Magnum® Polishing Internal Canister Filter

Product No. ML90770

Magnum® Polishing Internal Canister Filter is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 38.
  • y_2019, m_5, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_ML90770, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 25ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
The Marineland® Magnum® Polishing Internal Canister Filter uses two refillable chambers to house carbon or customizable filter media. The Magnum Polishing Internal Canister Filter is the most versatile filter Marineland has to offer. Choose from every day, continuous three stage filtration or high efficiency polishing with the included micron cartridge. The submerged motor means quick and easy start up, no priming necessary! The Marineland Magnum Polishing Internal Canister Filter filters 290 gallons per hour and is ideal for aquariums up to 97 gallons.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Power filter It’s really nice, works For my rainbow fish tank. But it would be better if the airflow can be adjusted. Tried using in my goldfish tank the airflow is strong wish it could be adjusted. angel, discuss and goldfish. Would really appreciate this.
Date published: 2018-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from SSDD Marineland stopped selling the parts for my HOTT Magnum so i bought this. Same problem as everyone else. worked great at first. test ran ok with no micron filter and worked as a pump well, like new. so then the micron filter cartiage seemed to be clogging the system. cleaned the cartriage, that lasted about 1/2 day. changed to the back up core with charcoal and bonded foam. worked ok but now really polishing filter like the was the first week nor like my Magnum HOTT worked for years. So here we are. HOTT Mag that is basically dead and now this highly recommended filter that doesn't work.
Date published: 2018-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful Little Filter I didn’t really believe how a small little thing like this could possibly work in aquariums over 90 gallons until I saw the circulation it makes in my 40gal long tank. This thing moves water like crazy! Sadly my dog ate the media container, so I can only speak for the micron filter, but it does a great job of picking up the fine particles from my new sand substrate. I’ve been hoping to find a new media container online, but no such luck, so that’s a small bummer. I do wish that parts like that were sold online!
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from filter I got the filter to day and it is easy to use than the other ones I had
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best water polisher. I bought this product a few weeks ago and am astounded at how well it works, it polishes and can be used as a full time filter for the price of a cheap external filter.
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Had problem with it sucking in water around the top but ask and received the answer and it is again doing a great job. Thought we were doing a good job of keeping it clean but now we know how to really clean it and it is not hard. Love this filter
Date published: 2018-05-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not work I bought this for weeks ago cuz it was highly recommended by the Petco sell men after doing a water change treatment to the water it still looks this way it is only a 75 gallon and it's supposed to treat 97 so IDK what to do
Date published: 2018-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the filter I love the filter works great how ever the plate where the impler goes broke and I can't find parts to fix my filter to help it work even better
Date published: 2018-03-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Loud after 1.5 weeks I have this filter for approximately 6 months. After approx. 1.5 weeks, the filter becomes very loud. I have cleaned the propeller assembly and motor to no avail. Not sure I would recommend this
Date published: 2018-03-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Flow issues I bought the filter 6 months ago, and it worked great at first. Now it doesn't expel water at all. Tried to fix it, cleaned everything, still no flow. Very disappointed
Date published: 2018-01-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Turtle Can this product be used even with turtles in my tank?
Date published: 2018-01-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great product but gasket ring wore out very quick I’ve serviced aquariums for 10yrs but gasket didn’t hold up.
Date published: 2017-12-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Magnum Polishing Filter much needed parts I brought this filter and i liked it so much i brought another. I have a 120 gallon fresh water tank. Any way I would give this review 5 stars if i could only find out how to order parts. i also think that extra parts should have been provided seeing how quickly they become too worn during regular use. I loved it as long as it worked so know i wouldnt buy this product again if its not going to last over one year.
Date published: 2017-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great filter I placed charcoal and marine fiber together and it works great !
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from After 6 months I bought this 6 months ago and now the propellar has worn down and started to be very loud to the point i had taken it out of my fishtank. I cant find the propeller replacement anywhere.
Date published: 2017-12-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did little to nothing. Trying to rid my tank of a peskey algea bloom. This filter did next to nothing... Complete waste of money the tank was barely a little bit clearer... Followed all instructions properly and its really just not a good filter... Definitely going to return it to the store...
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Polishing Filter! Purchased the filter from Petco , easy to assemble. I'm using it to polish my water in my 72 gallon bow front tank . Has a strong output flow , seems to work well .
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works fabulous.... for awhile. I bought this product about a month and a half ago. I placed it into my planted aquarium with ease and used the carbon filter and it helped maintain the water quality and my tank was picture perfect. Cleaning the filter was the easiest part and I fell in love! Usually with normal filters and canisters it's a pain, too many cords&bulky parts. However, while cleaning the filter for the 3rd or 4th time since having it the part which holds the carbon snapped and broke way too easily and my O ring was broken in half. I was extremely bummed that I now had to switch to the polishing filter that doesn't run as well at all. I paid about 80 dollars for this filter at my local pet store and was over joyed with the product till everything seemed to break and start to lag. I suppose luck may have something to do with it. This product can be great.
Date published: 2017-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best filter for my 65g acrylic Aquarium I replaced a HOB and a UV Sterilizer within Magnum filtration system and I love it I just wished MarineLand would make this filter for Aquariums less than 20g as I have a 15g heavily planted tank with a external MarineLand C series filter
Date published: 2017-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works! Over the 20 years I have had a number of different filters and the Magnum Polishing internal canister filter is the absolute best. I was having an algae problem when I bought this system. I had to clean the filter once a week at first because of the algae filling up the canister. ( I now clean the filter once a month as part of water changes). However, the water was crystal clear in my 45 gallon marine tank with in an hour and has remained that way every since. The funny part is that I did not realize my water was not clear. What an amazing difference this system has made in my tank. I would buy this system again and highly recommend it to any one that has an aquarium. I have had no problems and it is very quiet. I have left my larger system in place and will continue to use both at the same time.
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lots of flow issues I have had this filter for 2 days. I planed to use it to help fight an algae bloom i'm having and used the media container for a phosphate sponge. Ran great for a few hours then the flow rate dropped to near nothing. I took it apart and cleaned it nothing, was clogging the intake or the impeller the filter sleeve it self did not even look particularly soiled. Ran it again for about 20 min and it went back to the same super low flow rate. Next i used the polish filter and it worked for a few hours the same issue. I tried to clean out the filters and they look almost new however it still moves so little water it cannot be that effective. If i run the pump in a bucket alone its fine so clearly the issue is the filters... however after a few hours of work in a 75gal tank this seems to pretty unreasonable. I would avoid this for any larger aquarium types. Summery: I would avoid this. To easy to clog up and takes constant maintenance on a larger tank. Would only recommend using for tanks no later than 40 gal.
Date published: 2017-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable results Having the 38 gallon bow front kit, the marineland bio wheel 200 HOB is sub par for this set up, added this canister finally took the haze out if the water, I now pretty much use the bio wheel as a holder gir mh ceramic rings with just a pre cut piece of media in front, and use the canister as my main filter. Controlling the flow problematic but with some proper position have jt jusg right. So wish they would make a flow control. But other than that it us a awesome filter/polisher tank is now crysral clear water parameters are all perfect now we can populate the tank.
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stopped pumping Output of water fail Took it thoroughly apart and cleaned and still not pumping really at all
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Blowing bubbles I bought this filter about a month ago and it's blowing bubbles bad. In a reef tank that is not good. I've used 2 hot 250's years ago and loved them. They kept the water crystal clear. Not loving the 290 how do I make it stop blowing bubbles.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Santa dropped this off and I could see a difference in my 30 gallon cube in just hours! Easy to use, fits in well with the rest of the tank! I'm glad the man in the red suit dropped it off
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from absolutely amazing!!! I just purchased this for a polishing filter because of a algae bloom problem. I was amazed of how quickly this little filter worked. It was so easy to use, the micron filter worked wonders, then I added a little diatomaceous power,and WOW what a difference.After having problems with other brands of filters using diatomaceous earth, I am sold!!! I will tell all my friends about this filterand theycan see for themselves the great results!! Thanks Marineland for a great product!!!
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from white puffs We love the filter itself since once the lights go out it mak the take look so clear but all day we have the worst issue with the filter shooting out white puffs and it will not go away we have tried adjusting the filter and it makes no difference
Date published: 2016-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crystal clear water in less that 12 hrs I set this up first as a two stage internal cannister filter in a large cichlid aquarium. 125 gallon that is heavily stocked. I have plenty of filtration but this gives the water the absolute perfect look. Super easy to install and set up and has impressive output. After a couple weeks i changed to the water polishing set up and its even more amazing. Great product. Well worth the price. Only down side and its a small one is trying to hide it. Need large rocks.
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely fast filtration I just started a 60 gal plant tank. The substrate is all black flourite products with rocks and malaysian driftwood. 30 ltr total bags and what a mess, the water was almost black. i purchased a fluval u4 and ran for 2 days and still there was no change in the water. installed this filter system and by morning it was 75 % clear. by the end of the day it was crystal clear. This is the perfect start up filtration system for any tank. Highly recommended. The only draw back is the filter output is too high for my needs and i need to find a way to disperse the output as i need almost still water but require this level of filtration.
Date published: 2016-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased. Excellent alternative to H.O.T. Magn My H.O.T Magnum 250 was my go-to filter for the occasional cloudy water issues. This canister is incredibly easy to use. I like that it is completely internal to the tank so I don't have to leave the canopy open. It offers multiple methods of filtration which I have used effectively. It uses the same micron cartridge from the Magnum 250 which was nice given I had a few of those already. I was easily able to charge the cartridge with diatom powder and it was extremely effective. I'm currently using it as a supplemental filter. I filled the supplied cartridge with carbon and wrapped it in the provided pad. It runs silently. Very pleased with this item.
Date published: 2016-08-03
  • y_2019, m_5, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_ML90770, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marineland
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 20ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT