order one?

Asked by: douglas bji
That is a 20 gallon Xhigh. We do not make an extra high. We do make the high which is 24 long x 12 deep x 16 tall. We also make a 16 High which is 20 x 10 x 18. You would need to special order it through the store. Item number is 10160 for the 16H. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-04-03

We have had the 6 gallon cylinder aquarium for about 5 years. There has been lots of wear and tear on the switch from taking it apart at different point over this time. The lights work - its the switch. How can I get a replacement switch?

Asked by: Frieda
The switch is not available separately, unfortunately. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2017-03-27

Looking for a black sponge filter -cylinder in shape for a hexagon aquarium, approximately 5 gallons. We cannot find anywhere. We have a Brown tinged spots growing on wall of tank. It is a mainland tank. Please help me as soon as possible.

Asked by: Fishy13
Fishy13, Thank you for your inquiry. However, we are not recognizing the part that you are describing. We will be emailing you directly for more information. Thank you, Christina
Answered by: MINI
Date published: 2017-03-03

I bought a pillar cylinder tank less than a month ago for my 13 yr old daughter. The filter stopped working, because of the wiring I can't get a replacement. I cleaned it but it didn't help. When I wiggle the tube it will work but not when it's in place.

Asked by: Pythonj357
We are sorry to hear you are having this experience! When you cleaned it, did you remove the impeller from the very bottom of the filter system and clean it? You would also need to take a q tip and swab out the motor in the bottom of the filter box. Try using distilled vinegar to soak the impeller, and to swab out the motor - this will remove deposits like hard water and calcium. If you are unable to resolve this please call us at 1-800-322-1266 or email us at techsupport.marineland@spectrumbrands.com. We would be happy to assist you. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2016-12-20

There are 3 cords on back base and only two for LED lights found on cover lights. Where does 3rd one plug in?  the lights don't work at all

Asked by: Piscesskyy
Connect the two (male) LED light wires to the female LED wires from the tower. Connect the female light switch power wire on the filter box to the male light switch power wire from the tower. The filter box and LEDS are wired together. I will email the Quick Set Up Guide (QSUG) to you. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2016-12-12

Most of the LED lights have stopped working on my 6 gallon pillar style tank. I would like to buy a replacement top but don't see the part for sale on your website. are they available?

Asked by: davhen
Thank you for your question! Unfortunately, we do not sell this item separately. However, I will email you for your information as we do have some stock left on these. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2016-11-28

I would like to know what kind of fish would be the sturdiest and be happy in a 5 gallon tower tank, and how many?

Asked by: Jeanster
A betta would do very well with a couple of corydoras catfish. White cloud minnows would be hardy and school, so I would recommend 3 or 4 of them. Other species that would do well include von rio tetras, cherry barbs, bloodfin tetras, and tiger barbs. All of these are hardy, and like to be in groups of 3 or 4 minimum. Less hardy, but still good ones to try are neon tetras or fancy guppies. Neons can be very delicate so really watch the water quality. Guppies big drawback is they breed like rabbits! BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2016-10-11

2 questions actually. Is there a warranty for this kit, Can you use a heater with this pillar tank and if so what would you recommend?

Asked by: MaineBoy56
The warranty is one year from date of purchase, on manufacturer's defects only. And yes, a heater is fine. You would want a 25 or 50 watt heater. We recommend Precision 50 watt. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2016-10-09

I have one of the 6 Gallon Cylindrical Aquarium kit. Love the tank but its a few years old and the LED lights have gone our. All the whites and 2 blue's have gone. Do you sell replacements?

Asked by: Himsaw
No, we do not sell replacements, but we do have them. I will reach out to you directly. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2016-09-22

My LEDs have stopped working. Is there a way I can order a new set or a new top to my aquarium? I love this aquarium and don't want to get a different one.

Asked by: Tom Vick
We do not sell that separately, but yes, we do have them for replacement through our company. I will contact you directly. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2016-08-15

where can one get a new set of led lights for it? It is the 15 white led and 3 blue. Some are burned out and now shorting out and burning up.

Asked by: mark kilburn
You would need to contact us directly either by phone or by email. 1-800-322-1266 or techsupport@marineland.com BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2016-05-24

I have the classic 4 gallon aquarium, but my filter pump is starting to go. It takes hours to prime now after I turn it off to clean. Will any other filter systems fit inside the back? I was thinking about the penguin 100. I love this little tank!

Asked by: Taiso213
Have you removed the impeller to clean it? If not, this is probably all you would need to do. Pull out the intake tube, then grab the piece it inserts into and pull up, hard. This will bring up the impeller assembly. Clean it by soaking it in distilled vinegar for about 15 minutes after removing any hair, plant matter or other debris. Clean out the bottom of the filter box with vinegar, a q tip and a paper towel. If you do find you need a new impeller, call us directly. If you need a new filter, yes, the Penguin 100 should fit as your filter is a modified Penguin 100. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2016-05-16

I had our pillar tank taken down for about a week when i set it back up i cannot get the lights to come on. Is there a trick to that , if not are the bulbs replaceable? (even though i find it weird that they would all stop working at the same time)

Asked by: emtlizzer
Bulbs are not available separately, no. I would double check that the wires have been connected properly, and that the outlet is working (assuming you haven't already gotten the filter running). If the wires got wet, this may be an issue, as well. If none of these tips work, we would be happy to replace the lights for you. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2016-05-13

Is there a light timer for the 6 gal, Marineland Pillar?

Asked by: mnartw
Unfortunately, no there is not. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2016-05-10

I want a 4*2*1.5 ft fresh water aquarium with gravel, rock and drift wood+canister  filter and good-lighting hood,:-  1. how much it will weigh 2. What fish and how many will live happily. Your advice . Thanking you Ceil  

Asked by: Ceil
In regards to the weight, that would depend on the type of glass you use, framing, etc. We do not make a tank of that exact size. We do not sell our products in India, by the way. As that is a pretty large aquarium, you could set it up many different ways. You could do a community with fish such as mollies, platys, catfish, etc, and keep about 30 fish of this size pretty happily. For larger fish, such as some cichlids, you could keep 2-6, depending on their adult size. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2016-04-28

The pillar 6gal aquarium kit - can it be used as a saltwater tank? 

Asked by: Shaboopie92
It does not have a light powerful enough for corals, live rock, etc, so no, we would not recommend it for a marine tank. Additionally, it is pretty small for any of the marine species of fish. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2016-04-20

Do you guys sell the 4G Tank without the accessories and is it cheaper?

Asked by: DCTank1
Good morning, Thank you for your inquiry. However, we only sell this tank as a full kit and do not have the tank separately. Thank you, MINI
Answered by: MINI
Date published: 2016-03-28

I have the 6 gal pillar and works great..thrilled with it. But the black power cord just under the filter cut. So went to buy new marineland penguin 100 biowheel filter. But it obviously has one cord without the red led hookup. Where can I find a new one?

Asked by: TheBabyDidIt
The filter that comes with the Pillar Aquarium is specific to that aquarium and not sold separately. Please call us directly so we may assist you. 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2016-02-18

Why won't my filter work?

I have the Classic and Pillar Aquarium Kit My tank is a week old and I have had nothing but problems with the filter. From the start it would run and the for no good reason shut off. Run and then shutoff. The lights stay on but the filter will simply stop running. I try to top up the water behind the wheel. I jiggle the parts and nothing. Then randomly the pump will start again on its own. It makes a humm sound but it just won't run I would even power it all down and turn it back on a few hours later thinking it was overheating or something. Today no matter what I try I can get it working again. I have tried cleaning it. Taking it apart. The standard giggle/tilt approach. I even replaced the filter pad twice thinking it was being blocked somehow but nothing. Is there way to find out which filter I can buy as a replacement? I love the tank but I have a feeling my fish miss having clean water.
Asked by: tallgirl
When you say you took it apart and cleaned it, do you mean you removed the intake tube, impeller housing, and impeller, cleaned the impeller and cleaned the area it sits in, in the bottom of the box? The issues you are experiencing most likely stem from one of two things; either the impeller and tube is not sitting correctly and we need to replace them or something is interfering with the impeller. In the latter case, I have to wonder from your description of the problems you are having if you have sand as your substrate, instead of gravel. If so, sand is the issue and is getting in and interfering with the impeller. You would need to remove the sand, then place filter floss inside the bottom strainer to prevent it from getting up into the impeller again. Another possible cause would be a bubbler, if you have one under the intake tube. These create a vacuum and break the siphon. If none of these suggestions help, please call us so we may troubleshoot the problem over the phone. We may need to replace a part as well. Our number is 1-800-322-1266. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2016-02-03

what are the internal dimesions, where the fish actually are, of the classic 4 gallon?

Asked by: joepoole
12" long by 8" wide x 10" high. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2015-12-21

I need a new pump

I need to replace the pump but can NOT find it. Can you give me a link DIRECTLY to the part? replacement pump (PFES 02/03/05HX PL-TE2/PL-TE5) for a hexagon 5 gallon aquarium?
Asked by: PeggyWi
All you need to do is type Hex 5 into the search bar. http://www.marineland.com/Products/aquarium-parts/Aquarium-Kit-Parts/Eclipse-Systems-Parts/Filtration-Parts/Pump-Filtration-Assemby-for-Eclipse-System-3-Hex-5-Corner-5.aspx BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2015-11-23

how do i replace the lights

hi, I bought this pillar aquarium for my daughter last September for her birthday...within three months, the blue light had burned out, which was bad because I got her glo fish for her tank...then in july all of the white lights are gone...so for a few months the fish have been in complete darkness...how do I replace the lights or the hood they are in? ...thanks so much for your time.
Asked by: garie
The original LED Lighting being run through the Pump is problematic , .. They make a bery nice 3 mode LED light , Low voltage that you can find on EBay to avoid getting a whole new aquarium giving you white , Blue and red LEDS and you can switch on just the blue or the blue and white or all of the LEDs Will only cost you $12.99. Use double sided tape to stick it to the side of the back (Black ) cover .
Answered by: roverpilot
Date published: 2015-10-29

How tall is the pillar kit tank?

Asked by: megan543
17" BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2015-07-14

How many fish can the pillar tank hold? I do not want to put a beta in there, i would like multiple fish

Asked by: bryanbuzi
It is a 6 gallon tank, so depending on what types of fish you want to keep, it can hold up to 4. With frequent partial water changes, maybe 6 small ones like neon tetras. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2015-07-08

Replacement tank

Hello, I was given this for my autistic son as he loves fish. Unfortunately, it was used and I thought I had to clean the glass so I took a new scrubbie and went to work. I ruined the glass from the inside. It's awful. I don't know what to do.can I purchase a new tank?
Asked by: Kristinap
Unfortunately, that tank is not available as a separate item, and in fact, the kit is discontinued. This is acrylic, so yes, it would definitely scratch easily. You can only use paper towels or a soft cloth for cleaning. Email me directly and I will see what we can do. Be sure to include shipping address and telephone number. Put BREX in the subject line. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2015-07-08

Which strainer part is used on the filtration system for the pillar? Also, where is the flow regulator located?

The actual guide for the pillar set up will not load. I need to replace the strainer, as I plan to put a betta in the tank and cannot risk damaging his fins. If there's an alternate part i could attach here to make it even more gentle, even better.
Asked by: mookat
The strainer is the PR10327, same as for the Penguin 100. There is no flow regulator on this kit. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2015-07-06

Pillar 6 gal. Is there a matching stand to go with this tank?

Asked by: david934
No, there is not. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2015-06-16

My filter stopped working after about 4 months and the blue LED lights no longer work

I have had my aquarium for about 4 months. This morning the filter stopped running and about a month ago the blue LED lights went out.
Asked by: Klbennett426
In regards to the filter, have you pulled out the impeller from the filter, and cleaned it well? I would also recommend cleaning out the bottom of the filter box. Please call or email us direct with your receipt, full name, address and telephone number so we may assist you. BREX
Answered by: BREX
Date published: 2015-05-06
  • y_2018, m_10, d_21, h_2CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_ML90562, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland

 Classic Kit Manual

  Classic Quick Set Up Guide

Description Approximate Gallons # and Color of LEDs and Wattage Total Watts Total LUX @12" Total Lumens Filtration Replacement Filter Cartridge
Marineland Classic Aquarium Kit 4 9 - .33 Watt White LEDs/
3 - .33 Watt Blue LEDs
4 Watts 390 129 Penguin 100 BIO-Wheel  Rite Size A

 

 Pillar Kit Manual


Description Approximate Gallons # and Color of LEDs and Wattage Total Watts Total LUX @12" Total Lumens Filtration Replacement Filter Cartridge
Marineland Pillar Aquarium Kit 6

15 - .33 Watt White LEDs/
3 - .33 Watt Blue LEDs

6 Watts 660 215 Penguin 100 BIO-Wheel  Rite Size A